Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Vodaphone/City Fibre Gigafast router. Modem-only mode?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Other ISPs Discussion

Vodaphone/City Fibre Gigafast router. Modem-only mode?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-04-2021, 17:04   #1
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1GB /50mb, TV V6x2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,629
roughbeast has reached the bronze age
roughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze age
Vodaphone/City Fibre Gigafast router. Modem-only mode?

I'm looking into switching from VM to a combination of Vodaphone Gigafas with standalone Sky TV. Currently, I use my own router set up using a GT AX11000 with AiMesh for all routing and WiFi.

Will the Vodaphone router allow modem-only mode? If not, is there a workaround?

My question is working under the assumption that the Gigafast modem/router isn't up to much for those of us who want to do more with our routers, but I see from videos that it does have port forwarding capability and VPN, although I'm not sure of the security standard of the VPN. Perhaps the kit is good enough for me to give up on having my own router arrangement, especially given that Vodaphone provide their own WiFi boosters for full house coverage.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ub1D...odafoneIreland
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1Gb /50Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH4 in modem mode with GT-AX11000
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 04-05-2021, 12:16   #2
bobna
cf.addict
 
bobna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 119
bobna is a jewel in the roughbobna is a jewel in the roughbobna is a jewel in the roughbobna is a jewel in the roughbobna is a jewel in the rough
Re: Vodaphone/City Fibre Gigafast router. Modem-only mode?

i've had voda/cityfibre for around a year now, the router is basic... as for modem-only mode, no there's no option for that.
you can however use your own router, baring a few settings and inputs, which will give you the options you are wanting.
the work around is to have a router which you can change the vlan setting to 911, according to this forum post(s) i found. https://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Othe...s/td-p/2614887
the posts don't really explain much but is a start.
personally for me i have kind of got used to using the vodaphone router, although i have split the wifi channels as when they were combined i had quite a low signal level.
another problem i had with the router and still have, some devices such as nowtv sticks, fire tablets and i think one of my laptops absolutely refuses to see the 5ghz network and are stuck with the 2.4ghz, i can only suspect that the devices are looking for a lower channel than the router is putting the 5ghz on which on mine is up in the 120 range... the devices are looking for the lower 40-80 range and as it's a basic router i can't change that setting.. used to be able to but after a forced firmware update that option was removed...
bottom line the router is crap, but if you want to use the phone line which comes with it you have to use it..
sorry for the long post and i know it was a while when it was posted but i've only just seen it

steve
bobna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 12:50   #3
Jaymoss
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 281
Jaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation era
Re: Vodaphone/City Fibre Gigafast router. Modem-only mode?

can you not just turn the wifi off on the basic router ?
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:09.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.