Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | WiFi / Lan speeds.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

WiFi / Lan speeds.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2019, 14:06   #1
philwhite100
This tastes nice
 
philwhite100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hindley Green Wigan
Services: TiVo V6 - 500mb -
Posts: 542
philwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to philwhite100
WiFi / Lan speeds.

I have a reasonably large difference in download speeds between a Wifi and Wired connection.

My main PC is a wired connection and gets on average 430Mbps where my iMac on a Wifi connection gets on average 520Mbps when using speediest dot net.

I am not complaining though as this is pretty good but i always thought a wired connection gave best results.

FYI.....
My PC is a high spec machine with Gigabit LAN using hight quality Ethernet cables.
__________________
I once had Amnesia, i remember it well !!!
philwhite100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-11-2019, 22:23   #2
Hom3r
Proud Ex EU Citizen.
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 50
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 15,281
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: WiFi / Lan speeds.

It could be a piece of kit dragging the wired down.
__________________
I voted leave, Leave means leave, and NO to an illegal 2nd referendum. We already voted in a democratic vote. Twitter Facebook
My Blog
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 18:31   #3
ianch99
cf.mega poster
 
ianch99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,906
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
Re: WiFi / Lan speeds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by philwhite100 View Post
I have a reasonably large difference in download speeds between a Wifi and Wired connection.

My main PC is a wired connection and gets on average 430Mbps where my iMac on a Wifi connection gets on average 520Mbps when using speediest dot net.

I am not complaining though as this is pretty good but i always thought a wired connection gave best results.

FYI.....
My PC is a high spec machine with Gigabit LAN using hight quality Ethernet cables.
You can verify your PC and wiring using iPerf (https://iperf.fr/). Plug both Mac and PC into the router using ethernet and then run the iperf server on one and client on the other and then swap to verify. You can also run this on your Android/iOS device to check your WiFi speeds as well.

This will rule out the VM part (apart from the router )
__________________
pfsense + BT Whole Home WiFi
ianch99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 10:06   #4
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 6,670
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: WiFi / Lan speeds.

It will be very interesting to see the opera results when both machines are wired.

It may also be worth noting what is running in the background on both machines.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:40.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.