Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 1gig Rollout getting faster

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

1gig Rollout getting faster
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-05-2021, 11:13   #166
PixelGizmo
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3
PixelGizmo is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Hello,
I'm trying to replicate the Mikrotik setup posted by rtho782, but I'm using a slightly different setup, as I do not have a 10GB LAN.

I'm using a hex-S, hoping this would work with the device.

I am trying to set up 2 bonded interfaces in a bridge as follows

Bridge Name: VMBridge containing:

Bonded interfaces:

1>AsusBond (ethernet ports: 2,3) 802.3ad

2> VMBBond (ethernet ports 4,5), balance-rr


However there seems to be no communication between the 2 bonded interfaces, they both show as connected, but I fail to see traffic pass through the bridge from 1-2 and vice versa.

The device plugged into ports 2,3 can't contact the device plugged into 4,5

ARP is disabled on the VMBond, as per the advice, but I cant get it to work, having left it for a good 15 minutes after rebooting all of the devices concerned.

Any help/pointers would be really useful. Thank you

MY Firewall detects the 802.3ad Link aggregation but it informs me the my ISP's DHCP isn't working, and I cannot see or get to the VM Hub 4 on 192.168.100.1.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

My config is as per the attachments. I appreciate I may have done something wrong, I'm no Mikrotik expert, I'm new to their stuff, having come from a WatchGuard background for the last 5 years.

Thank you in advance.






Chris
Attached Images
File Type: png Interfaces.PNG (31.2 KB, 12 views)
File Type: png bridge.PNG (38.9 KB, 9 views)
File Type: png bonding to hub.PNG (36.3 KB, 9 views)
File Type: png bonding to firewall.PNG (35.7 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by PixelGizmo; 26-05-2021 at 11:25.
PixelGizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 26-05-2021, 14:14   #167
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: Gig 1
Posts: 219
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

I had to have ARP enabled on both bridge and bond otherwise it would not create the bond on my setup.

Screenshot 2021-05-26 at 14.08.48.png

Screenshot 2021-05-26 at 14.07.17.png
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2021-05-26 at 14.16.21.png (120.6 KB, 8 views)
Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2021, 14:45   #168
PixelGizmo
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3
PixelGizmo is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Hello,

Thanks for the reply.

With or without ARP on the bonding and bridges, it still fails unfortunately.

I feel like I'm *almost* there with this, but my lack of Mikrotik knowledge might be why I cant get it to connect.

I get about 512b/s on the VMHub bond every few seconds but I guess that's just discovery chatter.

Any further help would be wholly appreciated.

I have to use a device between the SH4 and the ASUS as they both expect different aggregation/bondings (ASUS requires 802.3ad and the SH4 expects RR)

Thank you

Chris
Attached Images
File Type: png ASUS_Firewall.PNG (25.5 KB, 13 views)
File Type: png log.PNG (160.4 KB, 9 views)
File Type: png winbox.PNG (26.8 KB, 10 views)
PixelGizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2021, 22:24   #169
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: Gig 1
Posts: 219
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

https://tech.msh100.uk/virgin/networ...ter-than-gbit/

Might be some more info in there

Edit: Was already posted in the thread.
Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2021, 13:38   #170
PixelGizmo
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3
PixelGizmo is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Hello,

Thanks for the informative posts, I've got my Mikrotik Hex-S set up similarly to that, the only difference being is the link back to the firewall is also a bond, running 802.3ad as the firewall has 2x 1GB ports on it.

The firewall reports the LACP connection, but just informs me that the ISP's DHCP isn't working as expected, nor can I get to the Virgin hub on 192.168.100.1.

I still think I'm missing something, but I've attached a less-than-ideal MS Paint diagram of the setup (physical).

Best Regards

Chris
Attached Images
File Type: png physical.png (13.2 KB, 16 views)
PixelGizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:52.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.