Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 1gig Rollout getting faster

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

1gig Rollout getting faster
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2020, 10:33   #61
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,049
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtho782 View Post
Yeah the Hub 4.0 has to be the least "future proof" and hopefully shortest lived hub from virgin ever.
It will have no issue with all of the lower-than-1Gbit tiers of service once DOCSIS 3.1 is available across the network.

So I'd think it's going to be around for a while.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-11-2020, 18:16   #62
Stuart
-
 
Stuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere
Services: Virgin for TV and Internet, BT for phone
Posts: 26,497
Stuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver bling
Stuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver bling
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

From a consumer point of view, I do wish Virgin would offer at least the choice of having a dedicated cable modem. After all, the people who will actually make good use of such high speeds as 1Gig will likely want to use their own router (they may even have an old PC dedicated to this task) and other networking hardware.

I'm on 350 Meg (given the choice, I'd go for the Gig) and I have *never* used my Superhub 3 as a router. I would far rather have a dedicated cable modem.
Stuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2020, 21:06   #63
spankysmagicpian
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Ultimate Oomph although there is nothing ultimate or oomph about it.
Posts: 805
spankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these partsspankysmagicpian is just so famous around these parts
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Glad to see they are keeping the webpages up to date. From my account:

Our broadband doesn't get quicker than this.
You're on our top speed broadband tier!


Meanwhile there's a banner stating that 1Gb is available now
spankysmagicpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2020, 13:46   #64
oscarandjo
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 31
oscarandjo is on a distinguished roadoscarandjo is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Now they've got to fix the price.

In my city (Southampton), Toob 900/900 down/up FTTH = 25/month. Virgin 1000/52 down/up Copper = 62/month.

Who in their right mind would pick Virgin's string and copper network over a brand new FTTH symmetrical connection for 2/5ths the price?
oscarandjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 21:44   #65
horrorwood
cf.member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 62
horrorwood will become famous soon enoughhorrorwood will become famous soon enoughhorrorwood will become famous soon enough
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by oscarandjo View Post
Now they've got to fix the price.

In my city (Southampton), Toob 900/900 down/up FTTH = 25/month. Virgin 1000/52 down/up Copper = 62/month.

Who in their right mind would pick Virgin's string and copper network over a brand new FTTH symmetrical connection for 2/5ths the price?
Those that don't know any better unfortunately.
horrorwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 21:48   #66
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: TiVo, Sky and XXXL Broadband
Posts: 209
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

I came across this recent technical discussion for bonding LAN ports together on the Virgin / Arris Superhub series to give greater than 1Gbit throughput on modem mode.
https://tech.msh100.uk/virgin/networ...ter-than-gbit/
Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2020, 11:14   #67
fizzyade
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 64
fizzyade will become famous soon enoughfizzyade will become famous soon enoughfizzyade will become famous soon enough
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Yet business is still stuck on 500/35. (I could actually do with the upload increase when transferring stuff to the office)
fizzyade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2020, 15:33   #68
ccarmock
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 787
ccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud of
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

They haven't, in the past, done automatic speed upgrades on business, so suspect little prospect of the 500/35 service going to 600 as residential has done. Would be great if they did though.

The 1 Gb/s service requires a new hub, so they would need one with business firmware to support the fixed IP options. Suspect one will be available in due course though.
ccarmock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 12:22   #69
bigsinky
cf.addict
 
bigsinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Belfast
Services: Broadband 500
Posts: 206
bigsinky has disabled reputation
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

1 gig service being installed today in Belfast. Wish me luck.
bigsinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 13:25   #70
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,438
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 13:33   #71
fizzyade
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 64
fizzyade will become famous soon enoughfizzyade will become famous soon enoughfizzyade will become famous soon enough
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccarmock View Post
They haven't, in the past, done automatic speed upgrades on business, so suspect little prospect of the 500/35 service going to 600 as residential has done. Would be great if they did though.

The 1 Gb/s service requires a new hub, so they would need one with business firmware to support the fixed IP options. Suspect one will be available in due course though.
I'm not expecting a free upgrade, I'd happily pay extra for the service.

Just seems odd that the Residential service has a higher tier (double the download and a reasonable bump on upload) than the business service, obviously new hardware is required but that's something that is in their control.
fizzyade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 21:29   #72
ccarmock
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 787
ccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud of
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Hopefully the faster tiers will come to the business service soon. I seem to remember the business 200 Mb/s service was before residential, but usually the business service lags a bit when new tiers are available.

I wonder if they have decided on a business hub for the 1Gb/s service that caters for the fixed IP address options.
ccarmock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2020, 05:25   #73
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 690/44Mpbs, TV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD (+HDR), DAB+
Posts: 1,305
ozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Is the 1GB upgrade available to Ultimate Oomph subscribers - once their area is enabled?
ozsat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2020, 09:34   #74
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,049
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Yes, but that's a paid increase in top of Ultimate Oomph with M500 or M600
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2020, 14:42   #75
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 690/44Mpbs, TV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD (+HDR), DAB+
Posts: 1,305
ozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Thanks - any idea on what the standard difference is?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
Yes, but that's a paid increase in top of Ultimate Oomph with M500 or M600
ozsat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 9 (3 members and 6 guests)
Zarf2007, 1982returning, davidr1
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:24.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.