Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Check my levels please

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Check my levels please
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2021, 09:43   #16
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,760
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Check my levels please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfire16 View Post
are Technicians timed on jobs timed? i.e. they have a certain amount of time on a job?
they do have an allotted time because they obviously have to make another visits during the day however they are allowed ample time to investigate and repair your fault which includes a cup of tea/coffee and a chin wag.

As I mentioned before, his time also includes a trip to your street cab and checking the power levels at the tap point (which are very good). Show him the rs levels and tell him you can reset them now and they'll be in their hundreds again by the end of the day. It shouldn't be like that on every single channel and there can only be a a few reasons and explanations as to what is causing it. It is all about providing him with the information and data he needs to troubleshoot and make a definitive diagnosis.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 09-03-2021, 10:39   #17
raging bull
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Services: Tivo V6 - L TV/XL Phone /200Mb BB
Posts: 847
raging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quads
Re: Check my levels please

From experience though when the problem is caused by another customer allowing a signal back onto the cable. Tracking down a wayword customer is a time consuming business!
raging bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2021, 11:59   #18
Spitfire16
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Spitfire16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Check my levels please

Technician has been and gone , checked my line with his device , showed 5 graphs most of them amber or red in colour.

checked the cable coming into the house on both side of the wall , no problem

Made a call to networks who checked the cab and found no noise coming from the cab

he checked the CAB and confirmed a dodgy connection which he's fixed..

he confirmed Post RS should remain at 0 , said there was nothing more he could do , but said Virgin are delivering me a new router today , said to activate and try that and see how it goes

Quote:
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 330750000 3.7 40 256 qam 25
2 258750000 2 40 256 qam 16
3 266750000 2.5 40 256 qam 17
4 274750000 2.5 40 256 qam 18
5 282750000 2.9 40 256 qam 19
6 290750000 3 40 256 qam 20
7 298750000 3.4 40 256 qam 21
8 306750000 3.5 40 256 qam 22
9 314750000 3.7 40 256 qam 23
10 322750000 3.7 40 256 qam 24
11 370750000 3 40 256 qam 26
12 378750000 2.9 40 256 qam 27
13 386750000 2.7 40 256 qam 28
14 394750000 2.5 40 256 qam 29
15 402750000 2.5 40 256 qam 30
16 410750000 2.5 40 256 qam 31
17 418750000 2.5 40 256 qam 32
18 426750000 2.5 40 256 qam 33
19 434750000 2.4 40 256 qam 34
20 442750000 2.5 40 256 qam 35
21 450750000 2.2 40 256 qam 36
22 458750000 2.2 40 256 qam 37
23 466750000 2 38 256 qam 38
24 474750000 2 40 256 qam 39


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 8558 798
2 Locked 40.3 5023 118
3 Locked 40.3 4951 33
4 Locked 40.9 4902 125
5 Locked 40.3 4579 111
6 Locked 40.3 5000 191
7 Locked 40.3 6488 173
8 Locked 40.3 5327 72
9 Locked 40.3 5909 81
10 Locked 40.3 8304 376
11 Locked 40.3 8746 2652
12 Locked 40.3 8879 1328
13 Locked 40.3 7327 681
14 Locked 40.3 7087 502
15 Locked 40.3 7665 348
16 Locked 40.3 8298 438
17 Locked 40.3 7204 687
18 Locked 40.3 8072 366
19 Locked 40.9 7772 402
20 Locked 40.3 6966 429
21 Locked 40.3 6107 103
22 Locked 40.3 5712 62
23 Locked 38.9 5061 147
24 Locked 40.3 3993 69
I think if the problem is still there is to open a complaint on the virgin media website
Spitfire16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2021, 20:31   #19
Spitfire16
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Spitfire16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Check my levels please

New router installed and activated - will post stats in the morning
Spitfire16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2021, 09:46   #20
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,760
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Check my levels please

and........................
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2021, 15:50   #21
Spitfire16
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Spitfire16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Check my levels please

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
and........................
Sorry , been busy recently,

They sent out a team manager/Leader who checked my connections and couldn't find anything wrong with it , he made a comment that post-rs colum tells you how many errors have been corrected , but did notice the cabinet needed rebalancing and he would ask networks to do it , a few hours later a noticed a VM network technician at my local cabinet who rebalanced it and i spoke to him and was very helpful confirmed that Post-RS Errors should be 0 or as close as they can get it

The stats are taken with 5 days of up time , We had a call a few days ago from a manager who we are phoning back

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 234750000 1.7 38 256 qam 13
2 138750000 4.3 40 256 qam 1
3 146750000 3.7 40 256 qam 2
4 154750000 3.7 38 256 qam 3
5 162750000 3.5 40 256 qam 4
6 170750000 3.5 40 256 qam 5
7 178750000 3.5 38 256 qam 6
8 186750000 3.4 38 256 qam 7
9 194750000 3.2 40 256 qam 8
10 202750000 2.9 38 256 qam 9
11 210750000 2.5 38 256 qam 10
12 218750000 2.2 40 256 qam 11
13 226750000 2.2 38 256 qam 12
14 242750000 1.4 38 256 qam 14
15 250750000 1.5 40 256 qam 15
16 258750000 1.4 38 256 qam 16
17 266750000 1.7 38 256 qam 17
18 274750000 1.9 38 256 qam 18
19 282750000 2 40 256 qam 19
20 290750000 2.2 40 256 qam 20
21 298750000 2.5 38 256 qam 21
22 306750000 2.7 40 256 qam 22
23 314750000 2.7 40 256 qam 23
24 322750000 2.7 40 256 qam 24


