Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Upstream traffic management scrapped

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Upstream traffic management scrapped
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-06-2018, 06:44   #31
broadbandking
cf.mega poster
 
broadbandking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At My Desk
Services: Virgin Media Tivo XL TV - 200Mb Broadband
Posts: 2,980
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
Re: Upstream traffic management scrapped

Speeds aren't as important to me as they used to be and my uploads has never been hit by the STM but nice to see VM changing their rules
__________________
My Broadband Ping
broadbandking is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 17-06-2018, 20:46   #32
Aye Up
Barking up the wrong tree
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manchester
Age: 34
Services: Sky+HD Cinema & Sports VM Phone & 200Mb Gamer, BT Phone Line & Broadband YouView
Posts: 60
Aye Up will become famous soon enoughAye Up will become famous soon enoughAye Up will become famous soon enough
Re: Upstream traffic management scrapped

I have been on either the Gamer 200 or 300 meg package throughout my time so was never really affected by STM. That said it is a good thing, I hope they boost the upload on their top package to 35Mb at some point in the future.
Aye Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2018, 22:57   #33
dragon
cf.mega poster
 
dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,895
dragon has reached the bronze age
dragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze age
Re: Upstream traffic management scrapped

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
it is only unneccessary if they offer a speed which you cant really benefit from but I think these days most people will be pleasantly surprised. I like to get things downloaded asap even if it means my connection being idle 99% of the time and I love Steam purely for the speed when I get a new game. I would love to have 500mbits now just to see what Steam gives me.
I've found with some games that start to decompress the files as the download occurs that my CPU becomes the bottleneck. Maybe i'm due an upgrade
__________________
'It's not a bug its a feature'
dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2018, 18:44   #34
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,435
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Upstream traffic management scrapped

back in 2014 I went from a dual core athlon which I had had for donkeys years (and was starting to become an issue) to an i7 and the difference was phenomenal. I won't pretend that I use it to its capacity now but on the odd occasion that I do you can see where it makes a difference. It just churns through stuff which you expect to takes ages and it is because it has 4 physical cores and 8 virtual.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2018, 20:06   #35
dragon
cf.mega poster
 
dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,895
dragon has reached the bronze age
dragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze age
Re: Upstream traffic management scrapped

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
back in 2014 I went from a dual core athlon which I had had for donkeys years (and was starting to become an issue) to an i7 and the difference was phenomenal. I won't pretend that I use it to its capacity now but on the odd occasion that I do you can see where it makes a difference. It just churns through stuff which you expect to takes ages and it is because it has 4 physical cores and 8 virtual.
Mines a i7-4770 so whilst 3+yrs old now it's not exactly a slouch.
Problem is upgrading it means going to DDR4 and 16GB isn't exactly cheap at the moment.
__________________
'It's not a bug its a feature'
dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2018, 22:12   #36
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 7,435
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Upstream traffic management scrapped

Snap, although when i got mine it came with 16gb
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:29.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.