Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

4 upstream channel bonding - post here
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-08-2017, 23:49   #1
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 41
Posts: 13,996
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
4 upstream channel bonding - post here

As the title says, post here if you have 4 upstream channels bonded on your modem, alongside where in the country you are and upstream stats if you can.

It's a project in progress on the VM network so it'd be interesting to see just where they are.

It's a precursor to higher upstream speeds having the 4 channel bonding done.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 28-08-2017, 11:20   #2
daveybm
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Services: Full House
Posts: 87
daveybm is on a distinguished roaddaveybm is on a distinguished road
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

4 x 16QAM, Area20 Wirral
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 10.17.22.png (176.6 KB, 107 views)
daveybm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 18:22   #3
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : VM Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 22,745
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Still only two here (Nottingham).
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 20:48   #4
Cromulent
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Services: VIVID 350, Sky Q
Posts: 71
Cromulent is on a distinguished roadCromulent is on a distinguished road
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Only two here as well. Surrey. I'm on VIVID 350 as well so they are not giving higher speed customers priority.
Cromulent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 21:48   #5
vm_tech
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 315
vm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to all
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
Only two here as well. Surrey. I'm on VIVID 350 as well so they are not giving higher speed customers priority.
The tier the customers on won't have any bearing on how many upstreams are in use. It's all about the equipment out in the field. Some areas have 65mhz upstreams some have 42mhz. The 42mhz areas on only physically fit 3 upstreams, so the modems will run on 2 of the 3. The 42mhz areas will be upgraded in due course though. And the areas running older kit, as the future plan will be to go above 65mhz
vm_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2017, 05:20   #6
2pence
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Services: VIVID 350 Fibre
Posts: 46
2pence is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Still 2 here.
Attached Images
File Type: png 2uploadchannels.png (22.0 KB, 39 views)
__________________
Hub 3.0: v9.1.1802.613, Router Mode | VIVID 350
2pence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2017, 10:31   #7
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 41
Posts: 13,996
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

I was rather hoping people with 4 channel bonding would post, not people who are still not on it, and the first post makes clear what I had in mind.

This was a thread modeled after the ones here.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/comcast

Looks like it's a bit late for that. Oh well.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2017, 11:14   #8
ianch99
cf.mega poster
 
ianch99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,920
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Can someone explain the benefits of moving to 4 upstream channels (from 2)? Many thanks!
__________________
pfsense + BT Whole Home WiFi
ianch99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2017, 11:24   #9
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 63
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 8,610
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianch99 View Post
Can someone explain the benefits of moving to 4 upstream channels (from 2)? Many thanks!
Read the first post.
pip08456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2017, 13:20   #10
joglynne
Born again teenager.
 
joglynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manchester. (VM area 20)
Age: 71
Services: Full House (XL), Vivid 200, Phone Talk Anytime
Posts: 12,337
joglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aura
joglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aura
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Manchester ( Baguley) area 20.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg VM upstream Aug 2017.jpg (100.9 KB, 70 views)
__________________
Determined to grow very very old.
joglynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2017, 14:32   #11
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : VM Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 22,745
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignitionnet View Post
I was rather hoping people with 4 channel bonding would post, not people who are still not on it, and the first post makes clear what I had in mind.
Your stated aim was to see how far the project had progressed.
Quote:
It's a project in progress on the VM network so it'd be interesting to see just where they are.
Therefore knowing it has not reached an area seems as useful as knowing it has, otherwise you have no idea one way or the other for that given area.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2017, 16:24   #12
Queb
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Queb is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

4 bonded upstreams wolverhampton
Queb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2017, 17:32   #13
ianch99
cf.mega poster
 
ianch99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,920
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Read the first post.
Thanks for your helpful reply.

The reason I asked was when I was researching this to better understand things, I came across this on the Wikipedia page:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOCSIS

Quote:
Throughput

The first three versions of the DOCSIS standard support a downstream throughput with 256-QAM of up to 42.88 Mbit/s per 6 MHz channel (approximately 38 Mbit/s after overhead), or 55.62 Mbit/s per 8 MHz channel for EuroDOCSIS (approximately 50 Mbit/s after overhead). The upstream throughput possible is 30.72 Mbit/s per 6.4 MHz channel (approximately 27 Mbit/s after overhead), or 10.24 Mbit/s per 3.2 MHz channel (approximately 9 Mbit/s after overhead).
so I was curious if the 2 channels we have now can, in the real world, be pushed to get nearer these theoretical limits (2 channels ==> 54Mbps). The only reason I went to 350/20 is for the upload and so if our CMTS is stuck on 2 channels for the time being, would this preclude higher uploads even though, on first reading, the DOCSIS page hints at more.
__________________
pfsense + BT Whole Home WiFi
ianch99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2017, 17:44   #14
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,471
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianch99 View Post
Thanks for your helpful reply.

The reason I asked was when I was researching this to better understand things, I came across this on the Wikipedia page:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOCSIS



so I was curious if the 2 channels we have now can, in the real world, be pushed to get nearer these theoretical limits (2 channels ==> 54Mbps). The only reason I went to 350/20 is for the upload and so if our CMTS is stuck on 2 channels for the time being, would this preclude higher uploads even though, on first reading, the DOCSIS page hints at more.
More channels = more speed.

Though having more channels doesn't mean you'll get more speed, it does mean Virgin can push more speed down the line.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2017, 20:47   #15
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 6,721
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: 4 upstream channel bonding - post here

RG41

Upstream bonded channels
Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
6 39400000 ATDMA 45.3 64 qam 6400000 5120
8 25800000 ATDMA 45.3 16 qam 6400000 5120
7 32600000 ATDMA 45.3 64 qam 6400000 5120
5 46200000 ATDMA 45.3 64 qam 6400000 5120

When I use the SNMP browser call on the Hub 3, my mini-slot size has dropped from 4 to 2.

---------- Post added at 19:47 ---------- Previous post was at 19:40 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianch99 View Post
Thanks for your helpful reply.

The reason I asked was when I was researching this to better understand things, I came across this on the Wikipedia page:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOCSIS



so I was curious if the 2 channels we have now can, in the real world, be pushed to get nearer these theoretical limits (2 channels ==> 54Mbps). The only reason I went to 350/20 is for the upload and so if our CMTS is stuck on 2 channels for the time being, would this preclude higher uploads even though, on first reading, the DOCSIS page hints at more.
You would get the 20 meg if the upstream contention is low.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:59.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.