Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | V6

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Installation Issues

V6
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-12-2023, 17:09   #1
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 73
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 4,345
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
V6

Awaiting 4th box in 7 months coming tomorrow , getting silly would horizon be any better
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 29-12-2023, 17:49   #2
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,912
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: V6

What's wrong with it, and were the previous ones the same?
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2023, 17:24   #3
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 73
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 4,345
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
What's wrong with it, and were the previous ones the same?
Faulty hard drive , yes it's the second to pack in . Asked engineer if I should look at 360. Answer was a very simple NO . Not worth the extra cost. The only real difference is that you can talk to it ! Got a new box from van when told about the failures, heres hoping , but a least did not have to put programme links in again. Thanks to post about moving info . It works
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2023, 18:40   #4
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,912
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: V6

The box isn't on a shelf near a speaker, is it? I suspect vibration is often the cause of hard drive failures.

Good to know that copy series links still works.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2023, 18:47   #5
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 61
Services: Flextel SIP : Sky Mobile : Sky Q TV : VM BB (1000 Mbps) : Aquiss FTTP (900 Mbps)
Posts: 27,823
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: V6

Do you turn it off every day ?
Powering them on and off all the time is not good for hard disks.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2023, 21:37   #6
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 73
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 4,345
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
The box isn't on a shelf near a speaker, is it? I suspect vibration is often the cause of hard drive failures.
No behind TV but that's it
Good to know that copy series links still works.


---------- Post added at 21:37 ---------- Previous post was at 21:36 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
Do you turn it off every day ?
Powering them on and off all the time is not good for hard disks.
No shut TV down but that's it
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2024, 02:58   #7
v0id
[CENSORED]
 
v0id's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wolverhampton
Age: 45
Services: Virginmedia - BB:250 TV:Mix TiVo v6 Phone:Talk Weekends w/anon reject
Posts: 4,217
v0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appeal
v0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appealv0id has a bronzed appeal
Re: V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
Do you turn it off every day ?
Powering them on and off all the time is not good for hard disks.

Do people actually turn off there electronics?


Most, if not all, are designed to use less energy when in standby nowadays
__________________
Help save the world from loosers

v0id is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2024, 15:07   #8
nodrogd
cf.mega poster
 
nodrogd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Herts
Services: Maxit + Movies/Sports HD (V6x2), BB350, Anytime Chatter. Freeview/Freesat HD, ASDA/Tesco PAYG
Posts: 1,863
nodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful onenodrogd is the helpful one
Re: V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itshim View Post
Faulty hard drive , yes it's the second to pack in . Asked engineer if I should look at 360. Answer was a very simple NO . Not worth the extra cost. The only real difference is that you can talk to it ! Got a new box from van when told about the failures, heres hoping , but a least did not have to put programme links in again. Thanks to post about moving info . It works
Bear in mind that there are very few "new" Arris manufactured V6 boxes about now. The majority of replacements are refurb units specifically for TiVO V6 fault swapouts. Arris boxes can run both TiVO & Horizon firmware, but the newer Humax boxes only run Horizon.
nodrogd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2024, 15:53   #9
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 73
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 4,345
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by nodrogd View Post
Bear in mind that there are very few "new" Arris manufactured V6 boxes about now. The majority of replacements are refurb units specifically for TiVO V6 fault swapouts. Arris boxes can run both TiVO & Horizon firmware, but the newer Humax boxes only run Horizon.
Totally get what you are saying ,does that mean the engineer is a liar he said replacements are not sent out in sealed polythene with all the eu etc , tec paper work. Seems to have settled down after 48 hrs or so .
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2024, 16:51   #10
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 73
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 4,345
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: V6

Have spoken to agents 11 times in 6 days , each one before today have said the problem is at there end and is fixed . Now sending an engineer , what the point is I don't know
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2024, 17:56   #11
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,912
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itshim View Post
Have spoken to agents 11 times in 6 days , each one before today have said the problem is at there end and is fixed . Now sending an engineer , what the point is I don't know
What's the fault this time?
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2024, 18:58   #12
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 73
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 4,345
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: V6

The TV shuts down giving a snowscreen. Rebooting the box does nothing, doing this gives a red/pink screen with the virgin logo , this changes back to a snow screen . It is a matter of waiting for it to reappear, I mean it comes back as if nothing has happened, not a startup screen ,welcome etc. I have been told by all but the last agent that the box has not activated ( he promised a phone call back , still waiting for that (12 hrs) )Remember it could have been working for number of hours before. Each time I have called we go around in circles, before being told that it is fixed , even had a email saying the same thing. The last agent gave up. And is sending the engineer, really not sure what he will do and feel that I am just hanging around for nothing will see
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2024, 19:58   #13
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,912
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: V6

I think that's a communication problem between the box and TV. Have you got a different HDMI lead you could try? Also factory reset your TV if it has such a thing.

It's definitely not an activation problem. It would never work if it was.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2024, 21:39   #14
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 73
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 4,345
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
I think that's a communication problem between the box and TV. Have you got a different HDMI lead you could try? Also factory reset your TV if it has such a thing.

It's definitely not an activation problem. It would never work if it was.
Guess the engineer will give it a go , the hdmi lead was supplied by Virgin . It happened on the old TV. And a week old new one. Would the TV cause a problem that happen after a number of hours working fine , and restart 5 minutes later ?
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2024, 00:04   #15
daveeb
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,320
daveeb has reached the bronze age
daveeb has reached the bronze agedaveeb has reached the bronze agedaveeb has reached the bronze agedaveeb has reached the bronze agedaveeb has reached the bronze agedaveeb has reached the bronze agedaveeb has reached the bronze agedaveeb has reached the bronze agedaveeb has reached the bronze age
Re: V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itshim View Post
Guess the engineer will give it a go , the hdmi lead was supplied by Virgin . It happened on the old TV. And a week old new one. Would the TV cause a problem that happen after a number of hours working fine , and restart 5 minutes later ?
I'd second SP's idea to try a different HDMI cable. Is it near a lot of other cables ?
daveeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:39.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.