Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Ddos issues for gamer

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Ddos issues for gamer
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-12-2018, 12:39   #31
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,055
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

Yeah, let him give you the shub3 for the 24 downstream channels and put it in modem mode and then use the Asus for everything else.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 26-12-2018, 12:48   #32
vj531
cf.member
 
vj531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 30
vj531 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

I’m hoping it also going to improve the WiFi ranges
__________________
All the best
Stephen (vj531)
vj531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2018, 12:52   #33
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,055
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

It will, there will be a significant improvement
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2018, 10:55   #34
vj531
cf.member
 
vj531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 30
vj531 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

Any tip for setting the Asus?
__________________
All the best
Stephen (vj531)
vj531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2018, 11:53   #35
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,055
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

Quote:
Originally Posted by vj531 View Post
Any tip for setting the Asus?
4th post on page 2
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2018, 10:46   #36
vj531
cf.member
 
vj531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 30
vj531 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

Asus in

Trouble is Asus IP is 192.168.1.1 and the old SHub was 192.168.0.1
ATM I have a split network.
How do I get them all under 192.168.1.?? or vice versa?
Asus can't see many of my devices.
__________________
All the best
Stephen (vj531)

Last edited by vj531; 28-12-2018 at 10:53.
vj531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2018, 12:01   #37
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,055
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

Put the shub in modem mode and it wont have an ip address. You have left it in router mode.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2018, 14:24   #38
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,055
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

If the shub is in modem mode the ip is 192.168.100.1. I have never tried logging back in but if you try it i assume all the router options and menus are blanked out, it tells you you are in modem mode and gives you an option to reset back to router mode.

If it is modem mode i would turn both the shub and asus off, turn the shub back on and let it boot up and then turn the asus back on. All the devices on yoyr network will realise they lost their network connection and will request a new ip address when they reconnect.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2018, 15:13   #39
vj531
cf.member
 
vj531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 30
vj531 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

Thanks ill give that a go
__________________
All the best
Stephen (vj531)
vj531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2018, 17:45   #40
vj531
cf.member
 
vj531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 30
vj531 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

Almost all done.
Changed the IP on Asus to the old Shub2 settings and bingo could see the all my bits and bobs, around 40 of them.
Can the lights on the front of the Asus be turned from within the software?
I know there is a button on the back, I though can’t reach the thing?

Is the Asus AC68u only compatible with Virmin broadband?
__________________
All the best
Stephen (vj531)

Last edited by vj531; 28-12-2018 at 17:52.
vj531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2018, 08:28   #41
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,055
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

Quote:
Originally Posted by vj531 View Post
I know there is a button on the back, I though canít reach the thing?
haven't seen an option for it, that is what the button is for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vj531 View Post
Is the Asus AC68u only compatible with Virmin broadband?
no, it is a proper router and can be used with any and all connections
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2018, 14:50   #42
vj531
cf.member
 
vj531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 30
vj531 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

I checked the shub3 and it is in modem mode!
Having fun with my Getflix DNS and the most flakiest TV remote ever the harmony elite with hub.

Thanks for you help!
__________________
All the best
Stephen (vj531)

Last edited by vj531; 29-12-2018 at 15:01.
vj531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 18:26   #43
cupcakes aka dd
cf.geek
 
cupcakes aka dd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Birmingham
Age: 54
Services: XL the lot
Posts: 607
cupcakes aka dd is a splendid one to beholdcupcakes aka dd is a splendid one to beholdcupcakes aka dd is a splendid one to beholdcupcakes aka dd is a splendid one to beholdcupcakes aka dd is a splendid one to beholdcupcakes aka dd is a splendid one to beholdcupcakes aka dd is a splendid one to beholdcupcakes aka dd is a splendid one to beholdcupcakes aka dd is a splendid one to behold
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

So found out today a friend of mine with VM started having attacks from a boy who threatened to do so. They contacted VM who confirmed they had been DDos'd and offered to change their IP address. Seems they have changed their policy to a quick solution after all the hassle I had having to buy a router to force an IP change!
cupcakes aka dd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2019, 14:54   #44
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,055
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Ddos issues for gamer

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcakes aka dd View Post
the hassle I had having to buy a router to force an IP change!
consider it a blessing in disguise. You might not have wanted to cough up the £££ at the time but you are far better of because of it. I refuse to use a shub and have always had my own routers, even before shub's existed.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:45.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.