Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin Media Changelog

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

BBC changes implementation
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-02-2019, 10:02   #1
cheekyangus
cf.addict
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 243
cheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nice
BBC changes implementation

I find the way both the BBC and Virgin Media are handling the various changes odd.

Now I'll put aside the BBC's blame for the moment, as though it's regarding the same event, the BBC2 /BBC Scotland thing, their fault is on Freeview, not Cable platform.

With the previous BBC HD switch VM put up plenty of information on Tivo Info Banners and the like.

With the recent STV HD switch they left it to the last minute, but VM did do it, and they did so PRIOR to the event.

Now we have a twin set of events. BBC2 Scotland closed at midnight to be replaced by BBC national feed on 18th (today) and, on VM alone, on the 19th four BBC HD channels are being swapped into SD channel positions.

Neither of these events has had on-screen information so far and the BBC2 Scotland event has happened. No prior information, and the latter is due tomorrow.

To make things worse the 102 section of the EPG from 6am says Channel No Longer Available for the rest of time. If a person navigates via the Guide all the the time they will believe there is something wrong before even try to watch. If they do watch they get the SD version of national feed, so there really should be schedule information.

I can understand VM thinking it is easier to let this go for a day and do the BBC2 HD switch at the same time as the others tomorrow. But is it worth annoying/panicing customers and increasing calls to the call centre when they just needed to get a person to put a day or so's worth of data into the schedule for 102 in Scotland. That should have been the bare minimum.

I don't understand why VM could do such a great job with information screens on various switches over the last 6-9 months, and particularly the last BBC HD switches, and not do it in similar circumstances this time.

And if you were curious why I said the BBC had some blame on other platforms on the BBC2 Scotland matter, they should have had on-screen messages on Freeview about upcoming retuning but they haven't had anything I've seen.

Last edited by cheekyangus; 18-02-2019 at 10:21.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 18-02-2019, 10:21   #2
SonicMaster
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 219
SonicMaster will become famous soon enoughSonicMaster will become famous soon enoughSonicMaster will become famous soon enough
Re: BBC changes implementation

I've seen tiles on the V6 about the BBC channel moves every day since they were announced along with a full page about the changes. The VM website also has an item about it. For such a minor change it seems more than reasonable.
SonicMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2019, 10:43   #3
cheekyangus
cf.addict
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 243
cheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nice
Re: BBC changes implementation

Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicMaster View Post
I've seen tiles on the V6 about the BBC channel moves every day since they were announced along with a full page about the changes. The VM website also has an item about it. For such a minor change it seems more than reasonable.
Well the algorithm must be broken here as the tiles are all about Bohemian Rhapsody or The Get Down, often all 4 at once. There's nothing about changes.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2019, 11:45   #4
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,469
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: BBC changes implementation

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekyangus View Post
To make things worse the 102 section of the EPG from 6am says Channel No Longer Available for the rest of time.
This is a fault and should be fixed in the next few hours.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2019, 11:50   #5
cheekyangus
cf.addict
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 243
cheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nice
Re: BBC changes implementation

Thanks spiderplant.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2019, 18:27   #6
cheekyangus
cf.addict
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 243
cheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nice
Re: BBC changes implementation

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
This is a fault and should be fixed in the next few hours.
The EPG is now showing programme data for 102 here.

-----

Still no on-screen info for HD switches though.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:13   #7
cheekyangus
cf.addict
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 243
cheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nicecheekyangus is just really nice
Re: BBC changes implementation

All the BBC HD channels swaps have happened here, including BBC2 HD (after yesterday's 1 day SD national feed filler).

The EPG shows details of the change, as do the information slides on the vacated channels. However there are still no info bar tiles on the topic here. I appreciate other VM customers are seeing them, there is clearly a fault in my area.

----------Update

Spooky. Or is it?

On-demand stopped working, error message etc, and therefore the info bar tiles didn't work. 5 minutes later, the connections resolved themselves and Bingo! the tiles return with the information on the BBC HD moves.

I put this down to a Cable Forum dwelling VM staff member. Thank you.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:20.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.