Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Important: Your phone service is changing

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Fixed Phone Service

Important: Your phone service is changing
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-01-2023, 11:13   #1
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM M350 with Superhub4 (modem mode) > Anytime Chatter > No TV
Posts: 2,081
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Important: Your phone service is changing

I just had this email:

Quote:
On 13 April your current home phone service will stop working and be switched over to our fibre network. We will send you an adapter in the post which you’ll need to use to connect your home phone to your WiFi Hub so you can make and receive phone calls over our fibre network.
What you need to do
Keep an eye out for the adapter. It'll come with simple step-by-step instructions to help you get it set up. You’ll need to do this on or after 13 April.
Do you have any connected devices?
In the unlikely event there’s a power cut or a fibre network disruption, you won’t be able to make or receive calls and most connected devices (such as a burglar alarm linked to a control centre, a telecare device, or other phones connected to extension sockets) will be affected.
You’ll also need to contact your device provider and let them know about the switch to make sure they’re compatible with a fibre service.
I'm on modem mode, how am I supposed to connect my adaptor when only 1 port is usable (and it's connected to my mesh) or can I connect the adaptor to a spare ethernet port on another mesh unit? (is the adapter ethernet?)

Or does this mean bye bye landline - bit concerned.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 18-01-2023, 11:14   #2
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: 360 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,929
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

The two 'TEL' phone sockets on the back of the Hub are separate to the Ethernet ports and work in both Hub mode and Modem mode.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 11:20   #3
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM M350 with Superhub4 (modem mode) > Anytime Chatter > No TV
Posts: 2,081
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
The two 'TEL' phone sockets on the back of the Hub are separate to the Ethernet ports and work in both Hub mode and Modem mode.
OK, but can I use one of the ethernets on a mesh unit? the hub was never sited to facilitate a phone as well.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 11:22   #4
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: 360 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,929
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

No, it has to be one of the 'TEL' sockets on the Hub. Those sockets support standard phone cabling.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 12:22   #5
Ms NTL
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 653
Ms NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of societyMs NTL is a pillar of society
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

VM can install a back up battery for you so that in case of a fault with the Hub the phone can still be used to make emergency calls.
Ms NTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 13:18   #6
ianch99
cf.mega poster
 
ianch99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,460
ianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze array
ianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze arrayianch99 has a bronze array
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms NTL View Post
VM can install a back up battery for you so that in case of a fault with the Hub the phone can still be used to make emergency calls.
I find this post very funny Well put ..
__________________
Unifi Express + BT Whole Home WiFi | VM 1Gbps
ianch99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 13:32   #7
Inactive Digital
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Services: VM broadband, Stream, phone. Sky Q
Posts: 447
Inactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to behold
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

What happens if a customer doesn't want their phone and router in the same room?
Inactive Digital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 13:59   #8
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: 360 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,929
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

They can use a DECT wireless handset, use standard phone cabling to extend from the Hub, or Virgin Media can go out to amend the wiring if a customer doesn't want to do either of those.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 14:04   #9
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 61
Services: Flextel SIP : Sky Mobile : Sky Q TV : VM BB (1000 Mbps) : Aquiss FTTP (900 Mbps)
Posts: 27,900
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by techguyone View Post
Or does this mean bye bye landline - bit concerned.
When this happens around here, I will probably get rid of the phone line, as it will become no more useful than the various mobile connections I have (in fact, less useful, since they will still work in a power cut).

The question is, can this be done mid contract, without any cancellation charge ? [since they are making the change].
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 14:15   #10
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,660
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
When this happens around here, I will probably get rid of the phone line, as it will become no more useful than the various mobile connections I have (in fact, less useful, since they will still work in a power cut).

The question is, can this be done mid contract, without any cancellation charge ? [since they are making the change].
in my experience I have been allowed to change services mid contract on the grounds the contract is renewed. Not sure if this would be the case.
__________________
Is your muffin buttered? Would you like me to assign someone to butter your muffin?
Jaymoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 14:31   #11
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 73
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 4,373
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
When this happens around here, I will probably get rid of the phone line, as it will become no more useful than the various mobile connections I have (in fact, less useful, since they will still work in a power cut).

The question is, can this be done mid contract, without any cancellation charge ? [since they are making the change].
See what you say will the price reduce if you or I decided to get rid of it. Out of contract and have have no use of that type of phone
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 15:18   #12
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,660
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

got rid of my landline when VM stopped penalising customers for not having one
__________________
Is your muffin buttered? Would you like me to assign someone to butter your muffin?
Jaymoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 16:57   #13
Inactive Digital
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Services: VM broadband, Stream, phone. Sky Q
Posts: 447
Inactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to beholdInactive Digital is a splendid one to behold
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
They can use a DECT wireless handset, use standard phone cabling to extend from the Hub, or Virgin Media can go out to amend the wiring if a customer doesn't want to do either of those.
Interesting, thanks. Our landline is in the home office, tucked away and only receiving rare calls from elderly relatives, whereas the router is in the lounge so good to know the options as I'm probably not too far away from techguyone so it could affect me soon.
Inactive Digital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 17:14   #14
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM M350 with Superhub4 (modem mode) > Anytime Chatter > No TV
Posts: 2,081
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

My contract is up in Feb, I barely use TV, I might just take the opportunity to go Internet only, my mobile signal is crap but I use Wi-Fi Calling anyway, I might save a few quid.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2023, 17:26   #15
Media Boy UK
My post info may change
 
Media Boy UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy UK HQ
Posts: 14,786
Media Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Important: Your phone service is changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by techguyone View Post
I just had this email:

I'm on modem mode, how am I supposed to connect my adaptor when only 1 port is usable (and it's connected to my mesh) or can I connect the adaptor to a spare ethernet port on another mesh unit? (is the adapter ethernet?)

Or does this mean bye bye landline - bit concerned.
More information at:

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...h-p/Switchover
__________________
Blog - Updated May 2nd.
What may come - May 1st.
Also on X
Got inside news but can't post it - PM me with info
Media Boy UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:26.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.