Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | remove CableTel phone point

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Fixed Phone Service

remove CableTel phone point
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-05-2022, 10:29   #1
punkrock101
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newtownabbey
Age: 34
Services: Sky Q, Freesat, Sky Gigafast FTTP Broadband, Virgin Gig1
Posts: 73
punkrock101 is an unknown quantity at this point
remove CableTel phone point

Hello
I am getting work done to my house I have an old CableTel phone socket that hasn't been used in years. I currently have Virgin Media broadband & phone service over voip with them. would it be okay to remove the old socket as its been redundant for years?
punkrock101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 21-05-2022, 11:27   #2
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 66
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 100Mb service.
Posts: 11,070
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: remove CableTel phone point

Yes. As you are using their VoIP service it is now redundant.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2022, 12:16   #3
punkrock101
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newtownabbey
Age: 34
Services: Sky Q, Freesat, Sky Gigafast FTTP Broadband, Virgin Gig1
Posts: 73
punkrock101 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: remove CableTel phone point

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Yes. As you are using their VoIP service it is now redundant.
Okay was just concerned about the legality of removing it as I know BT can get very shirty with you touching their sockets thought Virgin would be the same.
punkrock101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2022, 10:11   #4
Halcyon
Hello !
 
Halcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: East Midlands
Services: Sky, AppleTV, Netflix
Posts: 16,172
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Re: remove CableTel phone point

Just chopping it off in your house won't cause any issues. It's not like you are digging up the road or touching the Exchange.
__________________
.
-

Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2022, 18:56   #5
punkrock101
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newtownabbey
Age: 34
Services: Sky Q, Freesat, Sky Gigafast FTTP Broadband, Virgin Gig1
Posts: 73
punkrock101 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: remove CableTel phone point

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon View Post
Just chopping it off in your house won't cause any issues. It's not like you are digging up the road or touching the Exchange.
Not problem I actually removed it on Saturday afternoon including the cabling that went round the house and outside. surprisingly it wasn't connected to anything in the omni box outside think it could have been when they done a repull a while ago.
punkrock101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:12.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.