Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Registering loss of fixed line service

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Fixed Phone Service

Registering loss of fixed line service
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-04-2022, 19:14   #1
livelysprite
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 32
livelysprite is an unknown quantity at this point
Registering loss of fixed line service

My phone line went dead and my broadband has been going on and off for days. I suspect cityfibre have damaged the underground cable going into my house as they put fibre optic in my street recently. I reported the fault using my neighbour's landline, but I am wondering if I need to phone another number to register loss of service or does reporting it automatically register it? Virgin said there is a fault on my line and the engineer will come on friday.

Last edited by livelysprite; 13-04-2022 at 19:18.
livelysprite is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 13-04-2022, 19:23   #2
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,578
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: registering loss of fixed line service

It is automatically registered when you report the fault.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2022, 21:42   #3
livelysprite
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 32
livelysprite is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: registering loss of fixed line service

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
It is automatically registered when you report the fault.
thanks
livelysprite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2022, 11:37   #4
livelysprite
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 32
livelysprite is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: registering loss of fixed line service

Quote:
Originally Posted by livelysprite View Post
thanks
The engineer is coming tomorrow and out of the blue the phone started working again, although virgin confirmed there was a fault when they ran line checks.
Should I cancel the engineer and is there a charge for cancelling?
livelysprite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2022, 12:24   #5
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,578
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Registering loss of fixed line service

If you are happy that it's working, cancel. There is no charge for cancelling.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2022, 12:36   #6
livelysprite
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 32
livelysprite is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Registering loss of fixed line service

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
If you are happy that it's working, cancel. There is no charge for cancelling.

I will ask him to check the green box outside as the doors have been blowing open sometimes.
livelysprite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2022, 13:22   #7
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: 360 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,745
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Registering loss of fixed line service

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
If you are happy that it's working, cancel. There is no charge for cancelling.
As long as it's cancelled in time

https://www.virginmedia.com/legal/price-guides

Quote:
Missed Appointments

If you miss or prevent installation or maintenance from being carried out at a time we have agreed - with you in advance, or if you fail to tell us that an appointment is no longer required by [12pm on the day before] the appointment, you may be charged a missed appointment fee. You will be required to tell us at least 24 hours before the appointment or you may be charged.
Quote:
Missed Appointments
25 charge per appointment
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2022, 16:07   #8
livelysprite
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 32
livelysprite is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Registering loss of fixed line service

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
As long as it's cancelled in time

https://www.virginmedia.com/legal/price-guides
well, I'll have to keep the appointment. It's less than 24 hours now.,
livelysprite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2022, 16:42   #9
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 65
Services: VM 500M SH3 thingy in modem mode XL TV V6 Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 10,424
heero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
heero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
Re: Registering loss of fixed line service

Quote:
Originally Posted by livelysprite View Post
well, I'll have to keep the appointment. It's less than 24 hours now.,
Best to let the engineer check out the connection especially as VM registered a fault. Intermittent faults have a habit of becoming permanent if not nipped in the bud
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz: The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Khushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:40.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.