Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | BSOD new build

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > General IT Discussion

BSOD new build
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-07-2020, 14:49   #1
ThunderPants73
cf.mega poster
 
ThunderPants73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Notts
Services: BB & PHONE
Posts: 1,046
ThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond repute
BSOD new build

Hi,

I recently built a new PC which seemed to go smoothly, however, in this last week I've had the following issues:

1. BIOS seemed to reset to default.
2. BSOD with PFN_LIST_CORRUPT error
3. BSOD with MEMORY_MANANGEMENT error

The first one seemed to happen shortly after a Win 10 update.
The BSODs have only happened once each (so far), when playing on a game. Has anyone had a similar experience? I do wonder if it's all linked to the update. I have the following:

AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor

Gigabyte X570 AORUS ELITE ATX AM4 Motherboard

Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200 CL16

Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250 GB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive

Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8 GB WINDFORCE OC 3X

Microsoft Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit
ThunderPants73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 23-07-2020, 16:35   #2
Carth
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: At the Leaving door
Posts: 1,707
Carth has reached the bronze age
Carth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze age
Re: BSOD new build

Seems as though it's when under heavy load (gaming).

easy check is if the CPU, RAM, GFX are correctly seated, and the air flow through the PC is sufficient.

After that it's probably a case of checking error files . . .



hang on, Windows 10 . . . has the update 'updated' your graphics/sound drivers to the wrong ones? . . or something similar?
__________________
'The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it' ~ T. Pratchett
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2020, 18:42   #3
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 22,566
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: BSOD new build

Have a read ;

https://windowsreport.com/pfn_list_corrupt-windows-10/
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2020, 20:35   #4
ThunderPants73
cf.mega poster
 
ThunderPants73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Notts
Services: BB & PHONE
Posts: 1,046
ThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: BSOD new build

No idea what's going on here but here's the latest:

DRIVER_VERIFIER_DETECTED_VIOLATION
ThunderPants73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2020, 08:53   #5
ThunderPants73
cf.mega poster
 
ThunderPants73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Notts
Services: BB & PHONE
Posts: 1,046
ThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: BSOD new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carth View Post
Seems as though it's when under heavy load (gaming).

easy check is if the CPU, RAM, GFX are correctly seated, and the air flow through the PC is sufficient.

After that it's probably a case of checking error files . . .



hang on, Windows 10 . . . has the update 'updated' your graphics/sound drivers to the wrong ones? . . or something similar?
I got the memory_management error again, while I was Googling for a solution so it's not just while gaming. I've run Heaven and Furmark and eveything went fine. I checked my update history and no new drivers have been installed. I have 2 fans pulling in air from the front, and 1 back, 1 top exhausts. During the Furmark test, GPU temp had a high of 64 deg C. I also don't think it's a PSU issue as I have an EVGA 1000w. It's taking a lot longer to post as well.
ThunderPants73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2020, 09:54   #6
Carth
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: At the Leaving door
Posts: 1,707
Carth has reached the bronze age
Carth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze age
Re: BSOD new build

I'd try to eliminate things one by one, and I'd start with GFX drivers myself.

What I personally would do, is remove the GFX drivers, then install the ones that came with the GFX card and see how it goes.

Same with audio/lan drivers if the GFX didn't solve anything . . . in fact reinstall all Mobo drivers from the disc that came with it . . just to hopefully eliminate driver issues from the problem.

Did you install any software on or about the time of the Windows update, giving a possible conflict somewhere?

I used to run Avast antivirus for years, but when I updated to Win 7 ultimate it caused BSOD randomly . . took a while to fathom it out . . no problems since binning Avast . . bloody computers
__________________
'The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it' ~ T. Pratchett
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2020, 10:03   #7
ThunderPants73
cf.mega poster
 
ThunderPants73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Notts
Services: BB & PHONE
Posts: 1,046
ThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: BSOD new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carth View Post
I'd try to eliminate things one by one, and I'd start with GFX drivers myself.

What I personally would do, is remove the GFX drivers, then install the ones that came with the GFX card and see how it goes.

Same with audio/lan drivers if the GFX didn't solve anything . . . in fact reinstall all Mobo drivers from the disc that came with it . . just to hopefully eliminate driver issues from the problem.

Did you install any software on or about the time of the Windows update, giving a possible conflict somewhere?

I used to run Avast antivirus for years, but when I updated to Win 7 ultimate it caused BSOD randomly . . took a while to fathom it out . . no problems since binning Avast . . bloody computers
I'm starting to wonder if whatever caused the BIOS to reset to defaults is responsible for all of this, since the BSODS only started after that. Why would the BIOS revert to default settings on it's own?
ThunderPants73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2020, 10:36   #8
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 63
Services: VM 100M SH3 thingy in modem mode XL TV V6 Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 15,976
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: BSOD new build

I know it's a new build but worth checking the voltage of the battery that keeps the CMOS alive just in case it's a dud.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2020, 10:42   #9
downquark1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Age: 33
Services: Plusnet FFTC
Posts: 4,668
downquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appeal
downquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appeal
Re: BSOD new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderPants73 View Post
I'm starting to wonder if whatever caused the BIOS to reset to defaults is responsible for all of this, since the BSODS only started after that. Why would the BIOS revert to default settings on it's own?
A BIOS can do this if the BIOS was updated, the internal battery runs out or it detects some problem. I would check the BIOS is the latest version from the motherboard manufacturer.

Maybe run a memory test (takes a long time) and reseat the memory if there is an error.
__________________
"Knowledge is Power. Power Corrupts. Study Hard. Be Evil."
downquark1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2020, 20:14   #10
ThunderPants73
cf.mega poster
 
ThunderPants73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Notts
Services: BB & PHONE
Posts: 1,046
ThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: BSOD new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by downquark1 View Post
A BIOS can do this if the BIOS was updated, the internal battery runs out or it detects some problem. I would check the BIOS is the latest version from the motherboard manufacturer.

Maybe run a memory test (takes a long time) and reseat the memory if there is an error.
I did a fresh install yesterday and updated the BIOS today. I have memtest86 to run if the problem hasn't been resolved. Baby steps....

Thanks.
ThunderPants73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2020, 23:56   #11
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,663
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: BSOD new build

Check your RAM is on the QVL for your motherbord. I had similar issues with my Gigabyte X399 board and it turned out to be incompatible RAM.

Another test: Don't run the XMP profile for your RAM (3200Mhz), run it at the default clock and see how that goes (yes it'll hurt performance but this is just a test).
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 17:10   #12
ThunderPants73
cf.mega poster
 
ThunderPants73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Notts
Services: BB & PHONE
Posts: 1,046
ThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond reputeThunderPants73 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: BSOD new build

I updated the BIOS. So far, no more BSODs. Now if I could just get my CPU cooler fans to stop revving every two seconds I'd be chuffed. Got fans set to silent, but still (almost) quietly revving.
ThunderPants73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 17:13   #13
Dave42
cf.mega poster
 
Dave42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jarrow Tyne & Wear
Services: V.I.P 120 tivo and v+
Posts: 5,207
Dave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronze
Dave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronze
Re: BSOD new build

check that your amd chipset drivers are up to date
Dave42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:28.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.