Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | High upload power following planned maintenance

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

High upload power following planned maintenance
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2020, 22:06   #1
david_w2k
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dorset
Posts: 165
david_w2k is an unknown quantity at this point
High upload power following planned maintenance

Hello
Will give Virgin a call but thought i'd ask out of interest. There was some planned maintenance last week which caused an outage of around 3 hours this week.

Since then my upstream power levels are high(50-51) and my BB quality graph now seems to have very small amounts of packet loss. Could the 2 be related?

Never had a power issue before even during hot days
david_w2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 02-07-2020, 22:16   #2
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,920
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: High upload power following planned maintenance

The change to upstream power may well be related to the maintenance, but 50-51 is fine. It won't cause packet loss. I'd only start getting concerned at 58-ish.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 22:56   #3
david_w2k
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dorset
Posts: 165
david_w2k is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: High upload power following planned maintenance

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
The change to upstream power may well be related to the maintenance, but 50-51 is fine. It won't cause packet loss. I'd only start getting concerned at 58-ish.
Ah ok nice one, I thought 51 was the max. Id noticed some video conference stutters etc which is why I checked. Maybe modem/router needs a reboot
david_w2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 23:01   #4
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,920
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: High upload power following planned maintenance

51 is the maximum recommended for a new installations. It leaves plenty of leeway in case the signal degrades over time. The absolute limit is 61.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 23:11   #5
david_w2k
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dorset
Posts: 165
david_w2k is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: High upload power following planned maintenance

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
51 is the maximum recommended for a new installations. It leaves plenty of leeway in case the signal degrades over time. The absolute limit is 61.
Cool, good to know! Appreciate the advice
david_w2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 00:44   #6
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,335
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: High upload power following planned maintenance

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
The change to upstream power may well be related to the maintenance, but 50-51 is fine. It won't cause packet loss. I'd only start getting concerned at 58-ish.
You can't get a 58 upstream when 4 upstreams are locked on, the hub only goes up to 51db on QAM64 ATDMA x4 so 51db is a fault

---------- Post added at 00:44 ---------- Previous post was at 00:43 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
51 is the maximum recommended for a new installations. It leaves plenty of leeway in case the signal degrades over time. The absolute limit is 61.
Maybe in 2015!

https://volpefirm.com/speeding-upstream-part-ii/
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."

Last edited by jb66; 03-07-2020 at 00:48.
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 08:59   #7
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,920
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: High upload power following planned maintenance

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb66 View Post
You can't get a 58 upstream when 4 upstreams are locked on, the hub only goes up to 51db on QAM64 ATDMA x4 so 51db is a fault
Thanks, I stand corrected
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 09:14   #8
david_w2k
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dorset
Posts: 165
david_w2k is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: High upload power following planned maintenance

Thanks both i'll keep an eye on it! So far havent had a modem reset and also the packet loss has gone. Normally would say leave it until there is an issue rather than going off power levels but I assume at some point it is going to reset?
david_w2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 09:22   #9
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,273
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: High upload power following planned maintenance

You have tried doing the obvious and turning hub off and on again?
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 11:18   #10
david_w2k
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dorset
Posts: 165
david_w2k is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: High upload power following planned maintenance

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
You have tried doing the obvious and turning hub off and on again?
Yeah and the power levels are the same but there has not been any further packet loss. Currently connection working perfectly which is great, will see if the power levels cause an issue.

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 46200000 5.075 5120 64 qam 3
2 60300000 5.1 5120 64 qam 1
3 39400000 5.075 5120 64 qam 4
4 53700000 5.1 5120 64 qam 2


Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
322750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
david_w2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.