Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | latency (Ping )

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

latency (Ping )
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2019, 14:16   #1
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 76
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
latency (Ping )

hi anyone thats a gamer knows high ping sucks for all games and crappy upload is worse i have both issues upload is 2.2 mbps and download on ps4 is 224mbps games like call of duty are unplayable as i get kicked from lobbies and games like fortnite i can play but its laggy my friend that stays 20 mins away is in a bt only area and has sky broadband and gets 10 ping on a 30mbps connection i happy with virgin i want to keep it its just this issue needs to be resolved and virgin dont know what the isssue is they sent my hub fresh signals i can now play call of duty but fortnite my ping has went from 30 to 36+ any ideas on what can be done to help this issue ??
KillerCroc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 05-07-2019, 14:51   #2
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,327
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: latency (Ping )

https://www.bufferbloat.net/projects...t_Bufferbloat/
Taf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 15:13   #3
kalleh
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 103
kalleh is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

upload isn't the cause of high latency unless someone on your network is using the upload or saturating it causing your latency to increase. It's most likely your local area is congested for upstream and you are suffering latency/ping spikes because of this.

If gaming is a must for you a 80/20 VDSL2 connection usually performs better ping/latency wise than VM. especially with jitter.


Pinging bbc.co.uk [151.101.0.81] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=58
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=58
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=58
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 151.101.0.81:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 14ms, Maximum = 15ms, Average = 14ms


Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [151.101.0.81]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.1]
2 15 ms 14 ms 14 ms lns6.inx.dsl.enta.net [78.33.253.8]
3 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms 100.bundle-ether2.inx.dsl.enta.net [78.33.253.1]
4 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms bundle-ether1.interxion3.core.enta.net [188.39.127.242]
5 15 ms 16 ms 15 ms bundle-ether100.telehouse-east4.core.enta.net [188.39.127.102]
6 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms ip81-59.fastly-gw1.lonap.net [5.57.81.59]
7 15 ms 15 ms 14 ms 151.101.0.81



This is my Aquiss 80/20 VDSL2 Connection.


My VM 350/36 connection is allover the place with ping anywhere between 18-80 in peak hours only gets plugged in for big downloads/used for wifi.
kalleh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 17:59   #4
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 76
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

yeah i just ran tests via dsl reports and i have 200+ bufferbloat im looking on how to fix this with the hub3 hopefully the hub4 is much more advanced and has none of these issues
KillerCroc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 18:47   #5
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,327
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: latency (Ping )

200+ bufferbloat? You're lucky, I just got 2662mS! And that is about typical...
Taf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 18:57   #6
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 76
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
200+ bufferbloat? You're lucky, I just got 2662mS! And that is about typical...
So it's all part of the fun of being a virgin media customer 🤔😂
KillerCroc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 21:26   #7
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,466
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: latency (Ping )

I love my first person shooters like the best of them but if you need a guaranteed ping under 30 all the time then you are going to have to look to a non-VM connection for it.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 10:25   #8
wildfruit
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Services: 500Mb, talk more anytime 2 x V6, sky cinema, Sky sports Maxit TV, kids pack, unlimited sim
Posts: 55
wildfruit is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

Not every VM connection is bad

Pinging bbc.co.uk [151.101.64.81] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 151.101.64.81: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=58
Reply from 151.101.64.81: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=58
Reply from 151.101.64.81: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=58
Reply from 151.101.64.81: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 151.101.64.81:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 13ms, Average = 11ms


wildfruit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 11:14   #9
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 657
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: latency (Ping )

Mine's not "Bad" but not as good as some here, lowest ping i see to UK stuff is about 20ms but it's never caused my any issues gaming etc

Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 13:53   #10
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 76
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

would a SamKnows white box cause my issues ?
KillerCroc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 14:24   #11
kalleh
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 103
kalleh is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerCroc1 View Post
would a SamKnows white box cause my issues ?
try running without for a week see if it improves but i very much doubt it.
kalleh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 14:32   #12
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 76
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalleh View Post
try running without for a week see if it improves but i very much doubt it.
cool thanks for the reply Kalleh
KillerCroc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 16:46   #13
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,513
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: latency (Ping )

This is pretty typical for my connection.

Pinging bbc.co.uk [151.101.0.81] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=57
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=57
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=57
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=57

Ping statistics for 151.101.0.81:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 13ms, Maximum = 16ms, Average = 14ms

__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 500Mb /35Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 18:54   #14
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11,673
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by roughbeast View Post
This is pretty typical for my connection.

Pinging bbc.co.uk [151.101.0.81] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=57
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=57
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=57
Reply from 151.101.0.81: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=57

Ping statistics for 151.101.0.81:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 13ms, Maximum = 16ms, Average = 14ms

What do you use to ping a site?

edit.... guess you used CMD ping -t 151.101.0.81 .... had to google that never tried it before.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster

Last edited by SnoopZ; 08-07-2019 at 18:57.
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 13:03   #15
KillerCroc1
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Services: Full House TV 350 Broadband and landline Amazon Prime Video Netflix and PSN
Posts: 76
KillerCroc1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: latency (Ping )

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
What do you use to ping a site?

edit.... guess you used CMD ping -t 151.101.0.81 .... had to google that never tried it before.
hey SnoopZ thanks for the response :-) do you or anyone know how to open these ports on the hub 3 TCP: 80, 443, 3478, 3479, 3480
UDP: 3478, 3479 ?
KillerCroc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:37.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.