Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Netflix Issue

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Netflix Issue
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-08-2019, 15:48   #1
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 56
Services: VM Phone : VM Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 22,614
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Netflix Issue

When we try to use Netflix on the V6, we just get an error.

Netflix is connecting to the UNKNOWN.

Error code V312.

Anyone know whats going on, or how to fix it ?
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 18-08-2019, 16:06   #2
newapollo
cf.member
 
newapollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 56
newapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Netflix Issue

According to the community forums of VM it's a network error, and the following workaround has fixed it for most people.

Quote:
Access your Virgin Media account online
go to myapps
go to web safe
turn on both the virus and child safe options
restart your V6 box
test your internet on the V6, youtube / iplayer
launch your netflix app, login
turn off your child safe option, suggest leaving on the virus one though.
your netflix should now be working
newapollo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2019, 16:12   #3
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 56
Services: VM Phone : VM Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 22,614
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Netflix Issue

I dont have that enabled anyway.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2019, 20:33   #4
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 68
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.
Posts: 2,762
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: Netflix Issue

Mine is fine on all day.
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2019, 21:07   #5
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,634
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Netflix Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by newapollo View Post
According to the community forums of VM it's a network error, and the following workaround has fixed it for most people.
That's out of date info. It doesn't apply any more.

Have you changed your DNS server from the VM one, Paul? If so, change it back then reboot your V6. If it's not that, do you have anything else unusual about your broadband config?
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2019, 03:01   #6
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 56
Services: VM Phone : VM Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 22,614
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Netflix Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
Have you changed your DNS server from the VM one, Paul?
Yes, I dont use VM DNS at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
If so, change it back then reboot your V6.
Hmmm ..... ok.
I will try it, but I am not going to stay on Virgin DNS.
Why would it need that ? All dns is (should be) the same.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2019, 08:39   #7
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,634
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Netflix Issue

The V6 Netflix app gets its keys via a DNS entry that only exists in the VM servers. Don't shoot the messenger!
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2019, 09:33   #8
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS), VIVID500/35, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB+, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 985
ozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud of
Re: Netflix Issue

It used to be that you only had to use the VM DNS to get Netflix authorised first time - once registered you could go back to a custom DNS. But that may have changed now.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2019, 10:48   #9
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,634
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Netflix Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
It used to be that you only had to use the VM DNS to get Netflix authorised first time - once registered you could go back to a custom DNS. But that may have changed now.
That is still true, but I don't know how long it stays working after you've changed the DNS.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2019, 11:48   #10
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS), VIVID500/35, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB+, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 985
ozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud of
Re: Netflix Issue

I use OpenDNS -but because of the TiVo issues ended up having to set OpenDNS on each device and leaving my router set to the VM-DNS.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2019, 12:08   #11
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 56
Services: VM Phone : VM Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 22,614
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Netflix Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
The V6 Netflix app gets its keys via a DNS entry that only exists in the VM servers.
That sounds typical of VM stupidity.

I temp switched dns to VM, and it did work, Netflix loaded ok.

I have now switched back, so I guess we will see what happens.

Thanks for the tip.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2019, 12:37   #12
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,634
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Netflix Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
That sounds typical of VM stupidity.
It's a Liberty Global thing. Each country has a different DNS entry for the same hostname.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:29.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.