Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Still can't get on cable forum !

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Security & Virus Discussion

Norton and Malwarebytes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2022, 14:57   #1
Rillington
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Services: Virgin Media, DAB
Posts: 907
Rillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation era
Norton and Malwarebytes

A few days ago Norton 360 stopped working and it ended up being because Malwarebytes was also on my machine, despite it being the free version which only runs when i tell it to, meaning that there is no clash.

The reason I have both is because as I understand it, Norton scans for viruses, adware and spyware whereas Malwarebytes scans for malware. In other words, each looks for different things. However I took some independent advice which said that Norton 360 now also looks for malware.

Therefore I was wondering whether I need Malwarebytes in addition to Norton and if both programmes now do look for the same malware.

And also, if I was to turn on Malwarebytes would Malwarebytes also look for viruses and spyware which would mean that I could potentially get rid of Norton?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Rillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 11-06-2022, 15:08   #2
daveeb
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,051
daveeb has reached the bronze age
daveeb has reached the bronze agedaveeb has reached the bronze age
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

Normally the free Malwarebytes is "on demand" only so there are no conflicts at all (or at least there shouldn't be). Perhaps it has given you a trial of the paid version which runs actively and so may be clashing with Norton.


Malwarebytes premium would (in my opinion) be a better option than Norton. Personally I use Avast free (which is OK but a bit prone to scare tactics to get you to upgrade), Malwarebytes free and Win patrol (also free) which monitors changes to the registry etc.
daveeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2022, 15:09   #3
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXXL Gig1 BB SH4 (wired).
Posts: 2,713
alanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these parts
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

In all my years in the IT Business I refuse to use any Norton Product.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2022, 17:10   #4
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
In all my years in the IT Business I refuse to use any Norton Product.
Norton is said to be ok now, but Avast is another story I wouldn't install that crap on a PC these days.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2022, 17:31   #5
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,766
Jaymoss has reached the bronze age
Jaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze age
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

Yeah you have to keep up with the times Alan old bean. Bit Defender and Norton come up tops of a lot of tests and in some even Mcafee do ok

At present I am just running bog standard M$ Defender with a fortnightly online scan with ESET. A lot of the avs do cloud scanning now so are as pretty much as upto date as can be and I am careful enough
Jaymoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2022, 18:58   #6
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

I reactived the free 6 month Bitdefender trial, no point changing from that for me as it does the job even though I can get Malware bytes premium free via my bank.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2022, 19:06   #7
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,766
Jaymoss has reached the bronze age
Jaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze age
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

Malwarebytes as an AV does not do well. I have a lifetime key for it but only use it for malware. That and RKill have saved a number of machines in the past
Jaymoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2022, 20:23   #8
Maggy
The Invisible Woman
Cable Forum Team
 
Maggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: between Portsmouth and Southampton.
Age: 69
Services: VM XL TV,50 MB VM BB,VM landline, Tivo
Posts: 39,731
Maggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden aura
Maggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden auraMaggy has a golden aura
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

Eset for me.
__________________
Hell is empty and all the devils are here. Shakespeare..
Maggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2022, 21:15   #9
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 25,312
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

Norton, McAfee etc will never get near a PC I run.

Windows defender is really all you need, plus you could run the free MalwareBytes now and then.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2022, 14:08   #10
Rillington
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Services: Virgin Media, DAB
Posts: 907
Rillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation era
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveeb View Post
Normally the free Malwarebytes is "on demand" only so there are no conflicts at all (or at least there shouldn't be). Perhaps it has given you a trial of the paid version which runs actively and so may be clashing with Norton.


Malwarebytes premium would (in my opinion) be a better option than Norton. Personally I use Avast free (which is OK but a bit prone to scare tactics to get you to upgrade), Malwarebytes free and Win patrol (also free) which monitors changes to the registry etc.
That's the point - there are no conflicts because I only run Malwarebytes when i feel the need to do a malware scan, and also I do it offline so reduce the likelihood of any conflict.

---------- Post added at 14:08 ---------- Previous post was at 14:06 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
Norton, McAfee etc will never get near a PC I run.

Windows defender is really all you need, plus you could run the free MalwareBytes now and then.
I use a Mac so Windows Defender isn't an option.

I consider Norton to be the less worse than McAfee. I don't fully trust it as there always seem to be issues with it of one form or another.
Rillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2022, 16:23   #11
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 25,312
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rillington View Post
I use a Mac so Windows Defender isn't an option.
Mac Defender ?
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2022, 17:44   #12
Mr K
Woke and proud !
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a wife
Posts: 7,806
Mr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronze
Mr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronzeMr K is cast in bronze
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

I had Avast once. Nothing but trouble with false positives and slowing the pc down.
Just use the Windows AV now with the free Malwarebytes, light touch and does the job.
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2022, 14:12   #13
Rillington
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Services: Virgin Media, DAB
Posts: 907
Rillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation eraRillington has entered a golden reputation era
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

from what people can gather, does Norton now also scan for malware?
Rillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2022, 16:37   #14
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,766
Jaymoss has reached the bronze age
Jaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze age
Re: Norton and Malwarebytes

yes
Jaymoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:26.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.