Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

24 downstream channels?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2017, 14:19   #1
olisun
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 72
olisun is on a distinguished roadolisun is on a distinguished road
24 downstream channels?

I just connected my new SH3 after being "pushed" from the Gamer 200 to the VIVID 300 product and when I look at the DS channels I have got 24 of them..

Also the power level seem to be a big high?

Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 6 38.9 256 qam 21
2 323000000 6.5 38.9 256 qam 24
3 315000000 6 38.9 256 qam 23
4 307000000 5.9 38.9 256 qam 22
5 291000000 5.3 38.9 256 qam 20
6 283000000 5.8 38.6 256 qam 19
7 275000000 5.9 38.6 256 qam 18
8 267000000 5.8 38.6 256 qam 17
9 259000000 5.4 38.9 256 qam 16
10 251000000 4.8 38.6 256 qam 15
11 243000000 4.6 38.6 256 qam 14
12 235000000 4.9 38.6 256 qam 13
13 227000000 5 38.6 256 qam 12
14 219000000 4.9 38.6 256 qam 11
15 211000000 4.9 38.9 256 qam 10
16 203000000 5 38.6 256 qam 9
17 195000000 4.8 38.9 256 qam 8
18 187000000 5 38.9 256 qam 7
19 179000000 5.4 38.6 256 qam 6
20 171000000 5 38.9 256 qam 5
21 163000000 5.4 38.9 256 qam 4
22 155000000 5.1 38.9 256 qam 3
23 147000000 5 38.6 256 qam 2
24 139000000 5.1 38.6 256 qam 1
olisun is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 08-12-2017, 15:09   #2
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,376
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by olisun View Post
I just connected my new SH3 after being "pushed" from the Gamer 200 to the VIVID 300 product and when I look at the DS channels I have got 24 of them..

Also the power level seem to be a big high?

Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 6 38.9 256 qam 21
2 323000000 6.5 38.9 256 qam 24
3 315000000 6 38.9 256 qam 23
4 307000000 5.9 38.9 256 qam 22
5 291000000 5.3 38.9 256 qam 20
6 283000000 5.8 38.6 256 qam 19
7 275000000 5.9 38.6 256 qam 18
8 267000000 5.8 38.6 256 qam 17
9 259000000 5.4 38.9 256 qam 16
10 251000000 4.8 38.6 256 qam 15
11 243000000 4.6 38.6 256 qam 14
12 235000000 4.9 38.6 256 qam 13
13 227000000 5 38.6 256 qam 12
14 219000000 4.9 38.6 256 qam 11
15 211000000 4.9 38.9 256 qam 10
16 203000000 5 38.6 256 qam 9
17 195000000 4.8 38.9 256 qam 8
18 187000000 5 38.9 256 qam 7
19 179000000 5.4 38.6 256 qam 6
20 171000000 5 38.9 256 qam 5
21 163000000 5.4 38.9 256 qam 4
22 155000000 5.1 38.9 256 qam 3
23 147000000 5 38.6 256 qam 2
24 139000000 5.1 38.6 256 qam 1
My power levels on my 24 channels range from as low as 6 DbMv to 12.8 DbMv. The mean and mode are about 10. The SNR is about 40.

Everything functions well, except that I have a noisy TBB graph.
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 19:13   #3
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,009
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Olisun those power levels are fine. Anything up to +7 is within optimum spec.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 06:42   #4
olisun
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 72
olisun is on a distinguished roadolisun is on a distinguished road
Re: 24 downstream channels?

thanks
olisun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 14:36   #5
jcm193
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 124
jcm193 will become famous soon enoughjcm193 will become famous soon enoughjcm193 will become famous soon enough
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Out of interest is there a reason why some people have 24 downstream channels and some have 16 I have 16 and iam on vivid 350 here
jcm193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 14:41   #6
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 320
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcm193 View Post
Out of interest is there a reason why some people have 24 downstream channels and some have 16 I have 16 and iam on vivid 350 here
Would guess that it's down to whether 24 downstream channels are needed to cope with the load on the network. If 16 are sufficient, then VM don't need to add more capacity by going to 24, if it's not needed. It's there as an option though.
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 15:22   #7
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,009
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon22 View Post
Would guess that it's down to whether 24 downstream channels are needed to cope with the load on the network. If 16 are sufficient, then VM don't need to add more capacity by going to 24, if it's not needed. It's there as an option though.
exactly
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 03:23   #8
Aye Up
Barking up the wrong tree
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manchester
Age: 34
Services: Sky+HD Cinema & Sports VM Phone & 200Mb Gamer, BT Phone Line & Broadband YouView
Posts: 45
Aye Up will become famous soon enoughAye Up will become famous soon enoughAye Up will become famous soon enough
Re: 24 downstream channels?

I'm on VIVID 300/350 and have 20 downstream channels, along with 4 upstream. The latter being something not seen as much I think network wide.
Aye Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 08:26   #9
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 66
Services: XL Phone, XXL 350mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 1,930
alanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant future
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Ive got 24 down and 4 up here in Swansea.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 15:57   #10
JordanTheToaster
I Toast Bread
 
JordanTheToaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bath
Age: 20
Services: Vivid 350?
Posts: 236
JordanTheToaster is on a distinguished roadJordanTheToaster is on a distinguished road
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Just woke up and my thinkbroadband monitor went full red so I checked the IP and it changed along with me going from 20 to 24 down and now on 3 up 1 64 1 32 1 16.
__________________
JordanTheToaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2017, 23:39   #11
Horizon
Media Watcher
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Essex
Services: Sky, Cable & Freeview
Posts: 1,969
Horizon has reached the bronze age
Horizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze age
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Still on 8 downstream channels in my area. I guess I'm in the slums/chavs part of the VM network...
__________________
https://www.forumbox.co.uk
The UK's Leading Social Media Network
Horizon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2017, 02:10   #12
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 55
Services: VM Phone : Sky TV : VM Cable (350 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,691
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Still on 24 Down, 2 Up Here.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2017, 02:31   #13
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,009
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Horizon View Post
Still on 8 downstream channels in my area. I guess I'm in the slums/chavs part of the VM network...
I doubt it. Are you using a shub2?
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2017, 05:30   #14
broadbandking
cf.mega poster
 
broadbandking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At My Desk
Services: Virgin Media Tivo XL TV - 200Mb Broadband
Posts: 2,976
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
Olisun those power levels are fine. Anything up to +7 is within optimum spec.
isn't it +10
__________________
My Broadband Ping
broadbandking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2017, 11:22   #15
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10,368
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 24 downstream channels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by broadbandking View Post
isn't it +10
My 24 channel range (slope) goes from +1.2 to +10.8, even after a cable re pull due to my TV signal it hasnt changed it, also had 2 engineers saying those levels are not an issue, and i get my full speed of over 150mbit all the time, so i think you maybe right.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:48.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.