Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | When will we see another speed upgrade?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

When will we see another speed upgrade?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2018, 12:42   #31
Westyfield2
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 6
Westyfield2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

I wonder at what point they'll differentiate between Coax cable areas and Project Lightning FTTP areas and bin all the RFoG converters?
Westyfield2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 09-11-2018, 19:32   #32
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,011
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

Yeah, i punt a fair amount of data up to Azure each night (PC backups) so having upload is more priority for me. The download is generally fast enough for everything except for games, and half the time the speeds you get from PSN/XBL are limited by their networks, not VM's.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 08:17   #33
rtho782
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 104
rtho782 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

For downloads from steam, VM are definitely the limiting factor.

I'd definitely love more upload though. It's awful for backups and remote streaming right now.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 08:44   #34
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10,789
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skie View Post
Yeah, i punt a fair amount of data up to Azure each night (PC backups) so having upload is more priority for me. The download is generally fast enough for everything except for games, and half the time the speeds you get from PSN/XBL are limited by their networks, not VM's.

On my PS4 i get around 170mbit wired on a 200mbit VM connection and 35mbit wireless from 12foot away, based on the PS4s short network speed test.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
How to post a Youtube video on CF[youtube]video code[/youtube ]
SnoopZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 08:52   #35
rtho782
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 104
rtho782 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
On my PS4 i get around 170mbit wired on a 200mbit VM connection and 35mbit wireless from 12foot away, based on the PS4s short network speed test.
Steam and newsgroups give me 385mbit or so over cable, and steam on my laptop does similar over wireless, but then I'm only using the hub 3.0 in modem mode and have ubiquiti access points for WiFi.

It's entirely possible to use more speed, even on wireless.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 17:58   #36
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,422
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

In Coventry, where Vodaphone have started installing their FTTP network there is a driver for Virgin and others to increase headline speeds. Vodaphone will be offering 1Gb up and down for 50 a month to residential customers. Although VM have already installed FTTP across swathes of south Coventry, it is pegged back to 350Mb. Surely VM will have to do something about this.
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 350Mb /20mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 18:11   #37
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,435
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

Ya but i cant see it any time soon. I am expecting 500 or 600mbits at the end of next year.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 20:33   #38
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 5,820
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

There is no market pressure for faster speeds. When there is, mon General's expectation will be fulfilled.

For upstream, they have to ensure really clean channels, and that's the limiting factor at the moment, imo.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 20:44   #39
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,435
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

Buuuut, will that condition/limitation still apply. I havent read up on the difference between docsis 3 and 3.1 but i can remember saying channels wont exist as we currently know it. I am assuming the basics still apply with regards to frequencies and noise etc.

I am expecting massive jumps in tiers though once they start rolling 3.1 out which should be next year.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 20:53   #40
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 5,820
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

Have a read, mon General:

https://volpefirm.com/docsis-3-1-plant/

Let us know what you think about channels.

But, as I said before, there is no competitive pressure in the UK to go to DOCSIS 3.1.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 21:32   #41
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,435
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
there is no competitive pressure in the UK to go to DOCSIS 3.1.
That may be so but it is the right thing to do to move technology forward
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2018, 17:20   #42
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 5,820
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: When will we see another speed upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
That may be so but it is the right thing to do to move technology forward
Technology moving forward doesn't mean the public have to get it until the commercial pressures force VM to do it. They've got the technology - it's moved forward, mon General.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
Biffs
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:18.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.