Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Mod tests.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Freesat & Freeview

Mod tests.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 18:36   #31
cheekyangus
cf.geek
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 682
cheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to all
Re: Mod tests.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
I'm assuming that these tests were successful, as i've been told that Freesports HD is now using this standard and that S4C HD is in the process of changing over.
I was amazed when I read about these recent switches, I thought all the HD on satellite was on S2 rather than S. Particularly with Freesports as that's so recent.

I think S2 was part of the Generation 1 specs for HD on Freesat and Sky's HD boxes have always met the spec too, so surprising. I can understand it from the point of view of the satellite operators though, S2 boxes are backwards compatible and S can hold MPEG4 streams as I understand it, so given the cost of satellites (to launch) just keep the status quo for as long as is practical.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old Yesterday, 18:48   #32
jfman
Architect of Ideas
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,415
jfman has reached the bronze age
jfman has reached the bronze age
Re: Mod tests.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekyangus View Post
I was amazed when I read about these recent switches, I thought all the HD on satellite was on S2 rather than S. Particularly with Freesports as that's so recent.

I think S2 was part of the Generation 1 specs for HD on Freesat and Sky's HD boxes have always met the spec too, so surprising. I can understand it from the point of view of the satellite operators though, S2 boxes are backwards compatible and S can hold MPEG4 streams as I understand it, so given the cost of satellites (to launch) just keep the status quo for as long as is practical.
Itís not really convenient for the satellite operator (in fact S2 lets them squeeze out more bandwidth to sell) but if you are say Channel 5 it might suit you to just throw an HD channel in with your existing SD channels that are on a DVB-S transponder.
jfman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 18:51   #33
cheekyangus
cf.geek
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 682
cheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to all
Re: Mod tests.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfman View Post
Itís not really convenient for the satellite operator (in fact S2 lets them squeeze out more bandwidth to sell) but if you are say Channel 5 it might suit you to just throw an HD channel in with your existing SD channels that are on a DVB-S transponder.
That's the impression I got when I investigated earlier. Thanks jfman.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:48.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.