Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

[GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-08-2010, 22:37   #151
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 61
Services: Flextel SIP : Sky Mobile : Sky Q TV : VM BB (1000 Mbps) : Aquiss FTTP (900 Mbps)
Posts: 27,911
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered stars
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

Ive reverted back to an older build again - the latest ones were failing after a few days (all connectivity failing until router re-booted).
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 23-08-2010, 13:00   #152
mjpartyboy
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 199
mjpartyboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

I'm still using build 14815 because it's performing the best out of all the builds up to that one for me. I haven't tried any of the later ones because I'm happy with 14815 for my needs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by montanajr View Post
I tried updating the firmware on my router from the VM firmware to DD-WRT and got it all working perfectly. I then realised that I had infact used an older firmware version for the DD-WRT, so I went into the console (192.168.1.1) and went to Administration>>Firmware Upgrade and tried updating the firmware..about halfway through the update I realised I needed the D version but I was infact uploading the E version!

Basically now, the router does not work for wired and wireless connections, I cannot access 192.168.1.1 with it connected to roll back the firmware, what the hell can I do??
See my post above yours about accessing the Emergency Room. It's also worth doing a 30/30/30 reset before and after changing the firmware in the ER.
mjpartyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 22:07   #153
mjpartyboy
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 199
mjpartyboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

Has anybody had any success deleting DHCP Clients in Status > LAN using the trash can icon?

Every build I've used, nothing happens when I click this icon. The page just reloads with the item host tried to delete still in the list.
mjpartyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 18:56   #154
mi2
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
mi2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

Just wanted to signup and say how helpful this thread has been, especially Acathla's original post. Great instructions. I managed to rescue my brand-new, unused DIR615 and extend my wireless network.

I followed instructions elsewhere to create a repeater bridge -- does anyone have any expertise in this area? When I do a "site surveyor", I cannot see my main router, which is a little bit puzzling. I think this is preventing me from joining the network, so although my network is extended, I have to jump to a different SSID. Any pointers in the right direction will be gratefully appreciated.
mi2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 23:45   #155
mjpartyboy
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 199
mjpartyboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

I'm still running build 14815 and haven't tried any of the newer ones, but I noticed recently that 14896 has been added to the supported build list in the database, in addition to 14311.
mjpartyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 09:56   #156
mjpartyboy
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 199
mjpartyboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

New build is out: 15279

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/o...-V24-preSP2%2F
mjpartyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 14:54   #157
royaltiger
Inactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Services: 50mb Broadband Ambit VMNG300 modem, Tivo, V+TVDrive Extra Large and NTL phone, Virgin mobile
Posts: 689
royaltiger is a glorious beacon of lightroyaltiger is a glorious beacon of lightroyaltiger is a glorious beacon of lightroyaltiger is a glorious beacon of lightroyaltiger is a glorious beacon of lightroyaltiger is a glorious beacon of lightroyaltiger is a glorious beacon of light
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

I'm still puzzled as to why there is so many firmware builds for this router, there cannot be that much of an improvement if any in the router. My linksys had probably 2 a year if that and now stopped any more upgrades.
royaltiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 15:10   #158
mjpartyboy
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 199
mjpartyboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

It's an ongoing project and is always getting tweaked for the various hardware and chipsets it works with, with the idea being it should get more stable with each build, not that I've come across a bad build for my needs.
mjpartyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 15:45   #159
browney
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sunderland,UK
Services: VM Retail Rates deal
Posts: 260
browney is on a distinguished roadbrowney is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to browney
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

It's the worst router I have used.
browney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 17:55   #160
Welshchris
Permanently Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wales UK
Age: 42
Services: 50mb Cable, L TV and Phone XL.
Posts: 3,480
Welshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful oneWelshchris is the helpful one
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

I still cant get my phone to connect to certain things using DDRWRT on the D2 Version of this router! loads of others have similar issues.
Welshchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 19:32   #161
mjpartyboy
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 199
mjpartyboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

I went for it and upgraded to build 15279 today and so far so good. The wireless speed is very fast, my HTC Desire is more stable than it already was, Xbox Live is fine, and I'm going to test streaming to the PS3 soon, because this has suffered disconnects on every build I've used, whereas streaming to the 360 is solid (the PS3 delivers better video quality than the 360 when streaming).
mjpartyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 22:52   #162
MuppetDevil
Inactive
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
MuppetDevil is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

My HTC Desire is working fine with this new build. Was terrible with the previous build. I was going to take it back today, bit of luck having the new build come out. Now downloads and streams from web and my server without problem. Xbox 360 streaming over WiFi bridge works great. So long as the routers have been rebooted within a few days of trying to watch something. Some memory leak probably the cause of this.

Have 2 of these routers, they do need a lot of manually rebooting, at least once per week. Hoping this build fixes that also.
MuppetDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2010, 07:45   #163
Chrysalis
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,047
Chrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronze
Chrysalis is cast in bronze
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

what baffles me is the VM firmware gives proper wireless N speeds, this is half the speed.

For this reason I still route all wireless traffic via my adsl router.
Also the dhcp spoof issue and lack of proper logging in gui.

Other then that the router seems ok.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2010, 08:28   #164
mjpartyboy
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 199
mjpartyboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuppetDevil View Post
So long as the routers have been rebooted within a few days of trying to watch something. Some memory leak probably the cause of this.

Have 2 of these routers, they do need a lot of manually rebooting, at least once per week. Hoping this build fixes that also.
Sometimes I set the router to reboot daily in the early hours, just before I wake up, but recently I've turned this feature off (I don't care about having a long up-time, but this seems to bother some people). I'm sure you can also set it to reboot on a specific day each week, if you would rather automate this process. Check it out in: Administration > Keep Alive
mjpartyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2010, 01:12   #165
MuppetDevil
Inactive
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
MuppetDevil is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

:mjpartyboy

It is set to reboot it's self every weekend. It never recovers fully from a soft boot. Only a manual hardware reboot does the trick. Hence me using the term Manually.
MuppetDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:33.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.