Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 300/350M availablity?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

300/350M availablity?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-01-2018, 18:51   #16
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,245
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 300/350M availablity?

yeah I think that is the sticking point atm. Igni has said in the past that the network can handle 500mbits NOW if they wanted to make it available however I think the thing which is holding them back is the upstream capacity. Going from 12mbits up to 20 is more than half as much again so they definitely have their work cut out.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 16-01-2018, 19:20   #17
Aye Up
Barking up the wrong tree
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manchester
Age: 34
Services: Sky+HD Cinema & Sports VM Phone & 200Mb Gamer, BT Phone Line & Broadband YouView
Posts: 55
Aye Up will become famous soon enoughAye Up will become famous soon enoughAye Up will become famous soon enough
Re: 300/350M availablity?

I switched to 300Mb service, shows up as 350Mb though. 20 d/s and 4 u/s, been like this since middle of last year (not speed).
Aye Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2018, 19:32   #18
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 334
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: 300/350M availablity?

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
yeah I think that is the sticking point atm. Igni has said in the past that the network can handle 500mbits NOW if they wanted to make it available however I think the thing which is holding them back is the upstream capacity. Going from 12mbits up to 20 is more than half as much again so they definitely have their work cut out.
Does make me wonder whether 20Mb upload should of been made available in areas that are only bonding 2 upstream channels. Is there the capacity available to do it properly with only 2 upstreams? But then there would be multiple packages, so I suppose itís easier to have one tier with 20Mb upload (Iím excluding 200Mb Gamer as itís not longer available to purchase, although some people will be on it).
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2018, 21:54   #19
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 55
Services: VM Phone : Sky TV : VM Cable (350 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,879
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 300/350M availablity?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon22 View Post
Does make me wonder whether 20Mb upload should of been made available in areas that are only bonding 2 upstream channels.
Yes it should !

I was on 200 Gamer, now Im on 350/20 - Still only two upstreams
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2018, 14:50   #20
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,394
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: 300/350M availablity?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
With my Vivid 350 i can hit around 51mb/s downloads.

Agreed that Vivid 300/350 is only of value if you want to waste no time downloading big files. Today I managed 46.0 MB using a torrent. I downloaded 3.77GB in 2 mins 12 secs.

Have had speed tests at 400Mbs down speed, which translates to 50MBs.

Stay on 200Mb if you don't need more down speed. Until they provide more up speed on the upper tiers my advice won't change.
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 350Mb /20mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.