Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Change BBC1HD Series Links

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Change BBC1HD Series Links
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2022, 23:15   #16
epsilon
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 289
epsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
Worth a little distinction now I guess - currently it can't be told as far as I understand. That's not to say that a future update could allow it to then.

Although apart from Channel 4 / 4 HD England, I'm not sure there will be another change line this anytime soon.
4 HD is already split into regional versions all (currently) carrying the London advertising edition, so that ship has also sailed. Unless you want to reinvent the wheel.
epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 11-01-2022, 23:21   #17
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: 360 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,518
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Fair enough. I had thought the reason C4 HD wasn't on 104 in most of England is that they hadn't split the non London regions. Obviously another reason.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2022, 23:34   #18
epsilon
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 289
epsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of lightepsilon is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Possibly just waiting for Channel 4 to start providing the extra HD feeds and that roll-out schedule was severely disrupted by the incident at RBM White City.
epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 13:25   #19
SonicMaster
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 536
SonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Hmmm. Something odd happened last night that must be related to this.

I had a Series Link+ setup for Rules of the Game set to 'All Channels' and 'Record in HD if possible', but it recorded the version on 101 (BBC One South West) rather than 108 (BBC One HD).
SonicMaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 14:08   #20
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,111
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicMaster View Post
Hmmm. Something odd happened last night that must be related to this.

I had a Series Link+ setup for Rules of the Game set to 'All Channels' and 'Record in HD if possible', but it recorded the version on 101 (BBC One South West) rather than 108 (BBC One HD).
I've always been convinced the All Channels and Record HD If Possible have a channel number hierarchy element to their algorithm, because if the SD channel is at a more prominent number it almost always picks the SD over HD.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 17:22   #21
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 1.2Gb/55Mb, VMTV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD/HDR, DAB+
Posts: 1,519
ozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these parts
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

It has always worked with the HD being picked which is further down the EPG then the SD version. Has always worked on BBC, ITV, Sky etc. - so no reason to think a Series Link+ will still not work that way. I hope it will still work.
ozsat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 17:59   #22
oliver1948uk
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mansfield Woodhouse NG19
Services: VM Mix TV, 200 internet, basic house phone. Also Virgin mobile phone
Posts: 540
oliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quadsoliver1948uk has a fine set of Quads
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

When on 101 on the V6 box, pressing the blue button immediately selected 108 (HD). This no longer works on my box.
oliver1948uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 19:11   #23
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,111
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
It has always worked with the HD being picked which is further down the EPG then the SD version. Has always worked on BBC, ITV, Sky etc. - so no reason to think a Series Link+ will still not work that way. I hope it will still work.
It very often didn't for us, hence my previous post.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 20:36   #24
Media Boy
GOT NEWS - PM me.
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 13,578
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by epsilon View Post
Possibly just waiting for Channel 4 to start providing the extra HD feeds and that roll-out schedule was severely disrupted by the incident at RBM White City.
Reports I have seen says NEW Channel 4 HD will launch by July 2022 - somewhere on the web last month.
__________________
Blog - Updated Jan. 19th.
What may launch - Jan. 13th.
Media Boy now on Twitter.

Last edited by Media Boy; 12-01-2022 at 20:40.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2022, 13:21   #25
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: 360 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,518
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliver1948uk View Post
When on 101 on the V6 box, pressing the blue button immediately selected 108 (HD). This no longer works on my box.
This should now work again.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2022, 16:21   #26
SonicMaster
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 536
SonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
This should now work again.
Still not working for me, on a V6 box.
SonicMaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2022, 11:39   #27
Richardr
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: St Albans, UK
Services: V6, Full House, Braodband
Posts: 111
Richardr is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Change BBC1HD Series Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
I have recordings set on channel 101 (for South Today). Presumably, that will just disappear come the changeover, so Iíll have to set it to record all over again. Except I wonít because I record the News At Ten with an hour added on at the end to cover over-runs, so these recordings will also embrace South Today when the time comes.
It is unclear at this point whether Virgin Media will continue to carry all of the SD regions - I guess these may well continue for a while, but get reduced as time goes on.
Richardr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:26.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.