Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Paying VM for installation costs

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Installation Issues

Paying VM for installation costs
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2021, 21:15   #1
Biggerbil
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 4
Biggerbil is an unknown quantity at this point
Paying VM for installation costs

Hi all, I have been talking to VM for a while and come to a dead end. An engineer has been out to my house and confirmed the connection would be technically feasible however despite my street being cabled my house is set too far back from the main line (c 40m) to make a connection financially viable for vm (which is fair enough). Vm donít seem to be willing or able to engage in the possibility of me paying for the installation cost - does anyone have any experience of how to go about this (openreach do have a process for this) or confirming that itís not indeed possible? I appreciate that the installation cost will be significant but I really like my house and donít have many other options. Thanks for help!
Biggerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-10-2021, 23:33   #2
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,849
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Paying VM for installation costs

There's a thread on here somewhere about the experiences that someone in a similar position to yourself encountered.

It's well known that there are a lot of complaints about how VM treats its customers, but this was a whole new level of contempt, lies & arrogance.

Basically, from what I remember, VM agreed to connect him if he had some of the work done at his expense. He did it, at a cost of thousands and then VM said that they couldn't connect him. They refused to reimburse him for his wasted money, so he took legal action against them and won. VM then didn't/wouldn't pay out what they had been told to, so he had to take further action to force them to.

Personally, I wouldn't bother, but if you do go ahead make sure that you get everything in writing.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 09:50   #3
RobboEdin
cf.mega poster
 
RobboEdin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,994
RobboEdin has reached the bronze age
RobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze age
Re: Paying VM for installation costs

Richard, Richard, Richard, please explain where you see the Ďcontempt, lies and arroganceí shown by Virgin Media in the OP.
RobboEdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 12:37   #4
Biggerbil
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 4
Biggerbil is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Paying VM for installation costs

Oh dear my intention wasnít to set off a vm witch hunt! Nonetheless itís useful to know that others have somehow gone down this route even though it hasnít necessarily worked out! I havenít received the quote from openreach to do the work yet but vm wonít even entertain the possibility of me funding the installation even though the connection should be a lot simpler than bt fibre. I guess thatís because they arenít obligated to connect everyone? Hard to find anyone to talk to other than the folks on the vm forum who just said itís too expensive. So infuriating 🙄
Biggerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 13:15   #5
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,379
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Paying VM for installation costs

If I recall correctly, the other guy had a 250 metre driveway, which is beyond the range of the cable. If yours is 40 metres and there's a VM cabinet fairly near the end of your drive, at least cable length shouldn't be a problem. But there may be other obstacles (literal or metaphorical). All I can suggest is asking again. Try to get to speak to the Installs manager for your area.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 16:44   #6
Biggerbil
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 4
Biggerbil is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Paying VM for installation costs

My situation is slightly different as the distance of 40m is to the virgin line (I can see the different coloured tarmac) across public land so would require permits etc to do the digging so maybe they just can’t be bothered! Do vm have to run a separate cable from the cabinet for each connection? I can see spurs off the main line along the street (but could be loads of individual cables in one tunnel) to my neighbours properties with vm connection boxes but don’t know where the main cabinet is. The network guy (who didn’t work for vm he was a contractor working on their behalf) was super helpful but I’ve probably exhausted my goodwill with him and the local Swindon install manager hasn’t been in contact despite the contractor passing my details on. How would u go about getting the local install managers contact details? Many thanks for all your advice!

Last edited by Biggerbil; 11-10-2021 at 16:44. Reason: Posted twice by accident
Biggerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 16:48   #7
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,379
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Paying VM for installation costs

Ah, I've just discovered you have already been discussing this with VM staff on the official forum. It does look like a difficult situation, and unfortunately I don't think we could add anything here.

Just a random thought though: Give VM Business a call. I wonder if they would be able to arrange something if you were willing to pay Business prices.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 17:47   #8
Biggerbil
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 4
Biggerbil is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Paying VM for installation costs

Cool thanks that’s a great idea- I did mention that I had already chatted on the vm forum i wasn’t sure if this one was a bit more independent and might have some new ideas such as yours!
Biggerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 21:20   #9
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,579
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Paying VM for installation costs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggerbil View Post
Cool thanks thatís a great idea- I did mention that I had already chatted on the vm forum i wasnít sure if this one was a bit more independent and might have some new ideas such as yours!
This one is independant although the are VM employees who come here on their own time.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:00.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.