Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Are Post-RS errors acceptable? Will VM care?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Are Post-RS errors acceptable? Will VM care?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-06-2018, 09:35   #1
rtho782
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 98
rtho782 is an unknown quantity at this point
Are Post-RS errors acceptable? Will VM care?

Line stats:

Code:
Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	299000000	0.9	38	256 qam	21
2	323000000	1	37	256 qam	24
3	315000000	0.7	38	256 qam	23
4	307000000	0.7	38	256 qam	22
5	291000000	0.4	38	256 qam	20
6	283000000	0.4	38	256 qam	19
7	275000000	0	37	256 qam	18
8	267000000	0	37	256 qam	17
9	259000000	0	37	256 qam	16
10	251000000	0	37	256 qam	15
11	243000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	14
12	235000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	13
13	227000000	0	37	256 qam	12
14	219000000	0	37	256 qam	11
15	211000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	10
16	203000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	9
17	195000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	8
18	187000000	0	37	256 qam	7
19	179000000	0	37	256 qam	6
20	171000000	0.2	37	256 qam	5
21	163000000	0	37	256 qam	4
22	155000000	0.2	37	256 qam	3
23	147000000	0.2	37	256 qam	2
24	139000000	0.5	37	256 qam	1


Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Locked Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
1	Locked	38.6	358	0
2	Locked	37.6	334	0
3	Locked	38.6	372	3
4	Locked	38.6	336	0
5	Locked	38.6	400	0
6	Locked	38.6	377	0
7	Locked	37.6	427	0
8	Locked	37.6	387	0
9	Locked	37.6	432	0
10	Locked	37.6	492	0
11	Locked	37.6	528	0
12	Locked	37.3	588	0
13	Locked	37.6	593	0
14	Locked	37.6	648	0
15	Locked	37.6	712	0
16	Locked	37.6	860	1
17	Locked	37.3	972	0
18	Locked	37.6	1121	12
19	Locked	37.3	1314	14
20	Locked	37.6	1322	15
21	Locked	37.6	1476	0
22	Locked	37.6	1631	11
23	Locked	37.3	1896	19
24	Locked	37.6	2338	16
Most of my channels are fine, but I am seeing some Post-RS errors on the later ones. This is with about 24 hours uptime.

Will I get anywhere by complaining?
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 19-06-2018, 10:07   #2
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 336
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: Are Post-RS errors acceptable? Will VM care?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtho782 View Post
Line stats:

Code:
Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	299000000	0.9	38	256 qam	21
2	323000000	1	37	256 qam	24
3	315000000	0.7	38	256 qam	23
4	307000000	0.7	38	256 qam	22
5	291000000	0.4	38	256 qam	20
6	283000000	0.4	38	256 qam	19
7	275000000	0	37	256 qam	18
8	267000000	0	37	256 qam	17
9	259000000	0	37	256 qam	16
10	251000000	0	37	256 qam	15
11	243000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	14
12	235000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	13
13	227000000	0	37	256 qam	12
14	219000000	0	37	256 qam	11
15	211000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	10
16	203000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	9
17	195000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	8
18	187000000	0	37	256 qam	7
19	179000000	0	37	256 qam	6
20	171000000	0.2	37	256 qam	5
21	163000000	0	37	256 qam	4
22	155000000	0.2	37	256 qam	3
23	147000000	0.2	37	256 qam	2
24	139000000	0.5	37	256 qam	1


Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Locked Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
1	Locked	38.6	358	0
2	Locked	37.6	334	0
3	Locked	38.6	372	3
4	Locked	38.6	336	0
5	Locked	38.6	400	0
6	Locked	38.6	377	0
7	Locked	37.6	427	0
8	Locked	37.6	387	0
9	Locked	37.6	432	0
10	Locked	37.6	492	0
11	Locked	37.6	528	0
12	Locked	37.3	588	0
13	Locked	37.6	593	0
14	Locked	37.6	648	0
15	Locked	37.6	712	0
16	Locked	37.6	860	1
17	Locked	37.3	972	0
18	Locked	37.6	1121	12
19	Locked	37.3	1314	14
20	Locked	37.6	1322	15
21	Locked	37.6	1476	0
22	Locked	37.6	1631	11
23	Locked	37.3	1896	19
24	Locked	37.6	2338	16
Most of my channels are fine, but I am seeing some Post-RS errors on the later ones. This is with about 24 hours uptime.

Will I get anywhere by complaining?
If you were getting thousands of Post-RS errors occurring in a short space of time, you may get VM to investigate. But that would probably only occur if say the SNR was out of spec or some other obvious fault. Ideally, you should have no Post-RS errors but I guess in the real world, youíre going to get some at some point.

Yours are minimal so itís unlikely to be affecting your connection.

I had a thread running a few years ago about the same thing:
https://www.cableforum.uk/board/show...php?t=33699810
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2018, 10:58   #3
rtho782
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 98
rtho782 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Are Post-RS errors acceptable? Will VM care?

Excellent, thanks.

I, like everyone, have poor single threaded speeds (~80mbit or so) but that seems par for the course.

Whoever owned this house before us seemingly had VM in every room, there are at least 4 rooms with cable points. I might at some point remove the splitter before the main point (where the modem is, I'm BB only) and that would in theory give me another 3dB of signal.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2018, 11:47   #4
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,265
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: Are Post-RS errors acceptable? Will VM care?

That would make your upstream drop, best to leave it as it is as your signals look really good
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 13:27   #5
adduxi
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 388
adduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Are Post-RS errors acceptable? Will VM care?

I had some similar small figures around T3's and Post-RS.
I did post on the VM Forum and the reply was to reboot the Hub.
To be fair, they were small numbers, and I only wanted them to check just in case.
adduxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 18:53   #6
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 5,691
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Are Post-RS errors acceptable? Will VM care?

To explain the OP's particular post-RD errors:

When the hub reboots, the first moments are chaotic. Data is pouring in, but the modem hasn't yet sync'd with the CMTS at the VM end. So, with the synchronisation taking place at the same time, corrupt data occurs hence the post-RS errors. Sometimes they will be as high as the pre-RS errors.

As mentioned by Jon22, if post-RS errors are mounting during normal data sessions, then there is a problem and would be signalled by poor SNR on one or more channels. One buggered channel makes all the associated data useless.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:28.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.