Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Does downgrading put you into a new contract?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2018, 14:24   #16
Ken W
cf.mega poster
 
Ken W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Winnersh UK
Services: LL Phone, TiVo, M+ VM mobile, BBand 150M tier Superhub, TIVO 500 M+
Posts: 1,577
Ken W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
I've always found it is the acceptance of an offer which will tie you in to a new contract - not just changing the tier of the subscription.

It is not uncommon for the charge to go up if you remove something because of the way things are bundled.

I am out of contract.
I wanted to remove the TV part just leaving phone and BB but I was told the cost would increase as I had bundle.
Ken W is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 05-08-2018, 14:56   #17
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 7,260
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken W View Post
I am out of contract.
I wanted to remove the TV part just leaving phone and BB but I was told the cost would increase as I had bundle.
What problem is that? VM have always given discounts on bundles, you now longer wanted it so you lose the discount.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 16:02   #18
pengedragon
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Services: Full House, V6, Netflix, Spotify Premium, Sky Go Extra, Eleven Sports, PS4 , 100 meg bb
Posts: 349
pengedragon is just really nicepengedragon is just really nicepengedragon is just really nicepengedragon is just really nicepengedragon is just really nicepengedragon is just really nice
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken W View Post
I am out of contract.
I wanted to remove the TV part just leaving phone and BB but I was told the cost would increase as I had bundle.
So just take up their offer and don't plug the TV box in
pengedragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 16:23   #19
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6,218
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
I've always found it is the acceptance of an offer which will tie you in to a new contract - not just changing the tier of the subscription.

It is not uncommon for the charge to go up if you remove something because of the way things are bundled.
That's how I understood it to work, it's fair enough to introduce a new minimum term in return for an extra discount, but not for simply changing packages.

My intention would be to move down to the Player package, but if they're going to start playing games i'll cancel altogether as other TV suppliers are better and/or cheaper, I can do without a landline and I can get cheaper slower BB which would suit me fine.

---------- Post added at 16:23 ---------- Previous post was at 16:21 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pengedragon View Post
So just take up their offer and don't plug the TV box in
Yeah, there's nothing to say that you have to actually use the extra service that attracts the discount. I know of people who have never even plugged in a phone to their VM telephone socket!
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 17:11   #20
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 7,260
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

So what you are saying Richard is anyone can change the terms of any contract and it doesn't become a new one?

Could you explain further.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 12:10   #21
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6,218
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

The salient point of this thread is to find out if VM are now reintroducing a minimum term or not when customers change TV packages.

This never used to be the case, the only condition was that customers had to give 30 days notice as is still the case with Sky.

It's pointless ringing them to ask, if past experience is anything to go by, i'm more likely to be understood and obtain a correct answer by calling my local Tesco.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 12:26   #22
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 7,260
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

I'm sorry Richard but the salient point seems to be if by changing the terms of your existing contract (upgrade or downgrade) constitutes a change of contract.

Obviously it does and VM now have a policy of implementing it.

What used to happen or what others do is immaterial surely.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 12:36   #23
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6,218
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
I'm sorry Richard but the salient point seems to be if by changing the terms of your existing contract (upgrade or downgrade) constitutes a change of contract.

Obviously it does and VM now have a policy of implementing it.

What used to happen or what others do is immaterial surely.
So is it definetly now the case that VM reintroduce a minimum term as part of any new contract created when a TV package is changed?
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 13:11   #24
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 7,260
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
So is it definetly now the case that VM reintroduce a minimum term as part of any new contract created when a TV package is changed?
Only VM can answer that.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 13:27   #25
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 61
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 31,618
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
So is it definetly now the case that VM reintroduce a minimum term as part of any new contract created when a TV package is changed?
Why don't you ask them?
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 14:36   #26
Ken W
cf.mega poster
 
Ken W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Winnersh UK
Services: LL Phone, TiVo, M+ VM mobile, BBand 150M tier Superhub, TIVO 500 M+
Posts: 1,577
Ken W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pengedragon View Post
So just take up their offer and don't plug the TV box in


That is the package that I am on and as I don't what Virgin TV as I can get all that I watch via my aerial l wanted to drop VM TV side to save some money but they said I already get a discount, there Is no mention of the discount on my VM bill.
Ken W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 14:43   #27
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 7,260
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken W View Post
That is the package that I am on and as I don't what Virgin TV as I can get all that I watch via my aerial l wanted to drop VM TV side to save some money but they said I already get a discount, there Is no mention of the discount on my VM bill.
Then cancel the TV and pay the extra. It's not rocket science to see you are getting a bundle discount.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 16:12   #28
Mythica
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 257
Mythica is just really niceMythica is just really niceMythica is just really niceMythica is just really niceMythica is just really niceMythica is just really nice
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Or even easier, go on to the VM website and look at the prices.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 16:14   #29
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS & HDR) + VIVID350, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 775
ozsat is a name known to allozsat is a name known to allozsat is a name known to allozsat is a name known to allozsat is a name known to allozsat is a name known to allozsat is a name known to allozsat is a name known to all
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

My understanding when I spoke to them is that downgrading the package does not start a new contract term - but accepting an offer within that new package will.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 12:44   #30
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6,218
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Does downgrading put you into a new contract?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh View Post
Why don't you ask them?
It would take a very large leap of faith to think that you would be able to find the correct information by doing that. You're lucky if they understand what your saying and vice versa with that foreign call centre.

Like I said earlier, you probably have more chance of finding out the correct answer by calling Tesco!
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:03.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.