Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Hub 5 at no extra cost

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Hub 5 at no extra cost
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-10-2021, 18:26   #1
2pence
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Services: M350 Fibre
Posts: 58
2pence is an unknown quantity at this point
Hub 5 at no extra cost

Just got the email that the new Hub 5 is now available at no extra cost, so I went ahead and claimed mine. I'm currently on the Superhub 3.

I presume I can replace the Superhub 3 with this new Hub 5, correct?
__________________
Hub 5.0 | Router Mode | M350 Fibre

Last edited by 2pence; 18-10-2021 at 18:29.
2pence is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 18-10-2021, 18:52   #2
rtho782
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 298
rtho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nice
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Hub 5? Don't you mean 4?
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2021, 19:04   #3
2pence
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Services: M350 Fibre
Posts: 58
2pence is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtho782 View Post
Hub 5? Don't you mean 4?
Here's a screenshot: https://prnt.sc/1wmqr6o
__________________
Hub 5.0 | Router Mode | M350 Fibre
2pence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2021, 19:22   #4
rtho782
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 298
rtho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nice
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

So, nothing seems to have been officially announced. The picture you've posted looks similar to the new mini TV box, so seems legit.

Previously they have rebranded and reboxed Arris Touchstone devices. If this is what they have done again, then this could well be a TG9452 - seems the most likely upgrade path.

This would provide 1x2.5GbE port, 802.11ax wifi, and most excitingly, a BCM3390 SoC rather than the intel puma trash of the hub 3 + 4.

Here's hoping!
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2021, 20:14   #5
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXXL Gig1 BB SH4 (wired).
Posts: 2,601
alanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these parts
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

I wonder if this hub will be offered to everyone on Gig1.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2021, 22:26   #6
gordon861
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 9
gordon861 is on a distinguished roadgordon861 is on a distinguished road
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
I wonder if this hub will be offered to everyone on Gig1.
I got the email today, I'm only on 200Mps.

No idea why, totally out of the blue, not signed up to any betas or anything.
gordon861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2021, 03:35   #7
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXXL Gig1 BB SH4 (wired).
Posts: 2,601
alanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these parts
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Its worth asking them i suppose, i will ring them tomorrow.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2021, 10:13   #8
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,422
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2pence View Post
I presume I can replace the Superhub 3 with this new Hub 5, correct?
Yes. You should get instructions with it.

---------- Post added at 09:13 ---------- Previous post was at 09:12 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
I wonder if this hub will be offered to everyone on Gig1.
No, because people on Gig1 will already have an almost new Hub 4.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2021, 10:30   #9
crazyronnie
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NW London
Services: TiVo V6 1TB x2, XL TV, M Phone, SuperHub 3 @ 200/20Mb
Posts: 355
crazyronnie is on a distinguished roadcrazyronnie is on a distinguished road
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Details here on ispreview

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.ph...-5-router.html
__________________
What does god need with a Star Ship?
crazyronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2021, 12:28   #10
gordon861
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 9
gordon861 is on a distinguished roadgordon861 is on a distinguished road
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Thanks, but very light on any new details, looks like one of the sources of his info is my report on the forum.

---------- Post added at 11:28 ---------- Previous post was at 09:59 ----------

OK some updates, copied from my thread on the VM Community forums.
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...5/td-p/4846270

I spoke to VM Customer Services, who were adamant that Hub5 did not exist, and went away to check and confirm. I then gave them the URL from the email, the response was even more confusion on their end, and went away again.

As far as they are concerned this thing doesn't exist and they didn't send me an email, but the info is on their website.

I have requested the new hub5 online and it should be here on Monday, should be fun.
gordon861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2021, 12:46   #11
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,128
Jaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of societyJaymoss is a pillar of society
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Wifi 6 on router and Oculus Quest 2 so would have to add it to my PC but then maybe Air Link will work so if I get offered the router I would take it
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2021, 18:03   #12
gordon861
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 9
gordon861 is on a distinguished roadgordon861 is on a distinguished road
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Well VM Forum MODs seem to have deleted the thread from their forums now.
gordon861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2021, 18:35   #13
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 1.2Gb/55Mb, VMTV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD/HDR, DAB+
Posts: 1,503
ozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these parts
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

It's nice when they do that with no explanation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gordon861 View Post
Well VM Forum MODs seem to have deleted the thread from their forums now.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2021, 18:38   #14
RobboEdin
cf.mega poster
 
RobboEdin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,001
RobboEdin has reached the bronze age
RobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze age
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Perhaps itís been moved to a closed trial group on the forum?
RobboEdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2021, 18:54   #15
joglynne
Born again teenager.
 
joglynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manchester. (VM area 20)
Age: 73
Services: Full House (XL), Vivid 200, Phone Talk Anytime
Posts: 13,020
joglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aura
joglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aura
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobboEdin View Post
Perhaps it’s been moved to a closed trial group on the forum?
Could well be what has happened but if that is the case it would have been 'nice' if the VM mods had let Gordon know.

They could always have added the information then closed down the thread to ensure no further sensitive comments would be posted........ or just sent him a message.
__________________
"I intend to live forever, or die trying" - Groucho Marx..... "but whilst I do I shall do so disgracefully." Jo Glynne
joglynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:35.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.