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 515578 53183
2 Locked 40.3 463558 26970
3 Locked 40.3 530166 29744
4 Locked 38.9 509974 29716
5 Locked 40.3 491148 31791
6 Locked 40.3 527966 34670
7 Locked 38.9 592315 43373
8 Locked 38.9 582593 49408
9 Locked 40.3 538286 51068
10 Locked 38.9 532489 53279
11 Locked 38.9 529318 56295
12 Locked 40.3 478354 59516
13 Locked 38.9 558286 57434
14 Locked 38.9 441614 22675
15 Locked 40.3 323311 8218
16 Locked 38.9 286713 6648
17 Locked 38.6 281019 6535
18 Locked 38.9 315925 7509
19 Locked 40.3 302026 6572
20 Locked 40.3 276470 5945
21 Locked 38.9 369428 8786
22 Locked 40.3 355267 12208
23 Locked 40.3 376200 19936
24 Locked 40.3 439740 33460

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 32600000 40 5120 64 qam 5
2 39400000 40 5120 64 qam 4
3 46200000 41.5 5120 64 qam 3
4 53700000 41.5 5120 64 qam 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 2 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 18 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 3 0

Still terrible? , does anyone on these forums work for virgin media?

Last edited by Spitfire16; 17-03-2021 at 15:55.
Spitfire16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2021, 16:42   #22
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,760
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Check my levels please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfire16 View Post
post-rs colum tells you how many errors have been corrected
Wrong, the post rs-errors column are the number or errors which remain after the shub has attempted to correct the errors. If for example you have 10 pre-errors and 3 post-errors, it means 7 were fixed and 3 remain. When this happens the post-errors are basically dead data and need to be re-transmitted again which means your data transfer takes longer because things are having to be sent twice. Mine are 0 across the board and a) you shouldn't have them across every single channel and b) not in the tens of thousands. You have also got T3 timeouts on every upstream channel.


When you ring them back tell them and ask them what they are going to do to fix it. If they give you some bullshit answer of "we have checked everything and are confused as you are" tell them they can start replacing everything starting with the cheapest thing first and working their way up until they find out what is causing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfire16 View Post
Still terrible? , does anyone on these forums work for virgin media?
There are 5 people that I know of but I think only one of them will be able to help. I'll send him a pm and see what he thinks.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight

Last edited by General Maximus; 17-03-2021 at 16:46.
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2021, 19:38   #23
Spitfire16
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Spitfire16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Check my levels please

Thank you , at my request the last technician left me some replacement cable for inside the house , is it worth swapping the cable over and seeing if this makes a difference ?

It's got the connectors on it at both ends - Ready to go

Last edited by Spitfire16; 17-03-2021 at 19:52.
Spitfire16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2021, 19:52   #24
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,169
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Check my levels please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfire16 View Post
Thank you , at my request the last technician did leave me some replacement cable for inside the house , is it swapping the cable over and seeing if this makes a difference ?

It's got the connectors on it at both ends - Ready to go
Put the cable in a drawer or cupboard and say nothing ablout it. It is not the issue. The engineer should sort out your problem when he comes.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2021, 20:14   #25
Spitfire16
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Spitfire16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Check my levels please

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Put the cable in a drawer or cupboard and say nothing ablout it. It is not the issue. The engineer should sort out your problem when he comes.
Good Point - Thanks will do !
Spitfire16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2021, 09:45   #26
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,760
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Check my levels please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfire16 View Post
at my request the last technician left me some replacement cable for inside the house
that is the kind of thing i was talking about when I said they should start swapping stuff out; the operative word being "they" and not you.


The VM guy I pm'd sends his apologies. He has reviewed all the info and can't do any more for you above what the techs have already done.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2021, 08:50   #27
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: 1 Gbps; Hub 4 MM; ASUS RT-AX88U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 8,659
Sephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronze
Sephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronze
Re: Check my levels please

Silly little point: just make sure your coax cables are tightly fixed at both ends.

Also, is there a splitter inside the house? If so, tell us that everything's tightly connected, that any spare port on the splitter has a 75ohm terminator on it and we can take it from there.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2021, 11:57   #28
japitts
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Services: V6 with Full-House/Maxit Sports & Movies, 100Mb broadband, Talk Weekends.
Posts: 564
japitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud of
Re: Check my levels please

Have you tried posting on the VM Forums - https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/bd-p/Speed

Admittedly if a VM staffer on here has taken a look, that might be overlapping a little, but you never know.
japitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2021, 12:47   #29
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: 1 Gbps; Hub 4 MM; ASUS RT-AX88U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 8,659
Sephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronze
Sephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronze
Re: Check my levels please

The VM staffer(s) on here know a lot more than the VM bods on the community forum. But at least the VM bods can book an engineer - or at least they used to be able to.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2021, 12:58   #30
japitts
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Services: V6 with Full-House/Maxit Sports & Movies, 100Mb broadband, Talk Weekends.
Posts: 564
japitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud ofjapitts has much to be proud of
Re: Check my levels please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
The VM staffer(s) on here know a lot more than the VM bods on the community forum. But at least the VM bods can book an engineer - or at least they used to be able to.
It was the ability to pass things up the chain, that I was getting at.

No arguments with your point about the expertise on here, although it's not impossible to find that on the VM boards.
japitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:47.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.