Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | UHD on Virgin Media

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

UHD on Virgin Media
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-06-2018, 17:30   #781
awesometeeth
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Services: vip
Posts: 217
awesometeeth is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Bizarre to watch you making stuff up. I thought you were going?

Your very angry, more replies...

All this for wanting 4k channels to be transmitted using existing platforms, how insane :-D

Last edited by awesometeeth; 25-06-2018 at 17:40.
awesometeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 25-06-2018, 17:47   #782
Ultimate.Conj
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Berkshire
Services: Virgin Media Oomph 500mb, XL TV, Sky Movies & Sports HD, Amazon Prime, Netflix UHD
Posts: 1,096
Ultimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to behold
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by awesometeeth View Post
Bizarre to watch you making stuff up. I thought you were going?

Your very angry, more replies...

All this for wanting 4k channels to be transmitted using existing platforms, how insane :-D

Angry and making stuff up? hahaha...now I know you are messing about.

Again, with a V6 + 100mbs + 4K tv, you'll be able to watch the 4K HLG feed on the iplayer without worrying about anyone else on the internet.

The only small issue I have with the iPlayer, is the time-lag, but the picture is crystal clear.

4K channels will probably come, but with new technology being tested, it's not going to be anytime soon I wouldn't have thought.

No anger there at all.... lol
Ultimate.Conj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 17:58   #783
awesometeeth
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Services: vip
Posts: 217
awesometeeth is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Upto 100mb and don't whatever you do go look at threads about poor speeds and local congestion or your little head will implode :-D

Your spending all this time angrily telling me it's my connection when you ignore that I've told you my TV has 100mb and it's still fluctuating :-D

We have had two 4k red button channels recently :O

See, these angry kittens don't live in the same world...

Show how unangrry you are by posting again telling me I'm wrong....

All this for suggesting we should be getting our 4k live content via existing platforms, bizarre.
awesometeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 18:09   #784
Ultimate.Conj
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Berkshire
Services: Virgin Media Oomph 500mb, XL TV, Sky Movies & Sports HD, Amazon Prime, Netflix UHD
Posts: 1,096
Ultimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to beholdUltimate.Conj is a splendid one to behold
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by awesometeeth View Post
Upto 100mb and don't whatever you do go look at threads about poor speeds and local congestion or your little head will implode :-D

Your spending all this time angrily telling me it's my connection when you ignore that I've told you my TV has 100mb and it's still fluctuating :-D

We have had two 4k red button channels recently :O

See, these angry kittens don't live in the same world...

Show how unangrry you are by posting again telling me I'm wrong....

All this for suggesting we should be getting our 4k live content via existing platforms, bizarre.
Calm down, take a chill pill.

The 2 red buttons did not broadcast 4K in HLG....
I'm all for 4k channels, but only when the technology allows it to.

Your TV may have 100mb and fluctuation, but that won't stop you from accessing the 4K feed on the iPlayer...or did you mean you can access it, but the buffering problems made it painful?

Thanks for helping me to 1,000 posts lol

Last edited by Ultimate.Conj; 25-06-2018 at 18:17.
Ultimate.Conj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 18:27   #785
Stephen
Bah Humbug!!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rutherglen
Age: 39
Services: Sky Q 2Tb, Sky Q mini, boxsets and Sports & Movies HD, Sky Fibre unlimited
Posts: 13,185
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Could everyone please refrain from resorting to winding each other up. Stay on topic or take a break from the thread, no need to start being rude.
__________________
XBOX Gamertag: MartyMcFly88 PSN ID: raystantz_84
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 20:06   #786
awesometeeth
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Services: vip
Posts: 217
awesometeeth is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

The quality of this picture is lower, without question. Shimmering lines and grass ...

The first week was much bette but buffered.

I'm going to guess they are using faster encoding settings

Edit: I'm talking about the lines on the other side of the camera position and the grass there.
awesometeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 01:27   #787
Rob King
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Services: Virgin Media Vip200 , V6 owner , Virgin Mobile, + Virgin Home Phone
Posts: 257
Rob King will become famous soon enoughRob King will become famous soon enoughRob King will become famous soon enough
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

The past few days I don't get the buffer on the iplayer the games run OK but as the quality I think it looks better in HD my 4k tv is 2 months old and is encluded in the list of compatable tvs to get uhd
Rob King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 20:59   #788
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,078
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

This is the second time that I've tried the UHD feed from the iplayer for the Argentina game, and the PQ is better in HD, than it is in UHD!
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 21:00   #789
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 54,542
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Max View Post
This is the second time that I've tried the UHD feed from the iplayer for the Argentina game, and the PQ is better in HD, than it is in UHD!
So a con then..
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 21:10   #790
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,078
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by denphone View Post
So a con then..
No idea, Den, my TV is a 4K UHD capable set and can also show HLG, so I'm at odds as to why the PQ isn't as it should be after all the hype about it.
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 21:29   #791
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 11,434
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin-D View Post
Sky Q customers are only getting the semi-finals and finals plus it won't be shown in HDR

VM V6 customers will get the best offering with 4K/HDR via the iPlayer and every match which is on centre court
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Max View Post
This is the second time that I've tried the UHD feed from the iplayer for the Argentina game, and the PQ is better in HD, than it is in UHD!
The Beeb have a few issues go irion out, then!

Thank God it's just a trial.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 22:12   #792
awesometeeth
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Services: vip
Posts: 217
awesometeeth is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

That's the thing though, it's not a trial as such like we might think.

The issues inherent in going outside a closed controlled system aren't going away and the reason they capped the connections is because they were concerned the UK network structure couldn't cope otherwise.

The thing is, I think 4k take up is going to be a lot faster than UK broadband speed increase, and even then you're still going to have issues with local congestion on the last mile and potential issues in the home.

Now I get that is a good cover for the BBC as it's platform neutral, but this surely can't be the intention for the BBC to only use the iPlayer for 4k?

Edit: picture was good but has several buffers and stops so went back to HD
awesometeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 22:58   #793
Mythica
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 724
Mythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of Quads
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by awesometeeth View Post
Anger? From the people squealing over someone wanting a reliable connection :-)

I get it, you don't like people having a view you don't agree with.

Sure, go off and do something else, thanks for you time.

My connection btw is giving me 100mb to the TV so...

And yeah, you don't think using the internet while trying to stream a 4k feed might cause issues?

Bizarre.

Edit: and part of the reason it's a trial is because they don't think the UK network could cope without limiting it. Does that sound like a better system than using cable or satellite....
The other day we were streaming a game in 4k From the V6, watching the other game on iPlayer on a phone while another phone was on YouTube watching a 30 minute video at 1080p on the 350Mb broadband without a problem.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 23:03   #794
awesometeeth
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Services: vip
Posts: 217
awesometeeth is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
The other day we were streaming a game in 4k From the V6, watching the other game on iPlayer on a phone while another phone was on YouTube watching a 30 minute video at 1080p on the 350Mb broadband without a problem.

Only required 350mb, that's great news!
awesometeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 23:13   #795
Mythica
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 724
Mythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of Quads
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by awesometeeth View Post
Only required 350mb, that's great news!
You said -

"And yeah, you don't think using the internet while trying to stream a 4k feed might cause issues?"

Simply pointing out it was fine for me.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:20.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.