Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Sky TV, Sky+ & Sky Q

Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2021, 17:44   #1
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 24,372
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

So we noticed yesterday that one of our boxes had the right time, the others had not switched from summer time.
Having searched all through the settings (and engineering settings) I could not find anything to actually set the time.

So we left them overnight again, to see if it fixed itself.
It didnt, so we went to plan B (Google !) and found this.

https://metro.co.uk/2021/11/01/sky-b...nged-15521143/

It seems Sky have made a blunder (aka "Technical issue") and we are stuck with this for the next few days.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 01-11-2021, 18:12   #2
Inactive Digital
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Services: VM broadband and phone, Sky Q
Posts: 314
Inactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

I didn't think these boxes still received software updates, but I'm guessing that was the cause.
Inactive Digital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2021, 18:54   #3
Media Boy
Keeping it Real over 15yr
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 13,458
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
So we noticed yesterday that one of our boxes had the right time, the others had not switched from summer time.
Having searched all through the settings (and engineering settings) I could not find anything to actually set the time.

So we left them overnight again, to see if it fixed itself.
It didnt, so we went to plan B (Google !) and found this.

https://metro.co.uk/2021/11/01/sky-b...nged-15521143/

It seems Sky have made a blunder (aka "Technical issue") and we are stuck with this for the next few days.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inactive Digital View Post
I didn't think these boxes still received software updates, but I'm guessing that was the cause.
Hope to be fix by Thursday

https://rxtvinfo.com/2021/sky-clock-...ed-within-days
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2021, 20:12   #4
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 24,372
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Boy View Post
Hope to be fix by Thursday
I "hope" to win the lottery on Wednesday ....

Fortunately, the article is slightly more reassuring ;

Quote:
Sky has promised a fix will be delivered to all affected Sky+ receivers via an over-the-air software patch.
This is currently due to be delivered by Thursday 4th November 2021.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2021, 20:22   #5
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,044
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

I wonder if it affected Digiboxes. I never noticed earlier.

After all this time you'd think the box wouldn't have changed in any way software-wise to haved a software problem rear its head now.

If the clock had been delivered by satellite signal and someone at Sky HQ had switched it off, not realising it was still used, I'd be more inclined to believe that.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2021, 13:22   #6
Media Boy
Keeping it Real over 15yr
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 13,458
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
I "hope" to win the lottery on Wednesday ....

Fortunately, the article is slightly more reassuring ;
I have been told you will win lotto - but not until the 6th of June in 2066.

---------- Post added at 12:22 ---------- Previous post was at 11:11 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
So we noticed yesterday that one of our boxes had the right time, the others had not switched from summer time.
Having searched all through the settings (and engineering settings) I could not find anything to actually set the time.

So we left them overnight again, to see if it fixed itself.
It didnt, so we went to plan B (Google !) and found this.

https://metro.co.uk/2021/11/01/sky-b...nged-15521143/

It seems Sky have made a blunder (aka "Technical issue") and we are stuck with this for the next few days.
It been fixed at Sky HQ - But if viewers want GMT time before Thursday you will need to reboot your box.
__________________
GOT NEWS - PM MEDIA BOY HQ VIA CABLE FORUM.
Blog - Updated Nov. 26th.
What may launch - Nov. 26th.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2021, 22:56   #7
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 24,372
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Boy View Post
It been fixed at Sky HQ - But if viewers want GMT time before Thursday you will need to reboot your box.
Nope.

Rebooted both affected boxes, both are still wrong.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 13:44   #8
Media Boy
Keeping it Real over 15yr
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 13,458
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
Nope.

Rebooted both affected boxes, both are still wrong.
Info I give yesterday was posted on DS Forum.

Sky+ boxes are updated every Thursday (Source: DS Forum)
__________________
GOT NEWS - PM MEDIA BOY HQ VIA CABLE FORUM.
Blog - Updated Nov. 26th.
What may launch - Nov. 26th.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 15:18   #9
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,044
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Boy View Post
Info I give yesterday was posted on DS Forum.

Sky+ boxes are updated every Thursday (Source: DS Forum)
Could you clarify something MB please? Are you saying Sky+ boxes (still) get firmware updates every week? Or that, Thursday is simply the designated day for firmware updates? Or that it's EPG-type data that gets updated on Thursdays (obv topped up dynamically)?
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 15:25   #10
Media Boy
Keeping it Real over 15yr
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 13,458
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekyangus View Post
Could you clarify something MB please? Are you saying Sky+ boxes (still) get firmware updates every week? Or that, Thursday is simply the designated day for firmware updates? Or that it's EPG-type data that gets updated on Thursdays (obv topped up dynamically)?
Well rscott did post the following on DS Forum yesterday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rscott on DS Forum View Post
The DR stream has been updated, so a forced update will fix this now. Otherwise, it'll automatically update early Thursday morning.
https://forums.digitalspy.com/discus...-november-2021 (See post 14)
__________________
GOT NEWS - PM MEDIA BOY HQ VIA CABLE FORUM.
Blog - Updated Nov. 26th.
What may launch - Nov. 26th.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 18:30   #11
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,044
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Boy View Post
Well rscott did post the following on DS Forum yesterday.



https://forums.digitalspy.com/discus...-november-2021 (See post 14)
Ta. The Radiomike post below it confirms it being a software update.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 19:11   #12
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 24,372
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Sky+ Boxes have the wrong time.

One of my two affected boxes updated today, the other is still wrong.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:51.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.