Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-04-2021, 12:47   #736
Bob
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Croydon
Age: 35
Services: Sky TV and Hyperoptic BB
Posts: 1,291
Bob has reached the bronze age
Bob has reached the bronze ageBob has reached the bronze ageBob has reached the bronze ageBob has reached the bronze age
Send a message via MSN to Bob
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Yes my parents had the audio issue but I thought that has been resolved. There was a workaround anyway that seemed to do the trick. But can't remember what it was. I think Spiderplant made the suggestion in this very thread.
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 21-04-2021, 13:42   #737
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,206
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

I haven't heard of any lip-sync problems for a few weeks so I suspect it has been resolved.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2021, 16:58   #738
jobbie8
cf.addict
 
jobbie8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Teesside
Services: VM Max It TV and movies, V6, BB 200MB, M Phone, VM mobile
Posts: 412
jobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nice
Thumbs up Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
I haven't heard of any lip-sync problems for a few weeks so I suspect it has been resolved.
Thanks guys
jobbie8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2021, 10:00   #739
jobbie8
cf.addict
 
jobbie8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Teesside
Services: VM Max It TV and movies, V6, BB 200MB, M Phone, VM mobile
Posts: 412
jobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nice
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

I received the new remote yesterday, going to update V6 later this week.

The 360 is Horizon, yes? Does anyone know if it's the same version around Europe?
If so, do they have the same bugs as the UK?
jobbie8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2021, 12:40   #740
ScottishSteve
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 230
ScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really nice
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
I haven't heard of any lip-sync problems for a few weeks so I suspect it has been resolved.
Iíve never had problems till this last few weeks and now Iíve noticed a drift in Sound sync some days for no apparent reason.
ScottishSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2021, 13:47   #741
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 70
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 3,024
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Not having a go at anyone, why did you choose to change ? From my usage l can not see the point but there again l did t change to v6 from tivo until it packed in !!!!!
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2021, 15:40   #742
ScottishSteve
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 230
ScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really nice
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itshim View Post
Not having a go at anyone, why did you choose to change ? From my usage l can not see the point but there again l did t change to v6 from tivo until it packed in !!!!!
I was quite keen to try it out and I still really like it and it is a lot fresher than the Tivo interface.

My wife says she can navigate it a whole lot easier than Tivo

I like the HD channel swap and the voice instructions (which at first I thought it was gimmicky) and I use it all the time now.

Overall although their are a few features missing, I think for us that it is much better (and less cluttered)
ScottishSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2021, 17:54   #743
jobbie8
cf.addict
 
jobbie8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Teesside
Services: VM Max It TV and movies, V6, BB 200MB, M Phone, VM mobile
Posts: 412
jobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nice
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itshim View Post
Not having a go at anyone, why did you choose to change ? From my usage l can not see the point but there again l did t change to v6 from tivo until it packed in !!!!!
I held off for a while which is unusual for me as I like to get new tech at release and didn't reply to my email invitation.

I remember back when I forced my ntl digital box to update to get the 'new' VirginTV black and yellow software weeks before they rolled it out and I was one of the first customers to get Tivo in Teeside.

I found myself speaking commands to Google Home to turn on lights, heating, TV's and so on, that when I type on Tivo it feels very slow.
I like that HD channels replace SD versions
and I like the look of the new modern software.

Also, I didn't pay a fee, the change hasn't altered my discounts or contract.

I hardly record much these days, I usually stream from On-demand and Apps.

Yes, there are a few features missing, and apps for now, but I'm sure new ones and updates will come to 360 in the future.

Last edited by jobbie8; 25-04-2021 at 18:43.
jobbie8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2021, 20:10   #744
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,206
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jobbie8 View Post
The 360 is Horizon, yes? Does anyone know if it's the same version around Europe?
If so, do they have the same bugs as the UK?
Yes, yes and probably.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2021, 17:17   #745
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 70
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 3,024
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Wink Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jobbie8 View Post
I held off for a while which is unusual for me as I like to get new tech at release and didn't reply to my email invitation.

I remember back when I forced my ntl digital box to update to get the 'new' VirginTV black and yellow software weeks before they rolled it out and I was one of the first customers to get Tivo in Teeside.

I found myself speaking commands to Google Home to turn on lights, heating, TV's and so on, that when I type on Tivo it feels very slow.
I like that HD channels replace SD versions
and I like the look of the new modern software.

Also, I didn't pay a fee, the change hasn't altered my discounts or contract.

I hardly record much these days, I usually stream from On-demand and Apps.

Yes, there are a few features missing, and apps for now, but I'm sure new ones and updates will come to 360 in the future.
Guess that sums it up don't use google home ( don't trust it) or Alexa .a don't type on v6 ,no need. . Hd sd don't care but in favorite always choose hdif available
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2021, 08:44   #746
jobbie8
cf.addict
 
jobbie8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Teesside
Services: VM Max It TV and movies, V6, BB 200MB, M Phone, VM mobile
Posts: 412
jobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nicejobbie8 is just really nice
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

I changed to 360 this morning, the update only took 6 minutes, (the info screen said 30 mins) I'm liking everything so far, very fast and modern looking software.
jobbie8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2021, 15:55   #747
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,372
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Never been offered it, I certainly won't be paying for a software update if offered.
Mad Max is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2021, 20:50   #748
dodgem22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: staffordshire
Services: virgin tv phone and broadband giff gaff mobile
Posts: 278
dodgem22 has a spectacular aura about themdodgem22 has a spectacular aura about themdodgem22 has a spectacular aura about themdodgem22 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Not been offered it yet either. I will wait until most of the teething problems have been sorted out before I switch.
dodgem22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2021, 09:35   #749
spankysmagicpian
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Ultimate Oomph although there is nothing ultimate or oomph about it.
Posts: 813
spankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these parts
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

They need to allow Alexa control as Sky have done and then I might be interested.
spankysmagicpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2021, 14:48   #750
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 690/44Mpbs, TV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD (+HDR), DAB+
Posts: 1,364
ozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

There is no Alexa control on Sky.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spankysmagicpian View Post
They need to allow Alexa control as Sky have done and then I might be interested.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (0 members and 7 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:31.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.