Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-09-2021, 18:27   #1
Rillington
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Services: Virgin Media, DAB
Posts: 683
Rillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud of
Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

VM hlghlights Pluto TV in its showreel which plays when you are are accessing on demand content, yet it is not available to customers who have the Tivo box. Does anyone know why Pluto TV is not available to customers who have the Tivo box?
Rillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 13-09-2021, 19:35   #2
ScottishSteve
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 326
ScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

It is also still not on the 360 service either.
As TiVo is only given in circumstances where a customer doesn’t take virgin broadband I can5 see much more being added going forward.
ScottishSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2021, 19:35   #3
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 12,385
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

If that's the case, they've withdrawn it since I had my Tivo box about eight months ago. The app worked, and I went through the channels to see what was available.

We don't have Pluto TV on the 360 box, althogh there are Pluto channels.

Are you looking for this as a stand alone app? It should be on the My5 app. Press the red button to access the channels when into My5 - Pluto TV and other Pluto channels should be on there.
__________________
Forumbox.co.uk
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2021, 20:59   #4
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,927
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rillington View Post
VM hlghlights Pluto TV in its showreel which plays when you are are accessing on demand content, yet it is not available to customers who have the Tivo box. Does anyone know why Pluto TV is not available to customers who have the Tivo box?
The Original VM Tivo is probably too slow to run it so it's only on the faster V6 Tivo-powered boxes.

---------- Post added at 20:59 ---------- Previous post was at 20:58 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
If that's the case, they've withdrawn it since I had my Tivo box about eight months ago. The app worked, and I went through the channels to see what was available.

We don't have Pluto TV on the 360 box, althogh there are Pluto channels.

Are you looking for this as a stand alone app? It should be on the My5 app. Press the red button to access the channels when into My5 - Pluto TV and other Pluto channels should be on there.
I thought you had a V6 Old Boy before you switched?
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2021, 23:03   #5
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 12,385
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekyangus View Post
The Original VM Tivo is probably too slow to run it so it's only on the faster V6 Tivo-powered boxes.

---------- Post added at 20:59 ---------- Previous post was at 20:58 ----------



I thought you had a V6 Old Boy before you switched?
Oh, God, yes. It was run on TiVo software, so thatís what I was thinking - but yes, I had two V6s. I thought the old boxes had all the main terrestrial streamers, though.
__________________
Forumbox.co.uk
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2021, 19:35   #6
Rillington
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Services: Virgin Media, DAB
Posts: 683
Rillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud of
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

I'm surprised that Pluto TV isn't on the 360 boxes.
Rillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2021, 21:13   #7
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 12,385
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rillington View Post
I'm surprised that Pluto TV isn't on the 360 boxes.
Some of the Pluto channels are, though. I donít think weíre missing much.
__________________
Forumbox.co.uk
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2021, 18:59   #8
Rillington
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Services: Virgin Media, DAB
Posts: 683
Rillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud of
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekyangus View Post
The Original VM Tivo is probably too slow to run it so it's only on the faster V6 Tivo-powered boxes.
YouTube, The BBC iPlayer and the STV Player are there so i don't see why Pluto TV isn't, given that you pay for the service as part of your subscription regardless of whether you watch it, and in this case regardless of whether you can access it.
Rillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2021, 22:55   #9
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,927
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rillington View Post
YouTube, The BBC iPlayer and the STV Player are there so i don't see why Pluto TV isn't, given that you pay for the service as part of your subscription regardless of whether you watch it, and in this case regardless of whether you can access it.
It's the broadcasters who have to decide whether it's worthwhile to provide the resources necessary to create and maintain for each platform. If they are on the original Tivo already it requires less effort to get it working on the V6. Those broadcasters that arrive to the platform later may just look at the user numbers and the age of the hardware and see little benefit to the effort and expense required.

There's been no indication VM forward subscription funds to app creators on an ongoing basis.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2021, 23:16   #10
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 350Mb, V6 STB
Posts: 7,093
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

I received an email yesterday from VM about the apps, and it included Pluto TV. I tried it and was thrown by the appearance of a showreel and nothing else.
Pressed buttons such as Up, Down, and OK, and more info popped up, including an EPG just for Pluto Live TV.
Needs info on screen when starting so people know what to do. Otherwise people will think that there isn't anything there, as I did first time around.
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2021, 23:54   #11
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,927
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
I received an email yesterday from VM about the apps, and it included Pluto TV. I tried it and was thrown by the appearance of a showreel and nothing else.
Pressed buttons such as Up, Down, and OK, and more info popped up, including an EPG just for Pluto Live TV.
Needs info on screen when starting so people know what to do. Otherwise people will think that there isn't anything there, as I did first time around.
It didn't used to be quite like that, they've made it more confusing.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2021, 18:01   #12
Rillington
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Services: Virgin Media, DAB
Posts: 683
Rillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud ofRillington has much to be proud of
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
I received an email yesterday from VM about the apps, and it included Pluto TV. I tried it and was thrown by the appearance of a showreel and nothing else.
Pressed buttons such as Up, Down, and OK, and more info popped up, including an EPG just for Pluto Live TV.
Needs info on screen when starting so people know what to do. Otherwise people will think that there isn't anything there, as I did first time around.
Were you able to access Pluto TV, and which box do you have?
Rillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2021, 19:04   #13
braysoj1
cf.geek
 
braysoj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Keighley (west yorkshire)
Age: 31
Services: virgin media xl , freeview, sky
Posts: 783
braysoj1 is a name known to allbraysoj1 is a name known to allbraysoj1 is a name known to allbraysoj1 is a name known to allbraysoj1 is a name known to allbraysoj1 is a name known to allbraysoj1 is a name known to allbraysoj1 is a name known to all
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

Looked on the box I’m beta testing and nothing on there
braysoj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2021, 20:02   #14
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 350Mb, V6 STB
Posts: 7,093
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: Pluto TV not available to Tivo customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rillington View Post
Were you able to access Pluto TV, and which box do you have?
V6.
Do you get anything? IE A programme without any other detail or instructions. Mine "tunes" in to the "Highway to Heaven" channel with the TV series of that same name.
Press "OK" and you should get a menu with "Live TV", "On Demand", "Settings", and "Privacy Policy".
Haven't yet figured out how you're meant to move along in time on the "Live TV" EPG, so can't see what's on in the future. Even the web based app can't do it.
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:27.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.