Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Cable damage

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Cable damage
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-06-2020, 16:36   #1
Maltloaf
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Maltloaf is an unknown quantity at this point
Cable damage

My father-in-law has virgin media, something that I am looking at getting myself. I noticed that his main incoming black signal cable that runs down along the site of his property at floor level has been damaged. The TV is still working fine but I suspect it's going to start causing issues when the whether gets worse. I have temporarily put installation tape over it. Does anyone know what the rules are will cable faults with virgin. Is it something that can be repaired DIY style? We could wait till it stops working but if we are going to fix it would rather do it whiles the weather is good.
Maltloaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 26-06-2020, 15:22   #2
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 10,812
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Cable damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maltloaf View Post
My father-in-law has virgin media, something that I am looking at getting myself. I noticed that his main incoming black signal cable that runs down along the site of his property at floor level has been damaged. The TV is still working fine but I suspect it's going to start causing issues when the whether gets worse. I have temporarily put installation tape over it. Does anyone know what the rules are will cable faults with virgin. Is it something that can be repaired DIY style? We could wait till it stops working but if we are going to fix it would rather do it whiles the weather is good.
My neighbour accidentally sliced through his cable last summer. He reported it to Virgin and they were out the next day.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2020, 19:09   #3
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,860
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Cable damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
My neighbour accidentally sliced through his cable last summer. He reported it to Virgin and they were out the next day.
Did they charge him?
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2020, 14:14   #4
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 10,812
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Cable damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Did they charge him?
I don't think they did, but I'll ask him next time I see him.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2020, 15:33   #5
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,860
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Cable damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
I don't think they did, but I'll ask him next time I see him.
Apparently, if they did, you can claim it back on your buildings insurance.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2020, 14:26   #6
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS), M500 (575/38.5), Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB+, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 1,130
ozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant futureozsat has a brilliant future
Re: Cable damage

After a possible excess and the fact you've made a claim - in the long run you may be worse off than just payiing up.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2020, 15:24   #7
Raider999
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,197
Raider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Cable damage

Contact Virgin, they own the equipment, it is down to them to maintain it.
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2020, 23:11   #8
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,860
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Cable damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
After a possible excess and the fact you've made a claim - in the long run you may be worse off than just payiing up.
Good point, it's not always worth claiming. Over the weekend I was searching for a better deal and they asked if I had made any claims in the past 5 years, so I wonder if you can escape this by changing companies or if the declaration of a claim (I have one and did declare it) pushes up the quote from the other insurance companies??
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 09:06   #9
Carth
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: At the Leaving door
Posts: 1,584
Carth has reached the bronze age
Carth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze ageCarth has reached the bronze age
Re: Cable damage

I think they all 'speak' to each other in this digital age.

I remember ringing around for car insurance ages ago, 3 of the companies I spoke to could pull my (then) current details up with minimum information from me.
__________________
'The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it' ~ T. Pratchett
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 11:28   #10
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,860
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Cable damage

I'm sure they can find out yes. By 'escape' I meant not be penalised for claiming because you hadn't actually claimed from the new company.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 12:04   #11
Raider999
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,197
Raider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Cable damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
I'm sure they can find out yes. By 'escape' I meant not be penalised for claiming because you hadn't actually claimed from the new company.
If you change insurance companies, you will be asked if you have made a claim within the last 3-5 years. Failure to disclose this is likely to mean your insurance will be nullified when they find out.
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 16:18   #12
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 10,812
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Cable damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
If you change insurance companies, you will be asked if you have made a claim within the last 3-5 years. Failure to disclose this is likely to mean your insurance will be nullified when they find out.
I think Richard means that if you had a damaged cable, you could change to Sky, BT or Talk Talk to avoid making a claim in the first place.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 18:19   #13
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 64
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 9,292
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Cable damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
I think Richard means that if you had a damaged cable, you could change to Sky, BT or Talk Talk to avoid making a claim in the first place.
I don't think so OB.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 19:10   #14
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,727
Mad Max has reached the bronze age
Mad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze age
Re: Cable damage

Let's be fair here, if you damage a cable, albeit by accident, you should pay for it to be repaired.
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 19:57   #15
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,186
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Cable damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Max View Post
Let's be fair here, if you damage a cable, albeit by accident, you should pay for it to be repaired.
True i guess.

Luckily when i cut through my cable VM came out and fixed it for free.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:44.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.