Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | New software installing

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

New software installing
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2019, 23:46   #31
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 9,319
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: New software installing

I have not received my update yet. Should I be worried?
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 06-07-2019, 08:57   #32
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,592
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: New software installing

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
I have not received my update yet. Should I be worried?
No
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 09:06   #33
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 x2, Full House TV, VIVID 350
Posts: 16,683
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New software installing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr K View Post
Thank you.

Hopefully they'll be highlighting this opt out (7 levels down from from Help & Settings ! ), and making customers aware they are being targeted with AdSmart. Could they use this info for any other purpose? E.g. selling user profiles to whoever wants it for general sales purposes?
Here's the full Privacy policy https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/the...privacy-policy
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 20:52   #34
trublue
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North West
Services: Virgin XL TV with Tivo 30meg B/B
Posts: 120
trublue is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New software installing

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
Something which was removed some time ago but is now back in the latest software is the ability to select different video formats and let the tv do the upscaling.

So if you select both 1080 and 2160 for non-passthru options - then the V6 will output in 1080 for SD/HD channels and switch the tv to 2160 only for the 4K channels.

This means you tv will do the upscaling for the SD/HD channels when using a 4k tv.

It does cause most tvs to blank out for a brief time while switching formats - but I can excuse that as my tv upscales must better then the V6.
Thanks for this,I will let my Sony AF9 do the upscaling for a while to see how it goes.What TV do you have?
trublue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 14:09   #35
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 65
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New software installing

what is the new software version

Last edited by KillerCroc1; 10-07-2019 at 14:09. Reason: spelling
KillerCroc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 14:27   #36
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS), VIVID500/35, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB+, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 949
ozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud of
Re: New software installing

Panasonic EX750

Quote:
Originally Posted by trublue View Post
Thanks for this,I will let my Sony AF9 do the upscaling for a while to see how it goes.What TV do you have?


---------- Post added at 14:27 ---------- Previous post was at 14:27 ----------

20.9.1.rc2

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerCroc1 View Post
what is the new software version
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 14:58   #37
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 65
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New software installing

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
Panasonic EX750



---------- Post added at 14:27 ---------- Previous post was at 14:27 ----------

20.9.1.rc2
thanks ozsat im on the new software :-) all we need no is amazon to launch
KillerCroc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:36.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.