Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-09-2020, 07:51   #1
Tricky Trevor
cf.geek
 
Tricky Trevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nottingham
Age: 63
Services: Ultimate Oomph,600 mbit,2xV6 Still waiting for Sky UHD!!
Posts: 625
Tricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant future
Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Interesting

https://www.choose.co.uk/news/2020/v...and-berkshire/
__________________
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not so sure.
Tricky Trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 25-09-2020, 20:37   #2
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,445
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

not true, dont believe a word of it
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 21:34   #3
Pierre
The Dark Satanic Mills
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: floating in the ether
Posts: 8,931
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
not true, dont believe a word of it
?????

Er, it is true.

DOCSIS 3.1 can deliver 10G, each step up will have to be carefully planned and implemented but these upgrades will be on a rolling programme.
__________________
The wheel's still turning but the hamsters dead.
Pierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 21:37   #4
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,073
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

They blab about something like this every few years, usually whenever a competitor beats their last max speed. It's not hard to hit a high number in lab-like conditions, and gives them a cheap headline and a bit of real-world data.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 21:55   #5
Pierre
The Dark Satanic Mills
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: floating in the ether
Posts: 8,931
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skie View Post
They blab about something like this every few years, usually whenever a competitor beats their last max speed. It's not hard to hit a high number in lab-like conditions, and gives them a cheap headline and a bit of real-world data.
It’s not “lab Conditions”.

As I have said, the equipment they have is 10G capable. It will be a challenge on various parts of the network, but CIN and RPhy will get us there.

In regards to the 2G, that is quite simply turning up the dial on what is already in place. Once 1G is rolled out nationwide,they are just signposting that 2G is already there.
__________________
The wheel's still turning but the hamsters dead.
Pierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 22:06   #6
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,445
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre View Post
Er, it is true.
I wait for a mind blowing explanation as to how >2gbit speeds were achieved using a router with 1gbit ports.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 22:47   #7
Pierre
The Dark Satanic Mills
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: floating in the ether
Posts: 8,931
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

The speeds were delivered via the existing cable network using DOCSIS 3.1 broadband technology and the Hub 4. The trial also provided average upload speeds of 214Mbps.

To overcome the issue if the 1G ports they partnered with SamKnows who delevoped a clever little speed tester that will actually run the test within the Hub4. This removed the usual restrictions with the 1Gb Ethernet ports.

This, apparently, is a live feature on the network today and all Hub4 customers can access this via www.samknows.com/realspeed. SamKnows will then accurately run a speed test in accordance to the OFCOM Speed Code and return the results back to the customer in just under 30 secs.

If you’re on the Gig1 service or on the latest Hub4 then You can try it. Hub3 users not yet.

---------- Post added at 21:47 ---------- Previous post was at 21:41 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
I wait for a mind blowing explanation as to how >2gbit speeds were achieved using a router with 1gbit ports.
How’s your mind?
__________________
The wheel's still turning but the hamsters dead.
Pierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 23:12   #8
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,073
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre View Post
It’s not “lab Conditions”.
Why do you think I said "lab-like"?

Easy to choose a part of the network with the right conditions to give you the expected outcomes.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 23:14   #9
Pierre
The Dark Satanic Mills
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: floating in the ether
Posts: 8,931
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skie View Post
Why do you think I said "lab-like"?
.
Well it’s not that either, it was done in the field on existing network
__________________
The wheel's still turning but the hamsters dead.
Pierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2020, 00:07   #10
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,445
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre View Post
How’s your mind?
Deflated by a misrepresented bodge job
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2020, 19:57   #11
rtho782
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 139
rtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Given the 1G limitation this is pointless.

Absolutely stupid to release a new hub where it's day 1 speed tier is higher than it can achieve to any device due to only having 1G ports. A single SFP+ cage would have had minimal costs.

I can't believe that there are many people who would pay for 2.2G broadband that wouldn't also want to use modem mode, so even the multi device argument is out the window.

---------- Post added at 18:57 ---------- Previous post was at 18:56 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre View Post
DOCSIS 3.1 can deliver 10G
The Hub 4 definitely can't, even if you play the "multiple devices in router mode" angle as it doesn't have 10G worth of LAN interfaces total.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2020, 20:42   #12
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,053
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtho782 View Post
Absolutely stupid to release a new hub where it's day 1 speed tier is higher than it can achieve to any device due to only having 1G ports. A single SFP+ cage would have had minimal costs.
Except Arris/Commscope don't do a cable gateway like that. Liberty Global can't install a product that doesn't exist.

https://www.commscope.com/product-ty...teways-modems/

---------- Post added at 19:42 ---------- Previous post was at 19:38 ----------

At the point the Hub 4 was locked down for its specs, they didn't do a 2.5Gbit Ethernet product either.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2020, 21:00   #13
rtho782
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 139
rtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

There are plenty of modems a out that at least support link aggregation, which would have been a big improvement.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2020, 21:07   #14
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,053
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Arris are one of Liberty Global's technology partners. They made the Hub 3, Hub 4 and the V6 hardware along with other network hardware in both Virgin Media and the wider Liberty Global network.

So it would have been odd to pick another supplier for the Hub 4 based on the existing relationship.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2020, 22:03   #15
Pierre
The Dark Satanic Mills
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: floating in the ether
Posts: 8,931
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin testing 2.2 Gbps

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtho782 View Post
Given the 1G limitation this is pointless.

Absolutely stupid to release a new hub where it's day 1 speed tier is higher than it can achieve to any device due to only having 1G ports. A single SFP+ cage would have had minimal costs.

I can't believe that there are many people who would pay for 2.2G broadband that wouldn't also want to use modem mode, so even the multi device argument is out the window.
It’s not a product. 2G won’t be offered for god knows when. It was an exercise to prove that 2G is capable on the HFC network to be rolled when ready.

I wouldn’t expect 2G to be available for a couple of years at least, probably more. More than enough time to for new hardware to rolled out.

Quote:
The Hub 4 definitely can't, even if you play the "multiple devices in router mode" angle as it doesn't have 10G worth of LAN interfaces total.
Of course it can’t, i don’t understand what you’re getting upset about. 10G when lands could be a decade away.
__________________
The wheel's still turning but the hamsters dead.
Pierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:23.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.