Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

V6 recording stuttering and pixelated
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2021, 11:34   #1
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 64
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,665
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

I recorded "The Great" last evening, sat down to watch it and the image and sound stuttered and pixelated from the start. I fast-forwarded, and it was the same throughout the recording.

Also a recording at the same time "NCIS L.A." started like that but quickly became normal.

No faults in our area according to VM.

V6 problem or the TV system?
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 04-01-2021, 12:54   #2
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,068
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Usually pixelation is caused by a signal fault. What channels did you record these from?
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 18:01   #3
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 70
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 2,961
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
I recorded "The Great" last evening, sat down to watch it and the image and sound stuttered and pixelated from the start. I fast-forwarded, and it was the same throughout the recording.

Also a recording at the same time "NCIS L.A." started like that but quickly became normal.

No faults in our area according to VM.

V6 problem or the TV system?
Find around the corner from you
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 19:44   #4
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 64
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,665
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
Usually pixelation is caused by a signal fault. What channels did you record these from?
Channel 4 and Sky One.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 22:01   #5
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,068
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
Channel 4 and Sky One.
Hmm, those are on mid-band frequencies which are usually the last to degrade if there's a signal problem, so no clues there. I think you'll need to monitor for a bit longer.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 09:52   #6
japitts
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Services: V6 with Full-House/Maxit Sports & Movies, 100Mb broadband, Talk Weekends.
Posts: 544
japitts is a splendid one to beholdjapitts is a splendid one to beholdjapitts is a splendid one to beholdjapitts is a splendid one to beholdjapitts is a splendid one to beholdjapitts is a splendid one to beholdjapitts is a splendid one to beholdjapitts is a splendid one to beholdjapitts is a splendid one to behold
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

See whether you can watch those channels live, also try pausing live TV and playing a minute or so delayed.
japitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 12:04   #7
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 64
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,665
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

4hd did it again last evening, but the Sky recording was perfect.

I was able to watch 4hd live with no problems, but the recording at the same was corrupted.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 14:09   #8
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,068
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Ok, it seems likely that your box is faulty. Time to get on the blower
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 19:44   #9
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 64
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,665
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
Ok, it seems likely that your box is faulty. Time to get on the blower

Damnit.

Binge session to watch as much as I can that is on it now.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2021, 12:38   #10
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 11,565
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
Damnit.

Binge session to watch as much as I can that is on it now.
Will you go for a 360 box, Taf?
__________________
SVOD and AVOD will replace existing TV channels
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2021, 13:00   #11
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 64
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,665
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
Will you go for a 360 box, Taf?
"Just to mention a few facts.

1) You will lose the recordings on ALL your boxes if you change to the new V360 platform, as the existing boxes will be replaced.

2) V360 only uses one 1TB hard drive box, the rest are diskless half size mini boxes. So you will only have one third of the recording capacity you have now. Pauseing Live TV on a box with no hard drive only gives you 10 minutes maximum. Recordings will be streamed from the main box to the minis, so poor WiFi is not an option".

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...0/td-p/4479781

And to get one you have to upgrade to Ultimate Oomph (Who the heck decides these stupid names?)
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2021, 18:49   #12
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 11,565
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
"Just to mention a few facts.

1) You will lose the recordings on ALL your boxes if you change to the new V360 platform, as the existing boxes will be replaced.

2) V360 only uses one 1TB hard drive box, the rest are diskless half size mini boxes. So you will only have one third of the recording capacity you have now. Pauseing Live TV on a box with no hard drive only gives you 10 minutes maximum. Recordings will be streamed from the main box to the minis, so poor WiFi is not an option".

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...0/td-p/4479781

And to get one you have to upgrade to Ultimate Oomph (Who the heck decides these stupid names?)
I take it that's a no, then!

Frankly, I don't blame you and I would keep with my V6 boxes. However, your old box needing replacement is an ideal opportunity to switch to the 360 software, as you would lose your recordings in that eventuality anyway. But again, until they have ironed out those bugs, particularly the recording ones, I won't be changing that either.
__________________
SVOD and AVOD will replace existing TV channels
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2021, 21:05   #13
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 64
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,665
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

I was trying to find out how much extra I would have to pay to get the top tier...

Quote:
We don't have any recommended offers or upgrade available for you right now, however...


---------- Post added at 20:05 ---------- Previous post was at 20:03 ----------

Anyway, back to the fault.

I have set the V6 to record the same programme on 4 and 4HD at the same time, and will watch it live on both by flipping back and forth.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2021, 13:04   #14
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 64
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,665
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

So the recording test showed that only 4hd is affected. I tried 8 other channels around the same time, and 4hd was the only one that stuttered. But it did not do it on live TV.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2021, 15:10   #15
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,068
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: V6 recording stuttering and pixelated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
So the recording test showed that only 4hd is affected. I tried 8 other channels around the same time, and 4hd was the only one that stuttered. But it did not do it on live TV.
That's pretty strange. Have you tried channel 103?
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.