Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2022, 11:39   #1
buckeye
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 203
buckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nice
VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

As my contract was finishing this month I decided to get one of the new VM Stream devices in my new package as the free channel line up is better than I get from Freeview,
for this purpose it works pretty well, however I have to login to all my apps (Netflix, Disney, Iplayer etc) after every time it goes into standby or is rebooted, it also loses its settings if its rebooted or power is interrupted.
Does anyone know if this is normal behaviour from a badly designed device or if my one is faulty?
I have currently been on the phone to VM's customer services for over half an hour about this and am getting nowhere!

Edit:
I've now been told there is an area fault causing this even though its not affecting Stream devices!

Last edited by buckeye; 07-05-2022 at 11:50.
buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 07-05-2022, 12:39   #2
jfman
Architect of Ideas
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,796
jfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze array
jfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze array
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

That explanation doesn't sound very legit if your internet is working.
jfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 13:26   #3
RichardCoulter
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9,186
RichardCoulter has ruffled too many feathersRichardCoulter has ruffled too many feathersRichardCoulter has ruffled too many feathersRichardCoulter has ruffled too many feathersRichardCoulter has ruffled too many feathersRichardCoulter has ruffled too many feathers
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckeye View Post
As my contract was finishing this month I decided to get one of the new VM Stream devices in my new package as the free channel line up is better than I get from Freeview,
for this purpose it works pretty well, however I have to login to all my apps (Netflix, Disney, Iplayer etc) after every time it goes into standby or is rebooted, it also loses its settings if its rebooted or power is interrupted.
Does anyone know if this is normal behaviour from a badly designed device or if my one is faulty?
I have currently been on the phone to VM's customer services for over half an hour about this and am getting nowhere!

Edit:
I've now been told there is an area fault causing this even though its not affecting Stream devices!
Sounds like the usual nonsense that people get in response.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 14:22   #4
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,575
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

That is faulty. Call again
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 16:21   #5
buckeye
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 203
buckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nice
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

After another 45 minutes on the phone I have now been told that VM cannot simply send me a new device and that I have to have an engineer visit first!
I have also discovered that I was lied to when ordering this, I specifically asked if I could get Sky Box Office on it to which I was told yes, that's a service lacking from my device!

I'm not wasting my time any more on this, I shall be cancelling my new contract and sending this back to them on Monday.
Way to go VM, another dissatisfied customer!
buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 16:25   #6
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 1.2Gb/55Mb, VMTV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD/HDR, DAB+
Posts: 1,609
ozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these parts
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

Sky Box Office has nothing scheduled for the next week or so - so wouldn't be showing any programmes at this time.

How do you know it is not available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckeye View Post
I have also discovered that I was lied to when ordering this, I specifically asked if I could get Sky Box Office on it to which I was told yes, that's a service lacking from my device!
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 16:42   #7
buckeye
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 203
buckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nice
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
Sky Box Office has nothing scheduled for the next week or so - so wouldn't be showing any programmes at this time.

How do you know it is not available?
There is no PPV section on it that I can find and after asking the last CS agent I spoke to today they said I would have to use the VM specific Sky Sports player on my PC for any Box Office events!
buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 17:42   #8
newapollo
cf.addict
 
newapollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 152
newapollo has much to be proud ofnewapollo has much to be proud ofnewapollo has much to be proud ofnewapollo has much to be proud ofnewapollo has much to be proud ofnewapollo has much to be proud ofnewapollo has much to be proud ofnewapollo has much to be proud ofnewapollo has much to be proud ofnewapollo has much to be proud of
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

Hi buckeye.
I don't know if you can watch PPV's on the Stream service, however on my 360 (which uses Horizon the same as the Stream box) you can find/watch Sky or BT Box Office events, by pressing the Home button and under Guide you will find an app advertising the pay per view event. (It appears in the bottom left hand corner a few days before the event). Click on that app and it will give you a list of sport that you can buy that weekend.

My 360 is currently advertising WWE Wrestlemania Backlash and it's due to start at 1am this coming Monday.
newapollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 18:18   #9
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 1.2Gb/55Mb, VMTV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD/HDR, DAB+
Posts: 1,609
ozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these parts
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

Sky Sports Player app does not provide Box Office.

The only scheduled PPV is currently on BT Box Office on Sunday night.

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckeye View Post
There is no PPV section on it that I can find and after asking the last CS agent I spoke to today they said I would have to use the VM specific Sky Sports player on my PC for any Box Office events!
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 18:58   #10
Media Boy UK
GOT NEWS - PM me.
 
Media Boy UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 13,900
Media Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy UK has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
Sky Sports Player app does not provide Box Office.

The only scheduled PPV is currently on BT Box Office on Sunday night.
With a poor WWE Card - in my view.

I am thinking about not buying it - and I have watch WWE since 1990 when WWF Prime Time was on Eurosport every Friday night at 8pm.
__________________
Blog - Updated May. 7th.
What may launch - Apr. 20th.
MB Twitter

You can still call me Media Boy
Media Boy UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 20:51   #11
ScottishSteve
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 414
ScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of light
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Boy UK View Post
With a poor WWE Card - in my view.

I am thinking about not buying it - and I have watch WWE since 1990 when WWF Prime Time was on Eurosport every Friday night at 8pm.
You could always take out a trial or subscription to WWE Network and itís included with that.
ScottishSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 17:02   #12
buckeye
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 203
buckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nice
Re: VM Stream box faulty or just really a bad device?

This is getting quite laughable now,
I received a text message saying an appointment had been made for an engineers visit and if I wasn't in I'd be charged £25, unfortunately no-one at VM bothered to talk to me before this appointment was made and I will be on a hospital appointment then!
I've cancelled that and tried to cancel and send back the Stream device and get my £35 activation fee refunded as I'm fed up with all this hassle now, apparently if I do that I will enter a new 18 month contract!
The only way the agent could find a way of not entering me into a new contract (I'm within my 14 days cooling off period for the Stream) is to cancel my broadband and phone too.
As it stands I can order new equipment but if I try to exercise my right to a 14 day cooling off period I am punished by being entered into a potentially expensive 18 month contract!
VM get worse instead of better!
buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:58.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.