Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Wireless Router Help.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.

Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking
Register FAQ Community Calendar

Wireless Router Help.

Old 12-11-2006, 14:27   #1
Spig
Inactive

Spig is an unknown quantity at this point
Wireless Router Help.

I've got a laptop running XP with a wireless network adapter (Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG), I've never used networking before. Last week I got a free wireless modem/router (Edimax AR-7064g+) from my ISP as part of an upgrade package. Following the instructions I set it up using ethanet connection, and now can connect without using my old modem.

I switched on Boradcast SSID and set up 128 Bit encription. I've been trying to connect wirelessly, but my network has only been found twice. Both times before I was able to connect, it couldn't detect my network any more. It hasn't found my network since last night. Now with either ethanet plugged or unplugged it detects numerous other networks from time to time, but not my own. My laptop & router are a foot apart.

Any ideas what I can try or what might be wrong?

Cheers.
Spig is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 12-11-2006, 14:47   #2
TheBlueRaja
cf.mega poster

Services: Initiations, rep rigging and orgies!
TheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny star