Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2011, 12:08   #181
_wtf_
Inactive
 
Join Date: May 2008
Services: BT Phone & Infinty, FreesatHD, Freeview, LOVEFiLM, NetFlix, Virgin Mobile
Posts: 240
_wtf_ has disabled reputation
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)



VMNG300 + DIR 615

What an improvement over the Netgear WNR2000.

I 'think' this is starting to look normal.

I was a beast on Black Ops last night.

I've now got to go back to the Black Ops forum and eat humble pie after many posts where I insisted that my broadband connection was not to blame.
_wtf_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 04-04-2011, 09:16   #182
Gazjam
Inactive
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Services: 30MB BB XL Tv V+ XL Phone
Posts: 98
Gazjam is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Rebooted my model after changing settings and seems to be working ok.
Cool.

not sure about the quality of my connection though...any thoughts?

Gazjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 09:44   #183
craigj2k12
Sell me this pen....
Snake Champion
 
craigj2k12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stafford
Posts: 4,221
craigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appeal
craigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

hows this?

http://www.pingtest.net/result/38186998.png
craigj2k12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 09:47   #184
Hiddendeath
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Norwich
Services: VM XL 30mb superslug
Posts: 33
Hiddendeath is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

pity you could not do p-loss else you'd probably have got an mos of 4.4 or 4.41

ref the graph above yours, not too good on jitter if im honest the blue area should be as small as possible else its shows a "jumpy" connection. Probably because of the superslug. I had the same, changed to a VNMG300 and the blue area is tiny by comparison.
Hiddendeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 09:55   #185
craigj2k12
Sell me this pen....
Snake Champion
 
craigj2k12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stafford
Posts: 4,221
craigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appeal
craigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiddendeath View Post
pity you could not do p-loss else you'd probably have got an mos of 4.4 or 4.41
im working on it! the firewall here seems to be pretty strict, I cant even do a ping to bbc in cmd, looking for a workaround!

---------- Post added at 10:55 ---------- Previous post was at 10:52 ----------

Code:
PS C:\Windows\system32> ping www.bbc.co.uk

Pinging www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.244.68] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.244.68: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=48
Reply from 212.58.244.68: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=48
Reply from 212.58.244.68: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=48
Reply from 212.58.244.68: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=48

Ping statistics for 212.58.244.68:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 12ms, Average = 10ms
craigj2k12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 15:29   #186
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,862
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)





I'll post the TBB monitor after it's run a while.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 16:42   #187
pabscars
Inactive
 
pabscars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: warrington
Age: 46
Services: TiVo, 75 Smeg Broadband
Posts: 2,199
pabscars has reached the bronze age
pabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze age
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Looking good so far pip
__________________
"If it aint broke, modify and make it better"


It be reet
pabscars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 17:49   #188
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,862
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Certainly does.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 19:38   #189
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 39
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,834
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

yeah doesnt look bad and I guess the kit you using beats the superhub :p
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 20:05   #190
craigj2k12
Sell me this pen....
Snake Champion
 
craigj2k12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stafford
Posts: 4,221
craigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appeal
craigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

the homehub is on par with the superhub, but probably has reliable firmware. I think pip mentioned he was going to use his own router, with the bt infinity modem
craigj2k12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 20:38   #191
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,862
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I'm using the homehub ATM just to put it through its paces to see how it performs.

My own router is on standby and will eventually be connected (in a couple of days).

As I still have VM till the end of the month I want to compare both hubs. Just out of interest of course.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 21:57   #192
pabscars
Inactive
 
pabscars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: warrington
Age: 46
Services: TiVo, 75 Smeg Broadband
Posts: 2,199
pabscars has reached the bronze age
pabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze age
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Got to laugh, just rang TS to ask what the current DS load is on my UBR, as the TBB ping monitor looks poor, apparently its currently running close to 100% but not high enough to warrant a flag up.

To add to this the SNR is too low (20) which is just compounding the issue.

When I get Sky BB installed in a couple of weeks time I'm planning on running it along side VM's 10 Mbps superior fibre optic service just for kick's.

[img]Download Failed (1)[/img]


So if your TBB monitor looks anything like the above, its time to jump ship me thinks
__________________
"If it aint broke, modify and make it better"


It be reet
pabscars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 22:02   #193
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 39
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,834
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

either you got fobbed off or that is one of the silliest capacity management policies ever. A link will degrade way before 100% utilisation. When consider as well upgrades take VM about half a year the flag should be set way below 100% as there is obviously growth between approval and when the work is done.

Take it to the CEO office, they may also try to fob you off initially but if you hound them enough they will back down and approve some kind of upgrade. Insist on a discount if anything it will give them an incentive to fix it.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 22:28   #194
pabscars
Inactive
 
pabscars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: warrington
Age: 46
Services: TiVo, 75 Smeg Broadband
Posts: 2,199
pabscars has reached the bronze age
pabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze agepabscars has reached the bronze age
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Chrys, been trying to get the CEO's office to comment on the utilisation for a few weeks now but it's like pulling teeth, I agree this stupid 100% rule has been mentioned to me a few times now and it is just ludicrous.

I've been sending them my TBB monitor results almost daily to no avail, running traceroutes last night showed the congestion to be on my first hop again proving a utilisation issue.

It really is disgusting behaviour from a company the size of VM, you would think with BT Infinity snapping at their heels they would be a little more professional about there approach to high utilisation
__________________
"If it aint broke, modify and make it better"


It be reet
pabscars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 22:33   #195
_wtf_
Inactive
 
Join Date: May 2008
Services: BT Phone & Infinty, FreesatHD, Freeview, LOVEFiLM, NetFlix, Virgin Mobile
Posts: 240
_wtf_ has disabled reputation
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pabscars View Post
Got to laugh, just rang TS to ask what the current DS load is on my UBR, as the TBB ping monitor looks poor, apparently its currently running close to 100% but not high enough to warrant a flag up.

To add to this the SNR is too low (20) which is just compounding the issue.

When I get Sky BB installed in a couple of weeks time I'm planning on running it along side VM's 10 Mbps superior fibre optic service just for kick's.

[img]Download Failed (1)[/img]


So if your TBB monitor looks anything like the above, its time to jump ship me thinks
How do you get to speak to people?

All I get is the standard off shore CS telling me to unplug my modem blah blah blah.

The last time they rang me back after I enquired about cancelling, I got one off shore lady telling me yes you're right your service is very poor I will put you on to our dedicated 50MB team.

The off shore lady from the dedicated team then proceeded to tell me there is nothing wrong with my connection and to unplug my modem.

Not once have any of the off shore people ever listened to what I have to say.

I actually bought a Freesat receiver on Sat and plugged it into my Sky dish and connected it upstairs. WOW what a picture, even my TV service was crap. I've unplugged all my Virgin boxes when I get a moment I'll be ringing and cancelling my TV altogether.
_wtf_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:04.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.