Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2023, 10:27   #1
NorfolkEnchants
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 3
NorfolkEnchants is an unknown quantity at this point
Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?

Hi everyone

Wonder if you can help me over the final hurdle of getting hardwired connection in my garden office. I think I'm nearly there but just not getting an internet connection..

I've ran a Cat6 cable from my router to my garden office- around 30m away (in cable ducting)- all inside the walls. I've cable tested from the router end to the face plate in the garden office- where the CAT6 cable terminates. All lights on the tester light up sequentially at both ends- so looks ok in principle. Its just a basic cable tester with lights numbered 1-8. I

Unfortunately, when I connect my laptop via another cat6 patch cable in the garden/office from the face plate- there is no LAN connection at all/no internet at all?

I've tried the following a few times:
Resetting Asus router
Swapping cables over.
Rebooting laptop

Laptop works fine when connected to ethernet or wifi in house. Virgin fibre speeds around 450MPS.

The CAT6 cable is high quality -(solid copper) as I've already ran the cable to a distant bedroom earlier about 25m away and this has worked fine. Not sure if I should just re-do all the connections from the router faceplate to the faceplate in the office?

Thanks in advance.

Norf
NorfolkEnchants is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 07-08-2023, 12:56   #2
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 61
Services: Flextel SIP : Sky Mobile : Sky Q TV : VM BB (1000 Mbps) : Aquiss FTTP (900 Mbps)
Posts: 28,011
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?

Have you connected it at the router end using the same patch cable, and it works ?

[ i.e. just cutting out the 30m ]
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2023, 13:28   #3
NorfolkEnchants
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 3
NorfolkEnchants is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?

Hi

Yes, I've connected my laptop directly into the router via another cat6 patch cable and it works fine. There's a LAN connection with internet straightaway.

Thanks
NorfolkEnchants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2023, 15:50   #4
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 68
Services: With VM for BB 250Mb service.(Deal)
Posts: 11,704
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorfolkEnchants View Post
Hi

Yes, I've connected my laptop directly into the router via another cat6 patch cable and it works fine. There's a LAN connection with internet straightaway.

Thanks
Using another patch cable to the router doesn't show if the patch cable to the extention works. You must use the same patch cable to prove it works.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2023, 02:37   #5
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 61
Services: Flextel SIP : Sky Mobile : Sky Q TV : VM BB (1000 Mbps) : Aquiss FTTP (900 Mbps)
Posts: 28,011
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorfolkEnchants View Post
Hi
Yes, I've connected my laptop directly into the router via another cat6 patch cable and it works fine.
Thats not what I said.

Quote:
Have you connected it at the router end using the same patch cable, and it works ?
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2023, 10:27   #6
NorfolkEnchants
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 3
NorfolkEnchants is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?

Hi,

Yes I've tried the same patch cable from the router to laptop- works fine. However using the same patch cable from the face plate in the Garden-office to the laptop - there is no internet.

Thank for your help
NorfolkEnchants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2023, 21:42   #7
livelysprite
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 65
livelysprite is on a distinguished roadlivelysprite is on a distinguished road
Re: Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorfolkEnchants View Post
Hi,

Yes I've tried the same patch cable from the router to laptop- works fine. However using the same patch cable from the face plate in the Garden-office to the laptop - there is no internet.

Thank for your help
Is there enough length in the garden side to put a cat6 connector on the cable and see if that works, then it's the faceplate that's at fault. And cat6 can't have any sharp bends in the cable run.
livelysprite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2023, 18:06   #8
DKenn
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 2
DKenn is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Cat6 Garden/office- cable tested ok - but no internet?

Logically re-doing the connections is the way to go - you have a 50/50 chance of picking the right faceplate!

Hopefully you have enough slack in the wire.

In a worst case are you able to pull the wire through the conduit? If so, you could pull a new wire through - obviously not the first choice.
DKenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:30.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
All Posts and Content are Cable Forum