Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | latency (Ping )

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

latency (Ping )
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2019, 14:58   #16
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,146
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: latency (Ping )

80 and 443 will be open otherwise your web traffic would grind to a halt
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 09-07-2019, 15:55   #17
adduxi
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 399
adduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of light
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerCroc1 View Post
hey SnoopZ thanks for the response :-) do you or anyone know how to open these ports on the hub 3 TCP: 80, 443, 3478, 3479, 3480
UDP: 3478, 3479 ?
Go here https://portforward.com/virgin-media/hub-3.0/
adduxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 17:31   #18
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 66
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by adduxi View Post
got the port forwarding set up and my hub 3 resets wooohoo
KillerCroc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 18:52   #19
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,467
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
What do you use to ping a site?

edit.... guess you used CMD ping -t 151.101.0.81 .... had to google that never tried it before.

Yep CMD.

Command = ping BBC.co.uk
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 500Mb /35Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 19:05   #20
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 43
Services: Many
Posts: 2,518
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
80 and 443 will be open otherwise your web traffic would grind to a halt
Iím sorry, what ????
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 19:08   #21
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 62
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 15,261
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: latency (Ping )

Web traffic http on port 80 and https on port 443. Without these you would have no web access.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 19:14   #22
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 43
Services: Many
Posts: 2,518
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by heero_yuy View Post
Web traffic http on port 80 and https on port 443. Without these you would have no web access.
You donít have explicit rules defined to allow that traffic, thatís the point of NAT whatís goes outbound is permitted inbound by default

Carrier grade firewalls such as juniper/PA but you donít need to do this at home

Crazy stuff
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 07:33   #23
adduxi
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 399
adduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of light
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmistoffelees View Post
You donít have explicit rules defined to allow that traffic, thatís the point of NAT whatís goes outbound is permitted inbound by default

Carrier grade firewalls such as juniper/PA but you donít need to do this at home

Crazy stuff
I think these request for ports 53 (DNS) 80 (HTTP) and 443 (HTTPS) come about from "XBox Live". If you read the posts on the VM Help Forums, lots of people are getting angry that they can't forward these ports on the Hub's ....
At least that's my understanding, as I've always used Modem mode and my own Routers.
adduxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 08:30   #24
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,467
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by adduxi View Post
I think these request for ports 53 (DNS) 80 (HTTP) and 443 (HTTPS) come about from "XBox Live". If you read the posts on the VM Help Forums, lots of people are getting angry that they can't forward these ports on the Hub's ....
At least that's my understanding, as I've always used Modem mode and my own Routers.
I have port-forwarded on my router for Battlefield 5 (PC) This make no difference to latency or the number of times my son's lose connection with EA servers. You can't make a purse out of a sow's ear. VM is no good for gaming because of high latency and jitter. My kids can't wait for Vodaphone FTTP to arrive in our street. It's rolling out in Coventry.
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 500Mb /35Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 14:16   #25
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 66
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

i guess this is something that will hopefully be fixed with the hub 4
KillerCroc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 14:25   #26
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,146
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerCroc1 View Post
i guess this is something that will hopefully be fixed with the hub 4
Yup and will in turn bring with it its own set of problems which will take 2 years to fix.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 19:13   #27
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,467
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
Yup and will in turn bring with it its own set of problems which will take 2 years to fix.
Perhaps DOCSIS 3.1 will fix some of this.

https://www.viavisolutions.com/en-uk/docsis-31-speeds
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 500Mb /35Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 19:38   #28
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,146
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: latency (Ping )

from the sounds of that (10gbps per channel and god knows how many bonded channels) they should easily be able to offer 1gbit/100mbits as the launching tier for the product and they are going to want to do it for the wow factor. Advertising a 1gbit connection is going to sound amazing plus offering 100mbits up is finally going to give them the push they need to get ahead of Openreach/fttc where they have been behind for so many years.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 07:00   #29
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,467
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
from the sounds of that (10gbps per channel and god knows how many bonded channels) they should easily be able to offer 1gbit/100mbits as the launching tier for the product and they are going to want to do it for the wow factor. Advertising a 1gbit connection is going to sound amazing plus offering 100mbits up is finally going to give them the push they need to get ahead of Openreach/fttc where they have been behind for so many years.
I have had a chat with Vodaphone reps regarding the roll out of FTTP in Coventry. They say the top speed offered to normal residents will be a symmetrical 900Mb. A headline grabbing 1Gb from VM might do the trick if they want to hang on to customers in places like Coventry. However, unless DOCSIS 3.1 can significantly improve latency, folk like me, will opt for Vodaphone's offering. We would have to do without Virgin TV, but there are enough alternatives without resorting to Murdoch's Sky!

I have also spoken to Councillor Richard Brown in Coventry. He has been the key driver of the Vodaphone / City Fibre initiative here, but is also driving the city's bid to receive full coverage of 5G asap. Ironically, 5G has the potential, security issues notwithstanding, to make cable, twisted pair, fibre and modems obsolete, ushering in 'the internet of things'. Such is the potential bandwidth and efficiency of delivery, that 5G may become the service of choice for most people more quickly than envisaged so far...

... or maybe not.

https://www.ericsson.com/en/blog/201...otential-study
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 500Mb /35Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 07:56   #30
adduxi
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 399
adduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of light
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by roughbeast View Post
<snip> We would have to do without Virgin TV, but there are enough alternatives without resorting to Murdoch's Sky! <snip>
Slightly off topic, but we dumped Virgin TV several months ago, and can't say I've missed any of it. We now have a Humax Freeview recorder instead, along with a Now TV box for the odd movie. In fairness however, we don't watch a lot of TV.
adduxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:57.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.