Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Asus RT-AC88U problems

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

Asus RT-AC88U problems
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-09-2018, 19:17   #1
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,944
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Asus RT-AC88U problems

I bought the Asus RT-AC88U and it keeps dropping the WiFi, and this is getting annoying as I have set up the same Echo device 4 times as it lost connextion.

the firmware is upto date, it's in the excatly the same postion as my old router.

I've rebooted it but looking on the WiFi Analyser app it cconstally changing what channels are the best.


I'm now stuck.

Is is a duff box?


I did notice that the 5GHz wanted to use channel 100, but this channel on my last router caused issues so I changed to to channel 40.
__________________
Twitter Facebook

My Blog

Last edited by Hom3r; 20-09-2018 at 19:46.
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 21-09-2018, 06:39   #2
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,944
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

I'm baffled to think that a got a strong constant wifi signal downstairs on the RT-N66U, and a poor signal on the RT-AC88U.

Is there a power were in I can change in the wifi setting?
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2018, 19:24   #3
deadite66
cf.geek
 
deadite66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: great yarmouth
Services: Zen Fibre, Asus RT-AC68U
Posts: 884
deadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these partsdeadite66 is just so famous around these parts
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

I think they've broken the wifi a bit with latest firmwares, i had problems with some android devices and my AC68U recently.
some others have reported similar issues on the smallnetbuilder forums.
deadite66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2018, 19:32   #4
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 7,341
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

Use merlin firmware instead then.

https://asuswrt.lostrealm.ca/about
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2018, 20:26   #5
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,944
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Use merlin firmware instead then.

https://asuswrt.lostrealm.ca/about

Is this easy to do, as I've only ever used the offical firmware, and it it reversible?


If I used Merlin, and at a later date did a factory reset would this restore the original Asus firmware?

---------- Post added at 20:26 ---------- Previous post was at 20:06 ----------

Can you go back a revision to solve the wifi issue?
__________________
Twitter Facebook

My Blog

Last edited by Hom3r; 21-09-2018 at 20:15.
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2018, 22:25   #6
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 7,341
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
Is this easy to do, as I've only ever used the offical firmware, and it it reversible?


If I used Merlin, and at a later date did a factory reset would this restore the original Asus firmware?

---------- Post added at 20:26 ---------- Previous post was at 20:06 ----------

Can you go back a revision to solve the wifi issue?
Yes to all 3.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2018, 23:07   #7
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,944
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

Thanks Pip.

I'm just a bit nervous but hey ho.

I guess I go to the firmware update and do the manual update, then select the file?

So what's better roll back or Merlin?
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 05:33   #8
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 7,341
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

If it were my router I'd go merlin but the choice is yours.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 09:20   #9
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,944
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

I rolled back to an earlier firmare but no luck, now I'm on Merlin and still the 2.4GHz doesn't connect.

I've rebooted and even turned of the router, yet still no luck.

I can't belive a newer router signal is worse than my old RT-N66U.

---------- Post added at 09:20 ---------- Previous post was at 09:19 ----------

Is there a way to boost the 2.4GHz signal?
__________________
Twitter Facebook

My Blog
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 19:47   #10
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,944
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

I'm having to send it back.

I did it via Amazon chat.

I have been given a QR code to show my Post Office.
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 19:57   #11
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 7,341
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

Make sure you roll back the firmware.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2018, 15:30   #12
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,944
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

The woman from Amazon I was chatting to said there were known problems with it.

The QR code to return was simple, luckily my Post Office was open so I could return it today.

Now to buy another one.
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2018, 15:40   #13
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10,717
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
The woman from Amazon I was chatting to said there were known problems with it.

The QR code to return was simple, luckily my Post Office was open so I could return it today.

Now to buy another one.

A different router i guess?
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2018, 18:13   #14
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,944
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
A different router i guess?

But what?
__________________
Twitter Facebook

My Blog
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2018, 23:48   #15
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 67
Services: XL Phone, XXL 350mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,016
alanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant future
Re: Asus RT-AC88U problems

I have the RT-86U and there was a firmware update a few days ago and i can get stable wifi all around my 4 bedroom home with no issues.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:00.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.