Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Hub 5 at no extra cost

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Hub 5 at no extra cost
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2021, 18:25   #211
david_w2k
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dorset
Posts: 220
david_w2k is on a distinguished roaddavid_w2k is on a distinguished road
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad View Post
Nope it was a hub 3. Sending it back as I already have a Hub4
Thanks for testing it! Worth a try
david_w2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-12-2021, 22:17   #212
flummox
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
flummox is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost



After a week or so to settle in (and a few restarts) its now settled down to this, which to be honest is better than the previous Hub 3 (and a few ms better latency).
flummox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2021, 12:34   #213
saabmania2
 
saabmania2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sunny SouthEast
Services: VIP Pack
Posts: 692
saabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond reputesaabmania2 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to saabmania2
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Should be getting my Hub5 on Tuesday to try, not sure if I want it now after reading this thread from start to finish
__________________
Marrage is a circle of rings, Engagement ring,Wedding ring and suffering
saabmania2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2021, 15:55   #214
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXXL Gig1 BB SH4 (wired).
Posts: 2,702
alanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these parts
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

I'm quite happy with the Hub 4 i have for my Gig1.

It does the job, I'm happy with the speed i usually get which is between 940 - 950mb down and 59.5 - 59.8 up.
alanbjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2021, 18:36   #215
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 1gbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 11,026
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

same for me
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2021, 19:27   #216
jobbie8
cf.addict
 
jobbie8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Teesside
Services: VM Max It TV and movies, VT360, BB 200MB, M Phone, VM mobile
Posts: 424
jobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nice
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

I'm due my Hub 5 delivery this week. I use Hub 3 in modem mode for my Nest wifi mesh. So I'm planning to do the same with Hub 5 or should I use wifi from Hub 5, not heard much about wifi?
jobbie8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2021, 19:51   #217
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 1gbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 11,026
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by jobbie8 View Post
should I use wifi from Hub 5
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2021, 13:10   #218
adduxi
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 409
adduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Have a read on the VM forum about the Hub 5. Lots of people are reverting back to their old Hubs. Too many bugs in the Firmware at the moment for Router users, but it seems to be okay in Modem mode.
adduxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2022, 17:24   #219
Huxie
cf.member
 
Huxie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Services: Ultimate Oomph M600
Posts: 24
Huxie is on a distinguished roadHuxie is on a distinguished road
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by adduxi View Post
Have a read on the VM forum about the Hub 5. Lots of people are reverting back to their old Hubs. Too many bugs in the Firmware at the moment for Router users, but it seems to be okay in Modem mode.
Not sure reverting back is now an option. Ive just been offered a free upgrade to the Hub 5 and the e-mail states:

Your existing Hub must be returned as per the instructions included with your new Hub 5 and will be automatically deactivated six days after the agreed install date for your new Hub.
Huxie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2022, 13:45   #220
Coffeeguy
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Services: Hub 5 VM 200MB Broadband
Posts: 58
Coffeeguy has disabled reputation
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

I hear you guys like graphs. Here's mine while in modem mode on the SH3, day of switchover then the a full day on the Hub 5. A little spikey and glad to see the back of the puma chipset

Attached Images
File Type: jpg graphs.jpg (542.1 KB, 264 views)
Coffeeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2022, 22:41   #221
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,062
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffeeguy View Post
I hear you guys like graphs. Here's mine while in modem mode on the SH3, day of switchover then the a full day on the Hub 5. A little spikey and glad to see the back of the puma chipset

You're glad to see the back of the Puma chipset? But your Hub 5 graphs look worse.

Do you notice any improvement in gaming, web browsing and downloading, streaming compared to the Hub 3?
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2022, 12:25   #222
ileikcaek
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 343
ileikcaek is an unknown quantity at this pointileikcaek is an unknown quantity at this pointileikcaek is an unknown quantity at this pointileikcaek is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

I took the offer of a Hub 5 which arrived the other day and so far it's not been particularly brilliant on the stability side of things.

I was on a Hub 3 previously, as notorious as it is, it was stable (in modem mode) for years.

I opted to use the Hub 5 in router mode due to my existing RT-AC56U being far too old and long unsupported now. The Hub 5 has much improved wifi coverage and wifi speeds compared to the Hub 3 in my experience so far.

Unfortunately I am getting multiple disconnections every day, the internet goes away on wired and wireless devices for 30 - 60 seconds before coming back, the Hub 3 had no such issues. I notice that there have been some others with this particular issue with the Hub 5.

Here are recent log entries, the MDD Timeout coincides with the disconnections.

Quote:
27-01-2022 11:14:09 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 4; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 11:13:04 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 1; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 11:13:00 warning MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=*CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 08:42:56 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 4; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 08:42:02 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 1; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 08:41:32 warning MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 04:02:51 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 4; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 04:01:53 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 1; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 04:01:29 warning MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 00:33:07 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 4; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 00:32:10 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 1; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
27-01-2022 00:32:06 warning MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=8;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
26-01-2022 18:47:17 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 4; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
26-01-2022 18:46:13 notice CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 1; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
26-01-2022 18:46:04 warning MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=*;CMTS-MAC=*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
ileikcaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2022, 12:33   #223
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 1gbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 11,026
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

What are the power levels like? Something is causing the disconnects?
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2022, 12:50   #224
ileikcaek
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 343
ileikcaek is an unknown quantity at this pointileikcaek is an unknown quantity at this pointileikcaek is an unknown quantity at this pointileikcaek is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz) 330000000 Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz) 60300000 Ranged
Provisioning State Online Operational

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 330000000 1.5 40 QAM 256 25
2 138000000 0.8 39 QAM 256 1
3 146000000 -1.1 39 QAM 256 2
4 154000000 -1.1 40 QAM 256 3
5 162000000 0.9 40 QAM 256 4
6 170000000 0.7 40 QAM 256 5
7 178000000 0.4 40 QAM 256 6
8 186000000 0.2 40 QAM 256 7
9 194000000 0.1 40 QAM 256 8
10 202000000 0 40 QAM 256 9
11 210000000 0.1 40 QAM 256 10
12 218000000 0.3 40 QAM 256 11
13 226000000 0.4 40 QAM 256 12
14 234000000 0.5 40 QAM 256 13
15 242000000 0.6 40 QAM 256 14
16 250000000 0.5 40 QAM 256 15
17 258000000 0.3 40 QAM 256 16
18 266000000 0.1 40 QAM 256 17
19 274000000 0.2 40 QAM 256 18
20 282000000 0.6 40 QAM 256 19
21 290000000 0.9 40 QAM 256 20
22 298000000 1.1 40 QAM 256 21
23 306000000 1.3 40 QAM 256 22
24 314000000 1.4 40 QAM 256 23
25 322000000 1.5 40 QAM 256 24
26 338000000 1.6 40 QAM 256 26
27 346000000 1.7 41 QAM 256 27
28 354000000 1.7 41 QAM 256 28
29 362000000 1.7 41 QAM 256 29
30 370000000 1.6 41 QAM 256 30
31 378000000 1.6 41 QAM 256 31

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 60300000 42.3 5120 QAM 64 1
2 53700000 41.8 5120 QAM 64 2
3 46200000 41.8 5120 QAM 64 3
4 39400000 41.3 5120 QAM 64 4

Note this is with a 10dB FPA they fitted, without this the DS power levels are around 10 - 11.
ileikcaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2022, 15:14   #225
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 1gbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 11,026
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Hub 5 at no extra cost

they are mint. Any post-rs errors?
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:07.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.