Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Broadband constantly dropping in and out

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Broadband constantly dropping in and out
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-01-2018, 19:36   #1
sarah_2677
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 36
sarah_2677 is an unknown quantity at this point
Broadband constantly dropping in and out

I have a superhub 3.0, just lately it's been dropping in and out more days than not. Any ideas what might be the problem? I did get an email recently asking if I'd like a free upgrade to 100MB, how likely is it that it might have something to do with that? Thanks
sarah_2677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 29-01-2018, 19:48   #2
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,278
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarah_2677 View Post
I did get an email recently asking if I'd like a free upgrade to 100MB, how likely is it that it might have something to do with that?
zero unfortunately. You get those emails/letters when upgrade work has already been completed in your area and things should be squeaky clean and top notch. If they were carrying out planned upgrades which were expected to take any amount of time normally you get a flier or something through your door to make you aware of the downtime. The fact that it is intermittent and happening over a number of days makes you think something else is going on.

Before I go any further and get into things there is one super important question(s) which needs answering first:

1) what device(s) are you experiencing the connectivity issue on
2) is it affecting all devices
3) is the device(s) connected to the shub wirelessly or with a direct wired connection

what I need to know is if you are using a laptop or some other wireless device and being disconnected or if you are sat in front of a pc which has a wired connection to the shub and I will explain all later.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 21:07   #3
sarah_2677
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 36
sarah_2677 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

It's all devices, desktop pc is hooked up via ethernet. Two mobiles, iPad and small sky wireless download box (can't remember what it's called) are all connected via WiFi.
sarah_2677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 22:04   #4
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,278
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

cool, we needed to first ascertain whether it was your wan connection (actual internet connection) going down or whether it was just the wireless on the shub playing up. You would not believe how many times people say their internet connection is down when it is actually up and working perfectly and it is just flakey wireless.
There are two things you need to do next; we need to see when the connection is going down and what could be causing it.

1) To see when it is going down and how long for you need to set up a thinkbroadband ping monitor. Basically it sends signals to the shubs all the time and logs when it cant (so you know your connection is down). You get a graph which looks like this:

If you experience any down time it will appear as a solid red line on the graph. It is easy peasy to set up a monitor/graph, have a look here. You will need to know what your ip address is and you can find that out here. When you have got it set up can you click on the share live graph button and copy and paste the code in here. You will have a graph which looks like mine above but it will update in real time so we can see if you connection goes down.

2) The next thing we need to do is have a look at the some of the diagnostic stats and data on the shub to see if there is an obvious problem with your connection. For that you need to access the shub's gui on http://192.168.0.1 and do the following:











If you can copy that info in those screens/take screen shots and post them back in here it will be great. My reward for being a good Samaritan this evening is that by taking new screen shots for you I have just discovered that I am now on 24 downstreams and 4 upstreams
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 22:59   #5
sarah_2677
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 36
sarah_2677 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

Sorry for the delay in replying. I've been on thinkbroadband but I think I'm might be doing something wrong because the graph is blank.
Here's the info from the router, although the downstream section won't load, it's just constantly going round like it's trying to load
Upstream bonded channels
Channel ID
Frequency(Hz)
Mode
Power
(dBmV)
Modulation
Channel Bandwidth(Hz)
Symbol Rate (ksps)
59
32600000
ATDMA
48.3
64 qam
6400000
5120
60
25800000
ATDMA
48.3
64 qam
6400000
5120


Operational Configuration
General Configuration
Value
Network access
Enabled
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
Docsis Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm
Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID
286006
Max Traffic Rate
115000000
Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID
286005
Max Traffic Rate
6320000

Network Log
Date And Time
Error Number
Event Description
2018-02-01 22:23:22.00
84020200
Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:23:23.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:23:53.00
82000200
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:23:53.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:24:06.00
84020200
Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:24:07.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:24:20.00
82000200
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:24:20.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:24:46.00
84020200
Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:24:46.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:25:06.00
82000200
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:25:06.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:25:31.00
82000200
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:25:31.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:25:40.00
84020200
Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:25:42.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:26:49.00
84020200
Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:26:49.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:27:01.00
83010300
Service Delete Response rejected - Invalid Transaction;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-02-01 22:27:01.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=c0:05:c2:c5:20:93;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:80:14:74;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

---------- Post added at 22:59 ---------- Previous post was at 22:58 ----------

Downstream bonded channelsChannelFrequency(Hz)Power
(dBmV)SNR
(dB)ModulationChannel ID12670000000.238.9256 qam1723230000000.538.9256 qam2433150000000.738.9256 qam2343070000000.540.3256 qam2252990000000.238.9256 qam216291000000040.3256 qam207283000000040.3256 qam1982750000000.239.3256 qam1892590000000.439.3256 qam16102510000000.539.8256 qam15112430000000.438.9256 qam14122350000000.238.9256 qam1313227000000038.9256 qam1214219000000-0.738.9256 qam1115211000000-0.538.9256 qam1016203000000-0.238.9256 qam917195000000039.3256 qam8181870000000.238.9256 qam719179000000038.9256 qam620171000000-0.238.9256 qam521163000000-0.538.9256 qam422155000000-1.238.6256 qam323147000000-0.438.9256 qam224139000000-138.9256 qam1
sarah_2677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 23:22   #6
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,278
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

Those power levels are fine. Downstream is pretty much 0 with an snr of 38 and upstream is 48.

