Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Smart meters

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > General Discussion > Lifestyle

Smart meters
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-01-2019, 18:55   #1
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 62
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 15,316
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Smart meters

I don't know how many of our members have smart meters fitted, gas and electric, We have one for the lecky and I thought I'd share:

It's electric and I've checked it's values against my own NAMAS traceable monitor and the readings seen to be Kosher, what really pisses me off is the consumer display unit: It constantly resets and displays just about everything except what I want it to ( Current watts). I just got fed up with it and dumped it uncharged and dead in the lecky cupboard.

I know what things take round me, if it makes heat it costs money.

What are members experiences?
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 13-01-2019, 19:10   #2
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 200Mb Tivo STB
Posts: 4,906
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: Smart meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by heero_yuy View Post
I don't know how many of our members have smart meters fitted, gas and electric, We have one for the lecky and I thought I'd share:

It's electric and I've checked it's values against my own NAMAS traceable monitor and the readings seen to be Kosher, what really pisses me off is the consumer display unit: It constantly resets and displays just about everything except what I want it to ( Current watts). I just got fed up with it and dumped it uncharged and dead in the lecky cupboard.

I know what things take round me, if it makes heat it costs money.

What are members experiences?
I had electric and gas ones installed just a few months ago. If it keeps losing the connection, place it nearer the meters. The current usage in watts is likely to be there on the optional displays. It was there for me.



The thing to watch out for in assessing current usage is that items such as fridges, freezers, immersion heaters can suddenly start up. That would give a false current usage in watts.
nomadking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 19:23   #3
papa smurf
vox populi vox dei
 
papa smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: the last resort
Services: every thing
Posts: 10,283
papa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny star
papa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny starpapa smurf has a nice shiny star
Re: Smart meters

i keep turning down the offers to fit them.
__________________
links posted from news sources are not necessarily my opinion
i don't have the time or the crayons to keep explaining this
papa smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 19:26   #4
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 51,089
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Smart meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by papa smurf View Post
i keep turning down the offers to fit them.
You won't have that choice in time.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 19:50   #5
Angua
10 yrs same company 😁
 
Angua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Expanding Town with crap roads
Age: 60
Services: ? BB, L Digi TV, basic phone.
Posts: 7,535
Angua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny stars
Angua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny starsAngua has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Smart meters

Until there is no charge for having one and they are all guaranteed to work as a smart meter with any supplier you may switch to, I will not be getting either.
__________________
Truth always poses doubts & questions. Only lies are 100% believable, because they don't need to justify reality. - Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Labyrinth of the Spirits
Angua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 20:02   #6
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,273
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Smart meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by papa smurf View Post
i keep turning down the offers to fit them.
Our neighbours had the leccy one fitted (no gas supply) after being told they were free now, but eventually would be fitted for a fee. And if they didn't have one, they would be charged an annual meter-reading fee. All rubbish of course. At the moment.

Those in the know understand a hidden reason the companies want them fitted for leccy... a thing called Power Factor. In the simplest of terms. electricity companies have to send more power down the wires to compensate for waveform changes caused by non-resistive loads in the users' home or place of work. In the future, smart meters will allow them to charge for that "lost power".
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 20:14   #7
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 200Mb Tivo STB
Posts: 4,906
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: Smart meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angua View Post
Until there is no charge for having one and they are all guaranteed to work as a smart meter with any supplier you may switch to, I will not be getting either.
The newer versions are meant to be more compatible.
Quote:
The new second-generation meters will allow uninterrupted switching between suppliers. The first generation meters can temporarily lose some of their functionality following a switch, but this just means you may have to read the meters yourself for a little while. It is not a barrier to switching. But soon all smart meters will be on a single, national communication network that will cover 99% of Britain. So then when you switch, you won't need to have a meter exchange and you won't lose your smart features.
nomadking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 20:17   #8
richard s
cf.mega poster
 
richard s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Near France
Services: Tivo XL 150mb broadband L phone
Posts: 1,708
richard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful one
Re: Smart meters

Do the smart ass meters need electricity to take the readings and send the signal to the supplier or are they using my lecy to run their meters and my wifi.
__________________
AND SO THE BO JO CIRCUS BEGINS
richard s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 20:22   #9
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11,566
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Smart meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by papa smurf View Post
i keep turning down the offers to fit them.
Me too.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 20:29   #10
idi banashapan
step on my trip
 
idi banashapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,544
idi banashapan has disabled reputation
Re: Smart meters

We have one. We never look at it. If we need to use an electrical item or turn on the gas, then we have to use it. Makes no odds having a smart meter there.

I think they were brought in in the hope that it would make people more conscious about how much they use, energy-wise. As though people would play a game against themselves to see how little they could use in a day. But I think it hasn't turned out they way the energy firms / government had hoped. I think the number of people who actually try to play that game are so few that the cost of each house running a smart meter probably more than cancels it out!
__________________
If one does not understand a person, one tends to regard him as a fool

Last edited by idi banashapan; 13-01-2019 at 20:32.
idi banashapan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 20:30   #11
joglynne
Born again teenager.
 
joglynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manchester. (VM area 20)
Age: 71
Services: Full House (XL), Vivid 200, Phone Talk Anytime
Posts: 12,304
joglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aura
joglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aura
Re: Smart meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by papa smurf View Post
i keep turning down the offers to fit them.
Same here.
__________________
Determined to grow very very old.
joglynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 20:38   #12
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,273
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Smart meters

We had a scheduled power outage of an hour or so. Next door were away on holiday. When they came home, their fridge and freezer were minging as the smart meter did not turn the power back on after the outage.

I'm not sure if this was a fault, or how these meters work.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 21:02   #13
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 200Mb Tivo STB
Posts: 4,906
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: Smart meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard s View Post
Do the smart ass meters need electricity to take the readings and send the signal to the supplier or are they using my lecy to run their meters and my wifi.
Battery operated. I asked at the time because the guy was measuring up lengths of cable. That was to upgrade the existing meter cabling. Water meters also function via a battery and they don't have an electric supply to feed off.
nomadking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 21:11   #14
idi banashapan
step on my trip
 
idi banashapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,544
idi banashapan has disabled reputation
Re: Smart meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard s View Post
Do the smart ass meters need electricity to take the readings and send the signal to the supplier or are they using my lecy to run their meters and my wifi.
mine is mains run.
__________________
If one does not understand a person, one tends to regard him as a fool
idi banashapan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 22:03   #15
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 31,929
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: Smart meters

We were loaned an energy use monitor by a local energy efficiency charity some years ago (which they never asked to get back). For a little while it was interesting seeing which appliances used what, but after a while it was boring... we only turn things on when we need them anyway, so it made no difference to us. From that perspective I’m in no hurry to get my hands on the remote screen that’s meant to sit in the house. It’s a waste of space, a waste of a socket and a waste of electricity. As for the actual meter itself, well we’ll get one when we have to, but I won’t be surprised if we turn out to be in a signal dead spot, and so still have to submit readings ourselves...
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:44.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.