Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 'You are in a queue'!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Internet Discussion

'You are in a queue'!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-02-2019, 09:27   #16
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 x2, Full House TV, VIVID 350
Posts: 16,631
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirius View Post
Have you ever had a call back from any company that has the "we will keep your place in the queue and call you back" system. I have never had that happen and now just wait in line
ntl tried that at one point and it rarely worked for either party if I recall

For customers it usually was more frustrating as the callback could be at a random time - at least if you have a queue call you can hear a progression and have a pretty good idea when you're going to get to speak to someone.

For ntl the success rate for the automated call backs could be a bit random. People could hang up after asking for a callback and then immediately call back in. So you could have agents either getting an engaged tone or voicemail when they were allocated the outbound call, and so that time is wasted rather than dealing with a live call.

So although it's a good idea in theory, it isn't always a better idea that just waiting on a call.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 14-02-2019, 10:34   #17
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 62
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 32,786
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

That’s what "hands free" is for...
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2019, 11:24   #18
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,104
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
ntl tried that at one point and it rarely worked for either party if I recall

For customers it usually was more frustrating as the callback could be at a random time - at least if you have a queue call you can hear a progression and have a pretty good idea when you're going to get to speak to someone.

For ntl the success rate for the automated call backs could be a bit random. People could hang up after asking for a callback and then immediately call back in. So you could have agents either getting an engaged tone or voicemail when they were allocated the outbound call, and so that time is wasted rather than dealing with a live call.

So although it's a good idea in theory, it isn't always a better idea that just waiting on a call.
They might have wanted to call back to ensure the call was genuine, especially as they will have had to ask for passwords etc. I take your point that this still wasted resources though.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2019, 20:18   #19
firemanben
cf.member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Awsworth
Services: Sky+ HD
Posts: 2
firemanben is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh View Post
Leave?
If you've left then you're not there to thank - catch-22!
firemanben is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:54.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.