Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Assigning drive letters

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > General IT Discussion

Assigning drive letters
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-05-2020, 11:40   #1
Hom3r
Proud Ex EU Citizen.
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 51
Services: 1 V6, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, Ton's of Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 15,527
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Assigning drive letters

I have a USB stick that in my Windows 8.1 laptop I have assigned a drive leter in disk management to "E".

Now I want to remove this and let windows auto assign a drive letter, but all I can appear to do is assign letters manually.

Any ideas how I solve this?

I've tried google.
__________________
STAY AT HOME: I found out that mum will never walk again as the coronavirus attacked her nervous system. . Twitter Facebook
My Blog
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 17-05-2020, 12:25   #2
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 64
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 9,225
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Assigning drive letters

You can do it with windows 7. Click on the orb right click Computer, select Manage, Disk Management.

Left click on usb drive select change drive letter and paths, click remove.

I would assume the same can be done in Win 8 once you get to disk management.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2020, 12:59   #3
Hom3r
Proud Ex EU Citizen.
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 51
Services: 1 V6, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, Ton's of Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 15,527
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Assigning drive letters

I have tried the remove option, but the drive is then not available as there is no drive letter.

I have unplugged the USB stick and put back in but it doesn't assign one.
__________________
STAY AT HOME: I found out that mum will never walk again as the coronavirus attacked her nervous system. . Twitter Facebook
My Blog
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2020, 13:03   #4
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 16,815
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Assigning drive letters

Have to restarted your computer in between removing the current assignment and then plugging the USB drive in again
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2020, 13:26   #5
Hom3r
Proud Ex EU Citizen.
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 51
Services: 1 V6, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, Ton's of Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 15,527
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Assigning drive letters

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
Have to restarted your computer in between removing the current assignment and then plugging the USB drive in again

No, but I'll try now

---------- Post added at 13:26 ---------- Previous post was at 13:18 ----------

Didn't work.


When I plug the drive in it makes a noise but thats it.


When I assign the drive letter it then opens the drive, and it is then visable in My PC.
__________________
STAY AT HOME: I found out that mum will never walk again as the coronavirus attacked her nervous system. . Twitter Facebook
My Blog
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2020, 13:37   #6
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 16,815
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Assigning drive letters

So these instructions are for Windows 10, but may work for Windows 8.1 too

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html

---------- Post added at 13:37 ---------- Previous post was at 13:32 ----------

Thinking about it as well, there is something 'sticking' in the system somewhere, so you may get some mileage is uninstalling the USB drive in device manager too when it's connected.

So that all references to the hardware ID are forgotten by Windows so that next time you connect it, it sees it as a brand new device.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:36.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.