Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin Media Changelog

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Virgin Media Changelog
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-07-2020, 13:18   #1261
Raider999
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,242
Raider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Boy View Post
One New Channel, But SIX Channels goes away.

July 23rd:
Sky Cinema Animation HD launches on Virgin UK Channel 412.

July 22nd:
Sky Cinema Premiere +1 closes on Virgin UK Channel 412.

July 20th:
Vice TV closes on Virgin UK Channel 219.
Horse & Country TV closes on Virgin UK Channel 293.
Club MTV closes on Virgin UK Channel 314.
MTV ROCKS closes on Virgin UK Channel 315.
MTV OMG closes on Virgin UK Channel 318.
Don't think I will miss any of them
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 25-07-2020, 18:10   #1262
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,776
Mad Max has reached the bronze age
Mad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
Don't think I will miss any of them
Totally agree with you, if they closed another 50 they certainly wouldn't be missed in this household.
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2020, 09:38   #1263
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 10,945
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Max View Post
Totally agree with you, if they closed another 50 they certainly wouldn't be missed in this household.
I expect we will not be charged less for them, either. Thought I'd say it before Den did!
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2020, 10:23   #1264
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 54,052
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
I expect we will not be charged less for them, either. Thought I'd say it before Den did!
Mindreading is a great skill to acquire OB.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2020, 14:18   #1265
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 10,945
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by denphone View Post
Mindreading is a great skill to acquire OB.
My crystal ball is legendary, Den...
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2020, 17:07   #1266
Media Boy
GOT NEWS? PM us
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 12,964
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

As of 28/07/20:

BBC One England is now known as BBC One London on Channel 861.

BBC Two England is now known as BBC Two on Channel 862.

As of 31/07/20:

Sony Channel +1 closes on Channel 220.
__________________
Blog - Updated Aug. 07th.
What may launch - Jul. 31st.
MPEG4 News - Jul. 08th
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 14:18   #1267
ScottishSteve
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 127
ScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really nice
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Pick TV HD is now back to SD
ScottishSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 23:56   #1268
vincerooney
cf.mega poster
 
vincerooney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Services: XL TV XL Phone XL 100MB broadband TiVo Cat
Posts: 1,917
vincerooney has reached the bronze age
vincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Boy View Post
As of 28/07/20:

BBC One England is now known as BBC One London on Channel 861.

BBC Two England is now known as BBC Two on Channel 862.

As of 31/07/20:

Sony Channel +1 closes on Channel 220.
i know the country is obsessed with london but any reason behind this change?
vincerooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 00:42   #1269
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 350Mb, V6 STB
Posts: 6,146
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by vincerooney View Post
i know the country is obsessed with london but any reason behind this change?
I should imagine that when there is a local news or programme, a single region has to be picked for everywhere. Might as well be London. If you're in Scotland, what English region should it be? BBC1 for Scotland is already there on 101 and 108 and 862. Only England has that level of regionalisation.

Last edited by nomadking; 02-08-2020 at 00:49.
nomadking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 02:24   #1270
vincerooney
cf.mega poster
 
vincerooney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Services: XL TV XL Phone XL 100MB broadband TiVo Cat
Posts: 1,917
vincerooney has reached the bronze age
vincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
I should imagine that when there is a local news or programme, a single region has to be picked for everywhere. Might as well be London. If you're in Scotland, what English region should it be? BBC1 for Scotland is already there on 101 and 108 and 862. Only England has that level of regionalisation.
id like to be able to see all the other regional channels to be honest. i get north west bbc but would like to see other regional broadcasts. bbc london would just be like the national news since the 6pm news is pretty much everything what happened in london anyway
vincerooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 06:56   #1271
heavyside
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
heavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to behold
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

A constant source of irritation to those of us living in London is that the lunchtime local news is only broadcast in SD. If you are watching the national news in HD then it means changing channels to watch the news from the city. I know it's only a few button presses but as far as I am aware the other UK regions do not have to do this.
heavyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 07:21   #1272
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 54,052
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyside View Post
A constant source of irritation to those of us living in London is that the lunchtime local news is only broadcast in SD. If you are watching the national news in HD then it means changing channels to watch the news from the city. I know it's only a few button presses but as far as I am aware the other UK regions do not have to do this.
We have exactly the same problem down here as its the main news in HD and then one has to swap channels for the regional news in SD.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 07:29   #1273
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 350Mb, V6 STB
Posts: 6,146
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

At least with local ITV News in HD it broadcasts something. EG Around here you get Meridian(south east) HD news in an Anglia region. SD version is Anglia news.
nomadking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 09:42   #1274
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7,615
1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal
1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
My crystal ball is legendary, Den...
You say crystal. Den says balls.
1andrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 12:04   #1275
nodrogd
cf.mega poster
 
nodrogd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Herts
Services: VIP Pack with VIVID 350. Freeview/Freesat HD, Virgin Mobile, Tesco Mobile. Cable customer since 1993
Posts: 1,698
nodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpack
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
At least with local ITV News in HD it broadcasts something. EG Around here you get Meridian(south east) HD news in an Anglia region. SD version is Anglia news.
And this in itself leads to constant complaints. “Why am I getting the wrong region”, when people automatically go to the HD version instead of SD. Also there are more HD regions on satellite than cable, so people switching from Sky/Freesat also complain to Virgin & Freeview.

For instance Sky/Freesat customers get Anglia East HD in the whole Anglia region. So in the West part of the region you get Anglia West in SD but Anglia East in HD. On Cable & Freeview you get Meridian SE in HD in the whole region.

---------- Post added at 11:46 ---------- Previous post was at 11:35 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyside View Post
A constant source of irritation to those of us living in London is that the lunchtime local news is only broadcast in SD. If you are watching the national news in HD then it means changing channels to watch the news from the city. I know it's only a few button presses but as far as I am aware the other UK regions do not have to do this.
Yes, they do have to. There is no switching capability of the HD circuits on the BBC1 HD network in England. Scotland, Wales & NI are totally seperate feeds.

ITV has financed several additional HD feeds to provide opt outs & +1 loops, but only for main regions. The sub regions only have seperate SD feeds, & if sub region studios have been closed, as many have, then what you see on an SD sub region is usually recorded earlier & broadcast simultaneously to the live version on the HD channel.

---------- Post added at 12:04 ---------- Previous post was at 11:55 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vincerooney View Post
id like to be able to see all the other regional channels to be honest. i get north west bbc but would like to see other regional broadcasts. bbc london would just be like the national news since the 6pm news is pretty much everything what happened in london anyway
You can watch any region you want on iPlayer. If you go into the settings menu you can change the region to any one you want. I have set the region of the iPlayer on my V6 to BBC Cambridge as we are on the boundary of the Anglia West & London regions. When the local news comes on I then have a choice of London on 101 or Cambridge through the iPlayer.

Last edited by nodrogd; 02-08-2020 at 11:49.
nodrogd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:25.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.