Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Do you actually need very fast broadband speeds?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Do you actually need very fast broadband speeds?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-07-2022, 12:21   #16
Qtx
cf.mega poster
 
Qtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Probably inside the M25
Services: Sky Fibre Unlimited 40/10
Posts: 3,450
Qtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appeal
Qtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appeal
Re: Do you actually need very fast broadband speeds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy-J View Post
It wasn't always a luxury, there were a few other modems before it, and 2 tin cans and a piece of string before them. Still a luxury to those who had to rely on smoke rings!
Easier than trying to whistle the 1200 and 2400 baud handshake
__________________
Virgin to Sky switch=best decision ever
-----
The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist. And like that, poof. He's gone.
Qtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 31-07-2022, 12:49   #17
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 350Mb, V6 STB
Posts: 7,529
nomadking has a bronze arraynomadking has a bronze arraynomadking has a bronze array
nomadking has a bronze arraynomadking has a bronze arraynomadking has a bronze arraynomadking has a bronze arraynomadking has a bronze array
Re: Do you actually need very fast broadband speeds?

Acoustic couplers? 1.2Kbps, pushing the phone handset into the foam block. Knock the shelf it was on, and you'd likely cause a disconnection.
No direct electrical connection was allowed to the phone network.

Last edited by nomadking; 31-07-2022 at 13:57.
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2022, 22:47   #18
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,150
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: Do you actually need very fast broadband speeds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qtx View Post

Its funny but I remember my pings and latency going by to modem, ISDN and the first 1Mbit cable days and I preferred them over my VM connection later.

96 Ping on an internal modem to quake servers on modem with minimal jitter.

10 to 12 Ping on Blueyonder 1Mbit to quakeworld servers with a jitter of 1 or 2

VM was around 28 to 34 ping and ok at first but then started to get jitter of 30+ all the time with worse spikes here and there. n.
Back in the olden days, Telewest used to host Counterstrike and Team Fortress servers and you could dial-in to the local POP (point of presence) and get very low pings as you were terminating your connection inside the same network as the game servers. 56k users doing that would have better connections than non-Telewest users, it was great

When they started doing service via cable modems, this was indeed better for latency and jitter. But the inherent fault with DOCISIS is that it's a wide area broadcast network, and you get allocated a slot to 'shout' your message on. That's fine on a brand new, really quiet network where 99% of people are still using dial-up. You aren't sharing the slots with many others so your packets are sent frequently! But eventually more and more users went to cable, so you had to wait for them to 'shout' before you could, hence jitter got worse.

The VM network is healthier than it was some years ago, where lots of areas were oversubscribed for the capacity available, but getting back to the heady days of only having to share the megaphone with just 1 other user on your street isn't going to happen. VM moving over to full fibre will, eventually, solve this, but only when they finally dispense with the last vestiges of cable - it'll be the old system running on top of fibre for some time.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2022, 00:40   #19
Qtx
cf.mega poster
 
Qtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Probably inside the M25
Services: Sky Fibre Unlimited 40/10
Posts: 3,450
Qtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appeal
Qtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appeal
Re: Do you actually need very fast broadband speeds?

The jitter was mostly over congestion and the limitation of DOCSIS back then.

A couple of friends of mine started Barrysworld which hosted servers and they also had their own POP to dial in to. Before then we had a server hidden away at work on dark fibre which wasn't really utilised properly by the company at the time which we just used among ourselves while 'testing' it Think my ping there averaged about 6 while at work
__________________
Virgin to Sky switch=best decision ever
-----
The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist. And like that, poof. He's gone.
Qtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:15.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.