If you have a look at the settings in the shub (you will have to log in to the router bit) somewhere under firewall settings there with be an option for something like "respond to icmp echo requests" or "respond to pings". It will be disabled at the moment and you need to enable it for the graph to work because it works by pinging your router. I don't know where the setting is exactly because my shub is in modem mode. Give the graph some time though, you need to remember it update in real time so if you have only just set it up then it will be blank because it hasn't got any information for the last 24 hours. If you leave it 1 hour you will see the time axis shift along from right to left and your graph will start to form. Any green/yellow/blue means it is working and if it is solid red you know it is a firewall issue with the shub.

As your power levels are fine though if the graph shows that you are still getting disconnects then you will have to ring them up and get someone to come out because all those T3 timeouts in your log are indicative of a network fault. Intermittent faults are a pain in the ass to diagnose and if customers don't ring up then VM don't see there is an issue/fault. This is where stuff like the graph comes in handy because if you can show what has been happening over a series of days then the tech can see that the fault exists and escalate it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarah_2677 View Post
I did get an email recently asking if I'd like a free upgrade to 100MB
as an fyi you are already on 100mbits. The config you posted shows that you are on 100 down and 6 up so any upgrade will involve you moving to the next tier up which is 200/12 I believe.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight

Last edited by General Maximus; 01-02-2018 at 23:33.
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 00:12   #7
francisuk1989
cf.member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Edgware, London
Age: 28
Services: Hub 3, 200MB package only
Posts: 1
francisuk1989 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

Sounds similar to what im having to what i have posted to the VM forums here and someones eles here
francisuk1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 15:52   #8
copernob
cf.member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 59
copernob can only hope to improve
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

Since Virgin updated me to 350 from 300 I been having problems I can't seem to fix.
It showing my Printer Epsom r300 online and It is dissabled from Wi-Fi. Only printer I got on Wi-Fi is my Epson 1500w. that shows up. got other faults though.
[img]Download Failed (1)[/img]
How do I put image on here from PC

Router status

Status
Downstream
Upstream
Configuration
Network Log












Refresh data
Network Log
Time Priority Description

2018-03-30 20:47:24.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-04-01 06:06:43.00 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-04-01 09:29:01.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-04-02 20:42:23.00 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-04-03 06:18:46.00 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-04-03 06:33:01.00 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-04-03 16:23:42.00 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-04-06 11:14:57.00 critical No Ranging Response rece2018-03-24 15:18:06.00 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-03-25 10:23:00.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-03-27 21:38:06.00 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-03-29 13:01:05.00 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-03-30 06:38:29.00 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-03-30 10:36:34.00 Warning! RCS Partial Seived - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=40:0d:10:00:98:0b;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:7a:82:55;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

DIAGNOSTICS say - Your Broadband Connection is Down. It Is On. lol
WPS (ERROR)
Says my Tab 2 & Moto G4 mobile is on Ethernet. Cant be Surely. They on Wireless but Tab not on.

---------- Post added at 15:52 ---------- Previous post was at 14:40 ----------

ALL IS OK Folks. Had to Reset my Shrub 3, 5 times to get it working proper..
Cheers

Last edited by copernob; 07-04-2018 at 15:05.
copernob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 17:16   #9
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,278
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

I couldn't even be bothered to reply earlier. Changing your tier and downloading a new config file doesn't affect the settings on your shub, change printer settings or anything else. The only way settings will change or get screwed up is if you download new firmware.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 20:50   #10
sollp
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Age: 49
Services: Virginmobile,Sky TV, ZEN 76Mb,ZEN Phone line.
Posts: 1,265
sollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful one
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

Sarah you have issues on some of the D/S Muxes:

291Mhz 31.9dB SNR 283mHZ 33.9dB and between 179Mhz-235Mhz the SNR drops 25.7dB.

The D/S is causing an issue now, could be due to your installation in your property. Other customers modems off your cab seem ok
__________________
"Once a Poacher, Always a Poacher"
sollp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 09:15   #11
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 61
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 14,382
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Broadband constantly dropping in and out

"Suckouts" at particular frequencies are symptomatic of a poorly terminated line. Check the security and condition of the all connectors that you can see. If there's a splitter also check the cables to any TV box as these could also cause the same issues.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:07.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.