Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Ping times to Hub3 are abysmal

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Ping times to Hub3 are abysmal
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-09-2020, 01:32   #16
esivdanacI
emrebmemer
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 4
esivdanacI has disabled reputation
Re: Ping times to Hub3 are abysmal

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalleh View Post
...
Was adding my 2 cents the the Hub 4.0 isn't any better than the 3.0

So climb down off the high horse.
Good point, well made!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
I appreciate the comments. I know the hub4 uses the same chipset with the same issues, but I believe it's clocked much higher which sort of...gets around those issues a little.
Really....? (The answer is "no". You don't have the correct facts in front of you ....)

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
Made me chuckle
Yes, I had a laugh too!
esivdanacI is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 14-09-2020, 01:50   #17
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,737
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: Ping times to Hub3 are abysmal

Quote:
Originally Posted by esivdanacI View Post
Really....? (The answer is "no". You don't have the correct facts in front of you ....)
What are you referring to?

The HUB3 uses Puma6, which is well documented to have issues.

The Hub4 uses Puma7, which is susceptable to the same issue.

Here's a graph from this site showing them both failing, albeit the puma7 fares slightly better:



So what facts am I missing?
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2020, 12:12   #18
kalleh
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 107
kalleh is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Ping times to Hub3 are abysmal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skie View Post
They don't know their Arris from their elbow.

I'm here all week.
10 Points to this man!
kalleh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2020, 14:21   #19
kalleh
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 107
kalleh is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Ping times to Hub3 are abysmal

Put it in a modem mode with a router today let's see how the graph looks now after a few days.

kalleh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:49.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.